We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Informative and Well-done”

Pointe-a-Calliere Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$47.56*
and up
Old Montreal Discovery Tour
Ranked #19 of 394 things to do in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Pointe-à-Callière, the birthplace of Montréal and a National Historic Site, offers visitors the opportunity to explore history through an original underground circuit leading through archaeological excavations. At the start of their visit, an immersive multimedia show presents a high-speed view of the city's history, the remains come to life and the count down begins! The museum also offers year-round temporary local and international exhibitions. For Montréal's 375th anniversary in May 2017, Pointe-à-Callière will inaugurate a new pavilion highlighting Fort Ville-Marie.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
161 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Informative and Well-done”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is an ingenious way to showcase the history of the area. The AV presentation is very well done. The displays are very informative and easy to take in (not an overwhelming amount of information). Might be over the heads of younger travelers, but I think my 10 & 12 year olds would find it interesting.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Saskatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    612
    434
    99
    51
    13
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Interesting Archaeology”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Fun and interesting museum with great information on the beginnings of Montreal using various technologies. Had a wonderful temporary exhibit on Sumari outfits and gear. Great for children of school age.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank brunosd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“History in place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Movie about Montreal was interesting but the rest OK . Nice exposition about Samurais (not the first I've seen) . They are doing a lot of renovations and still I think the price was high for what you get

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tita43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Samurai exhibit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The museum had a great exhibit of historical Samurai paraphernalia, very colorful, all collected by one collector. Swords, armour, clothing, gave an overview of the history of the samurai. Most interesting. The restaurant served a good lunch as well.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NaveganteElegante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Interesting but need more signs!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

The multimedia introduction was classy and fun. Walking around the ruins of old Montreal, underground had some special moments, like the market scene which sprang to life before my eyes, projected on the rocks and walls. I found it hard to leave! Not enough functional signs to point you to the way out. They are enlarging the museum and there was building going on, so maybe routes had changed - but I had to ask twice before I found my way out!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank CarolynScout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pointe-a-Calliere Museum also viewed

 

Been to Pointe-a-Calliere Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing