We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Watch locals losing money” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casino de Montreal

Casino de Montreal
Book In Advance
More Info
$86.01*
and up
Montreal Attraction Pass
Ranked #38 of 394 things to do in Montreal
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lit up like a jewel at night, this casino on the Ile Notre-Dame is the largest in Quebec and one of the ten largest in the world in terms of the amount of gaming equipment. The excellent live entertainment draws gamblers and nongamblers alike.
montreal
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Watch locals losing money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is a pretty big casino with many table games and slot machines. You mostly see locals gambling their salaries away in the hope of making a couple of dollars. The food in the restaurants is pretty good. The bars are nothing great. Good place to pass a couple of hours.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank restosearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    206
    148
    56
    58
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Newly renovated casino.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

This casino was super easy to get around in, compared to others I've been to.
The center of the building is the hub, and the floors are simply a big circle around it. There are tons of slots to chose from.
There's an annex which is a bit quieter than the main area.
Loved the 'self serve' refreshment bars located all over the place.
Washrooms were clean and modern.
The dancers were energetic. Great music!
Other than that, it's a casino. You win some, you loose some.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank LitleDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Fun place when you win!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

I was at this casino with my friend on October 26 for a couple of hours while visiting Montreal from Toronto. We signed up for casino cards and were surprised to see a live DJ playing music for the customers. I did not realize that the casino was on the site of old Expo '67 but I remembered the building from being at Expo when I was five.

I brought a sum of money I was comfortable losing, but amazingly, I won a chunk on Stinkin' Rich, and then found a set of Buffalo machines by the elevators on the first floor, near the renovations. Because of the renovations, you could not see how huge the place was, and there are several floors of gaming. I was playing Buffalo and hit for two hundred so I doubled my money; however, the lady beside me did even better and scored a stampede of buffalo on a bonus with a 3x multiplier. She won about $1400.00! So definitely there are people winning at this casino, cuz I saw it happen! Very nice feeling to walk out with more money than when you went in. Wish I had explored further upstairs. Be sure to sign up for the card.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank eloisegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“What a sad place...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

This Casino is really sad, does not comply with any international Casino out there. They have their own cards and games in French....like any gambler wants to think is that a Q(ueen) or a D(ick)?
Really no payouts anywhere for anyone.
They are rigged so bad the govt makes the mafia look good.
Atmosphere is dismal, perhaps because the addicted gamblers are losing their homes. It smells and good luck seeing anything interesting or entertaining. Take your money elsewhere.

Helpful?
17 Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Hard to win”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I just find that compared to casinos in Las Vegas and Atlantic City the casino in Montreal is hard to win. I've been a few times and each time I leave poorer than when i arrived. Problem gamblers should stay clear of this casino.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank gerry g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casino de Montreal also viewed

 

Been to Casino de Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing