We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depressing place where gambling addictions develop”
Review of Casino de Montreal

Casino de Montreal
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$88.75*
and up
Montreal Attraction Pass
Ranked #40 of 396 things to do in Montreal
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lit up like a jewel at night, this casino on the Ile Notre-Dame is the largest in Quebec and one of the ten largest in the world in terms of the amount of gaming equipment. The excellent live entertainment draws gamblers and nongamblers alike.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Depressing place where gambling addictions develop”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Need I say more? The Montreal Casino is extremely depressing. I did not see any clocks in the casino (probably because they don't want you to know how long you've been there). I've seen machines that allow cash advances up to $50,000, and I saw one poor old man gambling away a high amount of money, and his "YES YES YES!" quickly turn to "NO! NO! NO! NO! NO! NO! NO!" followed by a bowed head between his arms. There were many "regulars," often occupying more than one machine at a time, mindlessly pushing "SPIN" and watching the machine colours change and take their money. The building architecture itself is cool, but it is designed for you not to be able to find your way out (did I mention that many of the escalators only go one direction? into the casino?)

I saw the seniors sitting in the old, beaten up chairs and I just thought about how sad it is that they are spending the last of their years glued like zombies to a machine that is designed to make you lose your life savings.

At least if it was a classy place, it would be a fun activity for once in a while, but it is depressing, completely packed, and it just takes your soul away.

I have always said, "If this is your thing, then to each his/her own." But I will say this, I will never go back to this horrible, soul-sucking place, and I would strongly suggest the same to all of you reading this.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank eagermike93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    222
    152
    60
    59
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valley Stream, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“montreal casino”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

average, nothing great, as expected, tricky to get to with all the bridges and streets
no coats allowed in casinos,

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mike l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“How do I get out of here?”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Compared to the casinos in Atlantic City, this place is a bad joke. There are two separate buildings, which only seem to connect on one level. Some elevators go to the 5th floor restaurants, some elevators don't. There are passages that may lead nowhere, or they may lead to another section with more slot machines. After 10 minutes there, you have no idea where you are anymore.

Although the lighting is dim throughout the casino, there seems to be a lot of glare that makes it hard to see, possibly due to the lights being reflected off the machines. Almost all the slot machines have been reprogrammed to take the new bills now, but some still don't. One machine I had today refused both my new $20 bill and my $32 coupon/token.

The restaurant food at the Deli Express can be really good or not so good, but their soups are usually good, and their servings are big enough for two light eaters to share, just ask for a 2nd dish. It starts getting crowded around noon, both in the restaurants and at the machines. Their smoking areas have been improved: there are now soft benches to sit under the heat lamps, versus standing under the lights before.

All the staff try to be super helpful, but a big map on the wall would be a good idea. I'm just grateful I came out ahead by $20.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank likewyse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
474 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The casino itself is huge compared to other Canadian casinos I have been to. Many floor levels of play for the minutes or hours of entertainment depending on your luck. But you must take a break and enjoy their buffet restaurant, which is very modern in decor. Well worth the price $37. Our group had seconds and left very satisfied. For the seafood lovers you can have smoked salmon, cooked fish, king crab legs, shrimp and even lobster claws, and lobster bisque. For the carnivores, there was carved beef and lamb plus additional chicken and other cooked meat items. I liked how all the desserts were petite so you could sample even more. Enough said, just go. Coat check is available, by tip. Very accessible by transit, get to Metro Jean-Drapeau and then a very short bus ride to the front door (#777).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Where_to_travel_next
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Saturday afternoon - No Cash to be Had”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

VERY disappointed in the Casino. Enjoyed a ride on the Metro to the Island for the quick bus run to the Casino. Thought I'd be able to get cash from any of the ATM's at the Casino. NOT. 2 machines rejected my Alterna debit card. Thanks casino. You SAVED me money ! Won't be back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casino de Montreal also viewed

 

Been to Casino de Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing