We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Service!”
Review of Barroco

Barroco
Ranked #58 of 5,816 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Description: At Barroco you can expect to enjoy inspired French Mediterranean fare in a warm and cozy atmosphere. With its dim lighting, stone walls and inspired decor, we offer fine dining that is chic but certainly not stuffy! Our friendly and knowledgeable waitstaff will do everything to make sure your experience is a memorable and enjoyable one. Reservations are highly recommended as our small 45-seat dining room tends to fill up quickly! We'll be happy to speak to you on the phone or you can head over to Bookenda to book a table. Looking forward to seeing you!
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible Service!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Made a reservation at this restaurant months before coming into the city for a visit as we were really looking forward to it. All I really have to say about our experience is that the service and servers looked like we were putting them out of their way to serve us and it made us very uncomfortable, it took them two hours to serve our entree and three hours before we got the bill. The food was excellent but it did not make up for the horrible service and experience we had. It will be a long time before we go there again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hammer1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    128
    38
    17
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Intimate and charming”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This restaurant oozes charm, and the food is equally pleasing. My husband and I stopped in without reservations on Monday night, hoping to grab a table. (Restos in Montreal tend to close early on Monday, if they're open at all), and were lucky to find a seat.

While the paella isn't authentic (it's more of a risotto mixed with seafood before being served), it was a delicious dish. My husband's mushroom pasta (the "pasta d'moment) was equally tasty. Both dishes were presented beautifully, and reflected the chef's care and talent.

The beautiful lighting and interior of this charming establishment are romantic and delightful. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Qlever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire, USA
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very Nice, Romantic and Great Food”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

In the old city along Saint Paul Rue there are a number of shops and quaint places to eat. On Valentine’s weekend we took a horse carriage ride (in the ice cool evening w/ a bottle of bubbly to ward off frost bite) from our hotel through the old city to our restaurant of the evening Barroco. It was a small and comfortable place. It was warm and welcoming, the staff was engaging and not hovering. The menu was short but full of fresh exciting items. We enjoyed a long dinner and have a wonderful time. If you need to take someone special for a special meal you can't miss here at least we did hit a home run.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank parkerisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a try”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We tried out Barocco on the recommendation from a local; he said they had great drinks here. It was a little hard to find, and ended up walking into the restaurant next door instead. We found the restaurant to be small but cozy; very nice decor as it was an older building, with the stone walls and the wooden beams. It was quite busy; thank goodness we had reservations. My girlfriend needed help finding a washroom, so the waiter hurridly opened the door for her, only to find someone inside using it.
My friends decided to order a few dishes and share it, kind of like our own self-made tapas (this Spanish restaurant isn't tapas though). We got the angus beef tartare, ribsteak, duck, paella, and I want to say one more dish that had sausage in it. The dish that stood out the most was the duck; it was extremely tender, juicy, definitely the best duck we've ever had. Otherwise, the rest of the stuff was pretty ordinary; the angus tartare was tasteless, ribsteak was chewy, paella was kind of ordinary, and the sausage was very flavourful but salty.
My friends had some cocktails; their drinks were pretty unique and tasty.
Overall, I think the restaurant has great ambiance, service, and drinks. The food was hit or miss though. I think it's definitely worth a try.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Cosy, Good Food”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is not a large restaurant so as a group of six we were lucky that they had a table, really a booth, to accommodate us. A reservation would be a good idea. They serve cheese both as a first course and as a dessert. The cheese which should have been runny was not quite ripe which DH tried to explain patiently to the French speaking waiter in English. Two of us had duck as a main course and it was absolutely excellent. Nice wine list. The service was a bit patchy as there did not seem to be a waiter assigned specifically to our table. We settled in for a leisurely dinner and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. I would return to this restaurant because there were a number of interesting items on the menu that I would like to try sometime.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barroco also viewed

 

Been to Barroco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing