We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What Did He Say/Where Is That?”
Review of Gray Line

Gray Line
Book In Advance
More Info
$84.94*
and up
Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from Montreal
Ranked #32 of 74 Tours in Montreal
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: MTL's double-decker bus tours. From the top take in MTL's sights and sounds with a Double Decker 2 day pass, Unlimited Hop-On Hop-Off. Or relax in a control climate on the Heart of Montreal Motorcoach Tour 3.5 hours. We also offer a day tour to Mont-Tremblant and the Laurentians. Don't miss the presidents choice tour to Quebec City and Montmorency Falls!
Afton, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What Did He Say/Where Is That?”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had one full day in Montreal so we decided to take a Gray Line Tour because this usually is a great way to get to see a city! The tour was a 3-hour bi-lingual bus tour. There were two buses for this tour and because it was bi-lingual it very confusing to keep up with what the tour guide was talking about at certain times. Had Gray Line just taken the time to separate the people who spoke only English and the people who only spoke French, the tour could have been great! We did see Old Montreal, Olympic Stadium, Mount Royal, Etc. but because of the language you didn't get little "tidbits" of life in Montreal...couldn't ask questions...it was ALL business and expensive!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 4DebS10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    129
    128
    100
    116
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Crisp but comprehensive Montreal in 3 hrs”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

joining the sightseeing tours offered by the hotel I experienced a crisp and comprehensive of Montreal and its historical characteristics. Our tour guide presented one of the worlds largest French speaking city with more museums, restaurants and shops that you can count. Your stops will include stops at the selected captivating attractions including old Montreal, Olympic stadium, Mount Royal lookout and st. Joseph's oratory. Throughout the tour you will chance upon the Montreal harbor, bonsecours market building, place Jacques Cartier, city hall, place villa Marie, place des arts, McGill university, Chinatown and the universite' de Montreal where you can plan to return for a more extensive exploration. It's a very short 3 hrs overview of Montreal for CAN 45 dollars.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank amigomo2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouldsboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Gray Line is the way to decide what you want to explore in a city!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We took the 3 hour tour of Montreal to get a feel for the city. It is the way to spend a few hours early in the stay to decide where you really want to spend time. Our tour was bi-lingual so there was always a bit of "catching up" to do but it was definitely worth it. Our tour guide/driver, Angelo, was so well informed and clear and seemed to just love showing us his city. They have a shuttle bus to pick us up at the hotel and return us there - no hassle. It was a great tour.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank erma942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Credit cards only! Come on! How hard can it be to take cash!”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We were looking forward to the 2 hour tour, I spoke to the conductor the night before and he said to be at the pier at 10 for a 10:30 departure.
Got there just before 10, waited until 10:30 and saw the bus, just as a young girl arrived, those with tickets got on we waited with others to buy tickets, she then had to go get a CC machine, after another 10 mins and us producing cash, she said we couldnt pay by cash but should go somewhere else and get picked up later!
We explained that we had now been waiting for 40 minutes and had not been told that they would not take cash, nor was that in the guide. We said we would get on the bus and pay at the square, she said no.
She gave no alternative to us, said she couldnt authorise anything else but we should go to another square somwhere that would take cash,. Eventually we walked away.

Come on! we are tourists, you want us to find another ticket office somewhere else in the city, NO!

Grey Line, this was very very poor customer service...

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank andysindevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Helpful to get to know the city and see the sites”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Undeniably expensive, but a decent tour and a good way to see places we wouldn't have gone to otherwise and hear some of the history of the city.

Helpful?
Thank AMS37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gray Line also viewed

 

Been to Gray Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing