We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DO NOT GO ON THE HOP ON HOP OFF MONTREAL BUS TOUR.”
Review of Gray Line

Gray Line
Book In Advance
More Info
$83.51*
and up
Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal
Ranked #33 of 73 Tours in Montreal
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: MTL's double-decker bus tours. From the top take in MTL's sights and sounds with a Double Decker 2 day pass, Unlimited Hop-On Hop-Off. Or relax in a control climate on the Heart of Montreal Motorcoach Tour 3.5 hours. We also offer a day tour to Mont-Tremblant and the Laurentians. Don't miss the presidents choice tour to Quebec City and Montmorency Falls!
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“DO NOT GO ON THE HOP ON HOP OFF MONTREAL BUS TOUR.”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We purchased 2 tickets at $52 per person, from the tourist information centre at Dorchester Square what a total waste of money. We could not understand fully the commentary due to the accent of the guide & the inadequate PA system. When we got to stop number 2 the bus was full, but many of the customers had not purchased tickets in advance, we therefore had to wait for approximately twenty minutes ( in the very hot sun) whilst tickets were paid for & wrist bands issued, people were able to pay using a card which took some time, why are people allowed to board the bus without a valid ticket, when this just holds up the whole service? Grey line show no consideration for those customers with per purchased tickets. Again at stop 6 another ten minute delay whilst a Grey Line operative checked and issued tickets (again in the blazing sun).
During the tour the guide asked for tips to show our appreciation, as we got off the bus the driver was standing with his hand out expectantly, how very rude.
We went to the office to request a refund and were advised by Lindsay Fitzpatrick the office supervisor that this was not possible because we had already been on the tour, she said she would speak to a manager. We returned the next day to be told by Lindsay that Giulio Marinaro had refused to authorise a refund.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
15 Thank Herrings1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    124
    126
    98
    114
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Montreal City Tour”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We enjoyed this tour, can't remember our guide's name, but he was knowledgeable and we covered many points of interest, but the one I really wanted to see was Notre Dame, and it was included. Took some wonderful pictures. Tour was worth the money.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby
Level Contributor
219 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Marvelous - Greater Montreal Guided Tour”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I would recommend this tour to any first time visitor to Montreal. The guides are very informative and friendly. They certainly seem to know their job and love it too. About 200 points of interests are pointed out to you in 3.5 hours. Take it as a sampler and note down where and what exactly would you prefer to do with the remaining days in Montreal. Old Montreal is worth the visit and we loved the St. Joseph's Oratory. The only flip side was the waste of time and energy on part of the guide to repeat the commentary in English and French. There were no French speaking tourists on our tour and so it was a waste of his effort. All in all a great way to see Montreal in a jiff.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank YaShaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Our perception - one of the worst 'hop on-hop offs' in the world...!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

As most people know, Grayline has been around for quite a while and we have utilised them extensively in the US and Canada for a variety of tours. As such, they can be ‘hit and miss’ in terms of success from place to place. Our perception is that the Montreal ‘Hop On Hop Off’ is probably the worst example of a ‘Hop On Hop Off’ we have seen throughout our world travels covering Britain, Europe, USA and Canada.

Firstly, the price is over $50 per person – nearly $20 more than Ottawa/Toronto and granted, the pass lasts for two days – but the value simply isn’t there. The schematic and commentary for the trip is poor with a number of the stops repeated but the reality is - there really isn’t much in the way of attractions to get off and see (if there were – they were not explained). As someone has noted - I think you would be better paying a $100 to a taxi driver for a tour.

Also, if one wants to see other key areas of Montreal, it’s another ticket and another bus. The bus we had struggled - it jerked, stopped/started continually with some of us wondering whether it would actually make it. In fairness, the roads that the route takes are not in the best of repair and are quite bumpy.

An ironic twist - patrons are issued with a plastic wrist tag indicating you have paid and which provides access to the bus. Reminiscent of a Hollywood ‘prison bus movie’ where all occupants have to hold up their arm and show their tag - we had to go through this routine on no less than 3 occasions even though we remained on the bus for the entire trip (as did the majority of others). One would have thought that operators would have checked as one boarded.

Finally, I take offense at someone at the bottom of the steps with their hand out for money rather than assisting customers off the bus. Summed up as 'a poor effort' by an organisation which seemingly has a monopoly on such tours.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank acmee001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“The Montreal Hop On and Off tour bus is a costly exercise!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Hop On and Off option costs just over 50 Canadian Dollars per person for a ticket spanning two consecutive days. The bus only runs between 10.00am and 4.00pm so if you have tired feet around 4.15pm, and are quite some way from your hotel, it is just bad luck! The Grayline bus-stops that we used were not very well signed and most did not seem to have any covers to protect customers from wind and rain. The circuit covered by the bus is not that big and, given how good the metro service is, all of the areas covered can be achieved through metro rides and walking at a fraction of the Graylines bus price. We also found taxis to be great value for money and your 100 dollars can get you a lot of taxi trips to the less reachable areas (especially for anyone with mobility challenges). I anticipate that Graylines will counter my assertions with the argument that you are getting the services of a bus-based tour guide.........in fact, over the two days we found the guides to be very "hit and miss" in their level of knowledge and anecdotes - we were entertained well by a charming male guide (sorry - don't know your name - could it be "Norman" as mentioned in Bart's review?) but the others were much less engaging (and engaged). A word of advice about where to purchase your ticket.......we went to the tourist information centre near Place Jacques Cartier and we wanted to take advantage of the Graylines special offer of combining the 2-day Hop On and Off with another offering (the trip to the Botanical gardens and Olympic tower). Unfortunately, this offer is only available if you go to the Graylines office to buy your ticket (or on-line, I presume). As the office was quite a walk on a rainy, windy day, we bit the bullet and handed over the 100 plus dollars for the Hop On and Off tickets. I think that the problem is that there seems to be no competition to Graylines in Montreal. I am comparing this with Boston where, when we visited 18 months' ago, there was a choice of three companies offering Hop On and Off and I believe we got much better value for money in Boston than in Montreal.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JannJ28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gray Line also viewed

 

Been to Gray Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing