We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect - loved it!”
Review of Le Petit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Petit Hotel
Ranked #3 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2010

My husband and I travel extensively and have stayed at many high-end hotels in our travels. We've attempted the random boutique hotel and have had mixed experiences. That being said, Le Petit Hotel ranks right up there with the best of the best. This boutique hotel has it all - PERFECT location in Old Montreal, wonderful amenities, and excellent service. The bed is wonderfully comfy and the shower is just great! We really enjoyed our stay, and would happily invite the opportunity to return for another stay in the future. Thanks again! A & J

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NovaExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,079)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

937 - 943 of 1,080 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2010

My partner and I stayed at Le Petit Hotel for 3 nights in March. The hotel is in the Old Quarter, surrounded by galleries and a number of great restaurants (we would recommend Garde-Manger which had great food but a little less formal than some of the others surrounding). As other reviewers, we chose to stay in the largest room type and were put in 208. This was a wonderful room with two exposed brick walls, a lovely big bed and seating a plenty. The staff, as others have said, were very, very helpful and we were recommended a number of great places to eat, taking us into other areas of the city that we wanted to explore, but would not have otherwise. The communal areas are what you see in the pictures on Trip Advisor: small but beautifully presented (more of a quick stop than somewhere you would necessarily relax for an hour or so, as in larger hotels). The only things I would change at Le Petit Hotel would be to have coffee making facilities in the rooms and also a guide for tv channels, how to work the wii, confirmation of check out times etc.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottishwestcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Le Petit Hotel for a 2 day business/pleasure trip last week. We know that section of Montreal quite well, so knew where to look for the hotel.

It is petit, but lovely, and could use a bit better sign-age in the front.

Our room, 208, was HUGE. In speaking with the staff I understand this is not typical.

We enjoyed the hospitality. The breakfast buffet was good. The staff were very helpful and seemed genuinely happy to be there. There's no restaurant, but there are many good ones in the area, so it's not an issue.

We will certainly go back there again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve_and_Megann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2010

After doing much research on what hotel to chose for my wife's b-day I finally chose Le Petit after reading such great reviews...Before I even booked the hotel I called and spoke with Andre Joly who was very helpful and answered several of my questions and sent me an email about their spa packages. Upon arriving around 1130pm I was met by Marc Andre who immediately welcomed us. I booked the largest room in the hotel which was a loft with high ceilings, trendy furniture and a comfortable bed. Unfortunately when we went to bed we noticed the room was stuffy and it didn't seem like the thermostat was working to control the air in the room. Sure enough when we awoke we were very stuffy and congested. I looked up and saw that the AC filter looked very dirty and clogged. The front desk was very helpful and sent a maintenance guy up and he proceeded to take the filter out and and acknowledge that looked liked the problem. After returning later that nite and entering the room it didnt seem any better. I went to the front desk and the gentleman was very apologetic and immediately offered me another room accross the hall to sleep in for the nite and to leave our stuff in our room until the am in which they would send another tech out to try and fix it. They seemed to get it working for awhile the next day but again at nite there was a problem. We decided to open the window and deal with it. Upon check out the staff was very apologetic and credited my account basically a free nite which was very nice. Overall what stood out about Le petit was the staff ...which great! They made suggestions on good restaurants and places to shop. There continental breakfast was great and coffee was outstanding! They even bring it up to your room if you'd like! ..After commenting on how good there coffee was they wrapped a gift bag up for me!..great touch!.....Anyway I would definately stay at Le Petit again and could see why there ranking is #1!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAKEandLUKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2010

I agree with the other reviews.
This is a great hotel at a great location, close to everything but still quiet. The bed was huge and comfortable and the bathroom was modern and had a great shower. We got a medium room and it was comfortable for two. (The only thing we missed was a soap dish! forgot to mention it to the staff...) The front desk staff were helpful and polite and the room was cleaned well and in a timely manner. Definitely a place we will stay at again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XPRRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

My husband and I really loved this hotel - and we are tough to please on that topic. Each aspect of the hotel was a pleasant surprise: The hotel is quite new, yet it runs smoothly like it has been in business for years. It is small, so the service was top-notch, yet it is luxurious with all the right amenities from the room bar, the breakfast, 24-hour espresso bar, Aveda bath products, the huge glass shower to the cozy, comfy beds. The decor is hip and modern but is balanced with the exposed architecture of the original structure - very modern, yet cozy and very Quebec. The desk staff was terrific and as much research as we did beforehand, they always had the perfect restaurant or brasserie suggestions when we needed them and made all of reservations for those and for their sister spa 2 blocks away. We enjoyed the breakfast that was included in our stay. You can eat in their cute in-house cafe or have it sent to your room at no charge! Croissants, homemade jams, yogurt, huge bowls of fresh fruit, cereals and toasts. We may like to visit Montreal during the summer at some point and would not stay anywhere else but Le Petit Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jvodesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Le Petit Hotel in Nov. We loved the hotel such style and charm. Location was great in the middle of Old Montreal beautiful and so much to see and do around the hotel we loved this hotel and the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travlingjules73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#8 of 165 in Montreal
2,421 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,200 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#5 of 165 in Montreal
412 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,034 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Hotel

Address: 168 rue St-Paul Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: $131 - $476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Petit Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Saint-Paul street, this 28 room boutique hotel is the perfect blend of elegance and modernity. Colourful furnishings accent each cozy room while original stonework and clever layouts make for a Wonderland-esque setting. Our concierge moonlights as a barista and our front desk fills in for a trendy little cafe. Located right in our lobby, Le Petit Cafe brews artisan joe and offers delicious baked goods all day long. Room service is also available and comes courtesy of Mechant Boeuf. Le Petit Hotel's convenient location and intimate setting make it an ideal hub for the busy weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Petit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing