We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early dinner for 4 plus infant”
Review of Barroco

Barroco
Ranked #60 of 5,820 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Description: At Barroco you can expect to enjoy inspired French Mediterranean fare in a warm and cozy atmosphere. With its dim lighting, stone walls and inspired decor, we offer fine dining that is chic but certainly not stuffy! Our friendly and knowledgeable waitstaff will do everything to make sure your experience is a memorable and enjoyable one. Reservations are highly recommended as our small 45-seat dining room tends to fill up quickly! We'll be happy to speak to you on the phone or you can head over to Bookenda to book a table. Looking forward to seeing you!
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Early dinner for 4 plus infant”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We liked the look of the menu at Barocco, and because we were dining with an infant less than 2 years old, decided to eat early. Although there were no high chairs we were provided with a table with bench seating that provided a safe and secure arrangement.

The food was excellent, service very good and the restaurant also offered a good range of bottled beers from micro breweries. Despite eating early and only a couple of other tables occupied, there was a good atmosphere and background music to suit our taste. We would have liked the opportunity to eat here again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smtr550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    128
    38
    17
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Romantic, cozy and VERY Montreal.”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

A bit of a slow start with the service (took too long for our first drinks order) but once they warmed up, it was a fantastic experience.
The ambiance was romantic and candle-lit.
Cocktails were delicious. Try their Caesar! Prosecco by the glass was lovely. ALL of our food was delicious - the beef tartare and squash soup (both starters) were extraordinary.
If you're looking for a "happening" place, go elsewhere. Barroco is one of those rare restaurants where you can have an intimate evening without having to yell above music or other patrons.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank K A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Had an amazing date night dinner here and we both enjoyed every single bit of our meal. Yes, the food is quite rich but so delicious!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Really good”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

It was my first visit to Barocco. Went there for dinner with friends. The service was excellent and very friendly. The place is small, but cozy and has beautiful decor. While the menu is not long, everything we have tried was really good. The squash soup is the best I ever had. The salad and beef tartar were excellent as well. I had the ribsteak and was very happy with my choice. My friends were very happy with theirs. I don't see how anyone can be disappointed with this restaurant. I would definately return and recommend it to my friends and family. I advise to make a reservation in advance.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pivoine5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“still excellent”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

second visit,marvelous period décor, excellent service and outstanding French cuisine. Beef ribs were superb as was the gravelox.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phantomAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barroco also viewed

 

Been to Barroco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing