We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT FOOD AND SHOPPING” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rue Ste.-Catherine

Rue Ste.-Catherine
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.15*
and up
Downtown and Underground Montreal Walking Tour
Ranked #18 of 394 things to do in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Ste-Catherine Street is divided in two parts by St-Laurent Boulevard: East and West. The West Street is home to Complexe Desjardins, one of the most important skyscrapers of the city. The area is near the University of Quebec in Montreal and is home to shopping, music venues and the Musée d'art contemporain de Montreal.
ottawa ontario
Level Contributor
198 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD AND SHOPPING”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Love walking the street and shopping and eating so many varied restaurants and shops great values and lots of different types of shops

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bobisfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,039
    917
    338
    71
    21
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“shop until you drop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

I love to travel, Love to eat and...I LOVE TO SHOP. This is the shoppers dream. Lots of great stores, good sales a variety for all ages. The Bay there has an amazing cosmetic department and the TOP SHOP upstairs, they have Urban outfitters and more. We spent a few hours there. There were also quaint little pubs to place the guys in while we shopped or parks for them to sit in. Get ready for CROWDS on this street. Love Saint Catherine Street $$$$

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Burrowing_rabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“sad”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

I go to nyc every year and I NEVER see the filth or the amount of homeless that I saw this weekend especially on st. Cathrines street. NOTHING WILL AND CAN COMPARE TO NYC

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank nofaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Skip it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Ste. Catherine is like any other busy shopping street (Michigan Ave in Chicago, 5th Ave in NY), it's chaotic and has most of the stores you would find in any other city. I recommend skipping the shopping and looking for boutiques. There is an area by the restaurant L'Express (not sure which neighbourhood) that has cute shops, similar to Greenwich Village in NY. I'd recommend checking that out instead.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kristin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Shooping”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Every store that you could imagine is along Rue St Catherine. Small shops and large retail stores alike are along this street. A short walk from Old Montreal this is a must see.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sherrie8669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rue Ste.-Catherine also viewed

 

Been to Rue Ste.-Catherine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing