We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, Excellent Location, Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Petit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Petit Hotel
Ranked #7 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Excellent Location, Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

We stayed at the Le Petit Hotel for 3 nights in mid July. First, the hotel is modern in an old building, very well done! The room was great, King Bed and a fridge. Very well laid out and exeptionally clean. The breakfast that came with the room was much better than most hotel breakfasts. They even would make you a latte or espresso with your breakfast. Each night, they made us a pot of hot tea to take to our room.

Front desk service was exceptional. Friendly and extremely helpful. The ocation of the hotel is perfect. It is on a main street, although very quiet. It is in the heart of all the tourist areas. Great restaurants all around the hotel. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john0952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    208
    32
    11
    5
See reviews for
117
658
44
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

This is a small, stylish, boutique hotel located in a great (the oldest) street in Old Montreal. The street is quaint and narrow and full of art galleries. Not to be missed is a fantastic and extremely popular cafe in the same street called Olive and Gourmando. The coffee here is great (important for us Melbournians) and the toasted sandwiches, salads and soups are yummy.

The hotel is stylish with a trendy entrance area which looks like a cool bar from the outside. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the male staff looked like they were ex models. There is no public computer for guest use however the staff were always happy to look things up for you and recomend and make dinner reservations. We fancied going to a very popular restaurant nearby which apparently is booked out well in advance but the lovely girl in reception manged to get us in on a Friday night! They don't make this well know but there is a laptop with internet which they are happy to loan to you FOC so just ask. We used it sitting in the foyer and they offered to make us free coffee/hot chocolate at the same time.

We originally booked a medium room. The room was lovely however overlooked the side alley where a large air vent was located. At night this vent would pump out air/steam and was amazingly noisy. We commented about this after our 1st night and staff were aware of the problem are were working with the owners of the building to try and overcome this. They offered to move us from a Medium to a Large room which was away from the alley, on the top floor and at the front of the hotel. After looking at the room we decided to move. The room was also great, obviously bigger, more loft like and more importantly there was no vent noise. Also, the air-conditioning blocked out any street noise.

Breakfast is also good here. It is continental but of a good standard with yogurt, fresh fruit salad and large, beautiful croissants.

I would recommend this hotel for its style, location and helpful staff.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AnnaBenji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

We stayed for the weekend at Le Petit Hotel in Old Montreal. The staff, especially Alexander, were very helpful making dinner reservations for us, trip suggestions, etc.

The rooms are a little small but adequate, clean, modern with an massage shower. Breakfast was good with nice breads, croissants, yogurts and make to order coffee. The location is exceptional, right in old town and with easy access to the metro, walking distance to most downtown events. We went on a long bike jaunt and the shop where we rented the bikes was just a few blocks away. The restaurants in the area, and the staffs suggestions were all good. We especially enjoyed Gandhi.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herbert&Zil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

My wife and I stayed here recently on a two day trip to Montreal. We stayed in one of the nicer rooms, and we were very satisfied. The staff is very nice, very helpful. Our room was very nice (the pictures are accurate), well maintained and with a nice little view of the street. Breakfasts were great.

People had complained about the noise, which I could see being a problem here -- if you kept the windows open. My wife and I had the air on and we had no problems at all. I did not hear a thing, though my wife noted she briefly heard some revelers outside at one point. Its a small street, so this is just a part of the atmosphere.

I would note that we picked this hotel partly because everyone said the location is unbeatable. While the location is indeed great, the Nelligan and the St. Suplice are right down the street. But since the Nelligan has an upstairs bar on its roof (and it seems popular!) I think Le Petite is a safter bet.

All in all, we were very happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwa2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, south Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2010

I had high expectations of this hotel, after reading Tripadvisor's reviews. It met and exceeded all of them. Marc-Andre, the manager was most kind, even in his email correspondence with me before the trip. At late notice, I had to stay an extra night and he accomodated me beautifully, not charging me for the extra breakfast, when I arrived on his doorstep at 9am. My room was ready for me straight away, although check in was officially 1500 and he apologised for having to change me to another room for the remaining days of my stay.
Each morning I would consult the staff as to the weather and the day's activities. Their level of interest and help was commendable. They would look up details, print me maps etc. There is no public computer terminal but the staff would help with any of those details, make dinner reservations etc. All the staff were very good, in particular Alexandre, Jennifer, the Ians and Anne makes a mean latte.
I would highly recommend this hotel for the solo or duo traveller who like to do their own thing. It is convenient to the Place d'Armes metro, Palais de Congress (10 min walk), Old Port and Cirque de Soleil (10 min walk), many good restaurants and is in a picturesque part of town. It does not have any meals apart from a continental breakfast, however the staff will recommend many restaurants within walking distance or further afield.
The rooms are spacious, I recommend the medium, although the bathroom is small, the shower is spacious. The pillowtop mattresses are better than my bed at home, the feather pillows the size of small clouds...
Au revoir Montreal, a bientot...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sewexciting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2010

This is a perfect place to stay in the old part of Montreal. It's stylish, convenient, increadibly comfortable beds and the nicest staff. Highly recommend it as an alternative to larger, impersonal hotels. Great neighborhood with restaurants, galleries, boutiques and the waterfront. Wonderful continental breakfast. Not easy to find, but a treasure when you get there.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thistler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
220 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2010

The hotel is great. Beautiful, great staff (specially Marco, who can speak portuguese), perfect location. The breakfast is not something amazing, but it's as charming as the hotel, and the croissant is amazing.
We spent a hole weekend there, and there is really no complaining about the street's noyse.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThiRodrigues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#4 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,884 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Hotel

Property: Le Petit Hotel
Address: 168 rue St-Paul Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Petit Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Saint-Paul street, this 28 room boutique hotel is the perfect blend of elegance and modernity. Colourful furnishings accent each cozy room while original stonework and clever layouts make for a Wonderland-esque setting. Our concierge moonlights as a barista and our front desk fills in for a trendy little cafe. Located right in our lobby, Le Petit Cafe brews artisan joe and offers delicious baked goods all day long. Room service is also available and comes courtesy of Mechant Boeuf. Le Petit Hotel's convenient location and intimate setting make it an ideal hub for the busy weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TravelClick, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Petit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing