We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see if you want to get a feel for the history of the city”

Pointe-a-Calliere Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$51.80*
and up
Old Montreal Discovery Tour
More Info
$93.22*
and up
Montreal Attraction Pass
More Info
$20.47*
and up
Old Montreal Walking Tour
Ranked #14 of 408 things to do in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Pointe-à-Callière, the birthplace of Montréal and a National Historic Site, offers visitors the opportunity to explore history through an original underground circuit leading through archaeological excavations. At the start of their visit, an immersive multimedia show presents a high-speed view of the city's history, the remains come to life and the count down begins! The museum also offers year-round temporary local and international exhibitions. For Montréal's 375th anniversary in May 2017, Pointe-à-Callière will inaugurate a new pavilion highlighting Fort Ville-Marie.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Hawthorne, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Must see if you want to get a feel for the history of the city”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Very detailed and interesting history of the area that eventually became the city of Montreal.

By traveling through the ruins of old Montreal the visitor gains the understanding of early life and architecture of this beautiful city along the St. Lawrence. We enjoyed walking along the walls and ramparts of old Montreal and viewing the artifacts of everyday life from years ago.

Some guidebooks will advise an hour for the visit. We took much longer tha that. It was that interesting to us.


Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mikef100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    682
    462
    108
    52
    14
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Small, maze-like but nicely done”
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Although a little pricey at $18/adult, the museum offered 2 great temporary exhibits and great insight into historical Montreal. The Samurai and Etruscan exhibits were informative and well planned, even though the Maritime house made you dodge a lot of construction. The underground is well put together but you do feel a little dizzy through the maze of stairs and metal bridges. They do have lot of lifts for wheelchairs but if disabled I'd be likely to skip that part.

Helpful?
1 Thank REDRENSINK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“First rate”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Great museum built on top of one the earliest archaeological sites in French Montreal. Their own exhibits are great and they host visiting exhibits too. We was Samurai armor and Etruscan artifacts when we were there.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SteveDan45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Outstanding museum”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This place was not even on our radar til a Montreal man we chatted with recommended it to us. It's located down near the river, an easy walk from most Old Town hotels. Fabulous media presentation on the history of the city and Canada, plus wonderful special exhibits on the Samurai warriors and the Etruscans. Not crowded on a Tuesday, we could have stayed there for hours, but so much more of Montreal to see.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank cbadmom4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
千葉県
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
200 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“History of Montreal”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

B1 floor is exhibitions of history and people can learn how Montreal was developed. It was very interesting.
The museum has annex building and there were two exhibitions.
Only problem was the path of the exhibitions was very complicated. After I finished to look exhibitions, I walked to "EXIT" sign but I could not get out. I had to go up and down stairs, open doors and walk again. Other people also lost their ways and walked around.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Harempercussion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pointe-a-Calliere Museum also viewed

 

Been to Pointe-a-Calliere Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing