We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value and tasty” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sumo Ramen

Sumo Ramen
Ranked #739 of 5,657 Restaurants in Montreal
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
108 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good value and tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

I happened upon this restaurant and decide to try it out after noticing the Trip Advisor sticker in the window. Easy to read menu, friendly staff and yummy soup. I had the traditional bowl in soya broth but with udon noodles instead of ramen. Filling and tasty.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank FloridaTravelGirl92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    25
    9
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
132 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Ramen fit for a freezing winter day in Montreal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

No comparison to ramen at Ippudo (4th Ave. in NYC), for instance, but it can hold its own on a gelid winter day. Lots of noodles, lots of meat and veggies. Depends what you look for. It was hot, hearty, tasty, not too salty and the service was friendly and quick. Also, you can't beat the price: CDN$9.99 for a huge bowl. Add the sake and Japanese beer and you have a more than decent lunch.
Bonus: they're open on January 1, when most people crave - or need, actually - a hot, carbohydrates-loaded meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mirella Menglid... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saint-hubert, Quebec
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“eating spagetti, not ramen. DONT GO”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Honestly, i went there with my friends and their "ramen" isnt even ramen.
Its literally spagettis they used for the noodles. The only thing i liked here was their
Chicken wings and gyoza.... Go to Imadake if you want something of quality.

DONT RECOMMEND AT ALL!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SouthShoreFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Ramen & Ok Sides”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

On the recommendation of a friend, we walked up the narrow steps to this 2nd floor restaurant with 11 people (including kids and seniors) and had a good meal with a view of the east end of Chinatown.

This is a prototypical ramen restaurant that has all the features students and "young folk" would probably want: good ramen for a reasonable price, lots of sides, bubble tea, etc. The ramen stock is quite good and the overall dish is done well, but the side dishes (e.g., grilled squid) seemed a little neglected in terms of execution, e.g., a little tough. Bubble tea was fine though the large cup is curiously very tall for, I suppose, a smaller table footprint.

Service was prompt and bilingual and the restaurant itself (design wise) recedes given how noisy and busy the tight space is. On a truly hot day it must be pretty challenging to get some airflow -- get one of the few window seats!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wukongsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, New Jersey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Decent but can't compare to top ramen shops in NYC”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

It's probably not fair for me to write a review on Sumo as I have dined at many of the top ramen shops in New York (Totto, Ippudo etc) and have therefore been spoiled by good ramen.

The ramen at Sumo isn't bad...it's just not anything special. I ordered the vegetarian ramen and the vegetables they included were tomatoes and iceberg lettuce. Last I checked, they don't put iceberg lettuce in ramen soups in Japan. The broth was decent but the noodles did not have the right crunch or texture to them. My husband had the Jumbo Sumo and said it was okay but once again can't compare to the ramen we usually have.

The place itself is clean and service friendly. I would give it a shot if you're craving ramen as we didn't see any other ramen places in the area. As you don't have high expectations, this place will make do.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank aphroditehalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sumo Ramen also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Sumo Ramen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing