We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome boutique hotel with super friendly, helpful staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Petit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Petit Hotel
Ranked #7 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
1 review
“Awesome boutique hotel with super friendly, helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2009

We stayed at the Le Petit Hotel in early October. The weather was a bit chilly outside, but inside this hotel, we could not have asked for more. This new hotel is carved out of an Old Montreal building with tons of character and charm. The rooms are contemporary and stylish but what makes this hotel great is the amazing staff - Patrick (hotel manager) and the rest of the crew. They sweat the details here and it shows. We would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    205
    32
    11
    5
See reviews for
116
650
44
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Earth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2009

What a great place to stay in Montreal. Top notch service, awesome rooms, good location, great breakfast and reasonably priced for the service and accommodations.

The service at Le Petit is exceptional. You couldn't ask for a more friendly and helpful staff. Whether it was help with our luggage, valet car service, advice on restaurants or directions the staff was always happy to help. We had a problem with the heat in our room and without hesitation were moved to another room which happened to be to a bigger room. That is a staff that cares about their customers.

The rooms are spotless and decor is a refreshing change from the standard hotel fare. A mix of funky modern furniture, top of the line bathroom fixtures and old exposed brick walls make Le Petit a real standout. The bed and pillows felt like sleeping on a cloud. I didn't want to get out of bed! The shower was wonderful. It had a rain-shower and full body massage shower-heads. Only negative was with the wooden floors, which were very nice, we could hear the tippy-tapping of the upstairs neighbor's high-heels. And the room I originally booked, which was the small room, truly was "le petit." I would recommend spending a few extra bucks and get the medium room.

Breakfast, which was included in the price of the room, was quite tasty. They offered croissants, home-made multigrain bread, fruit-nut bread, yogurt, cereal, fresh fruit, tasty jams, juice and great coffee. The chocolate croissants were delicious.

Parking is $25 a night with in/out privileges at no extra charge in a heated indoor garage.

Located amongst the cobblestone streets of old Montreal LePetit is in one of the nicest parts of town, it has a real European feel to it. Shopping, restaurants, major points-of-interest, are all within walking distance or an easy metro ride away. Montreal has tons of stuff to do, diverse selection of food and if you like to shop-till-you-drop it's a must see destination. Bring your heavy-duty winter gear if you visit in the colder months. We visited mid-October and it felt like winter.

LePetit is a real gem. I would highly recommend it to friends and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Dog_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2009

We were really impressed by this hotel, and in particular by the staff, who were young, enthusiastic and eager to please, and helped to make it a very enjoyable stay.

Our room were very modern and trendy, but also practical with lots of nice touches, and a very comfortable bed. The hotel is ideally situated for exploring the old town. The hotel doesn't actually have any facilities, other than a drinks area, and a breakfast area. The breakfast was really good, buffet-style and with plenty of choice.

Only downside (if arriving by car) is that it's a very difficult hotel to find by car, due to the maze of one-way streets and road works, so we left our car 300 yards away, and the hotel staff were happy to go and put it into valet parking.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David4758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2009

We stayed for two nights at the "Petit Hotel" on our first holiday in Canada and it was a very pleasant experience.
The location is excellent, in old Montreal, but not right in the noisiest part. The rooms are of a good size, not too small, and well appointed with a comfortable, big bed and modern furniture and fittings which contrast nicely with the brick walls. Small, but nicely decorated bathroom with a large, very nice shower.
Breakfast was excellent - all food items were of the best quality and there was a great selection of fresh fruit (4 kinds of fresh berries, pineapple, melon, kiwifruit), yoghurt, good bread, bagels, excellent croissants (best we had in Canada), homemade muffins, jams and butter. The only downside was that the (very noisy) dishwasher was in the breakfast area and the staff systematically put it on whilst we were having breakfast which was very irritating. Given that the restaurant is still under construction, presumably this problem will be solved once the restaurant is functional, as we assume that breakfast would then be served there.
A few minor hiccups: Toiletries were not replaced on the second day and the wooden floor was sticky from a recent treatment which was noted by the staff but unfortunately not resolved. The room lacked of a stand for a suitcase - which was supplied immediately when we asked for it. A kettle in the room would have been a nice addition, as well as folder with information on the hotel and the city.
Overall, the "Petit Hotel" is a beautiful little hotel with a lot of potential. What currently appears to be missing is somebody who oversees the staff and works to optimise service. Staff are extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful, but seem quite inexperienced. With a little more attention to detail and once final touches have been added, it will be perfect.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Expat_JMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LphHotelManager, Hotel Manager at Le Petit Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2009
Dear Jon & Karin,

On behalf of Le Petit Hotel Team, I’m so thrilled to hear that you had a very pleasant experience among us. Thank you so much for your feedback.

We were very picky on choosing our beds and I’m happy to know that you were comfortable in them. A lot of time and effort was also put in auditioning for THE best ‘‘boulangerie’’ and I’m glad to know that the croissants were the best you had in Canada.

I apologize for the whistle of our dishwasher and wish to share with you that you’ve contributed to the hotel’s improvement as we are in the works for relocating the machine.

Rest assured that on your next Canadian trip, all the final touches will be added and WE will be perfect for your comeback tour.

Please feel free to contact me shall you wish to discuss our response furthermore.


Kind regards,

Patrick Huynh
Hotel Manager
patrick@petithotelmontreal.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2009

Incredible staff who was very helpful in giving us tips as well as always having a smile on them. If you are visiting Montreal and want a great place with a small boutique yet elegant feel stay here.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BALI
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2009

My wife a I stayed at the Le Petit Hotel in Montrel for only one night but could happily have spent longer.It is in the middle of Old Montreal ,nearby lots of restaurants and an easy walk to other tourist attractions.
The hotel is actually a very old building sympathetically restored ,keeping its old charm ,whilst the rooms are very modern.Ours had a Queen size extremely comfortable bed with a large plasma TV on the opposite wall.The bathroom was super, with a large walk-in shower which had a cascade type spray.The only drawback was that there were no teamaking facility.
The staff were efficient and very friendly obtaining for us taxis and a dinner booking and generally were very helpful.
Breakfast was included (Continental ) and ther was a coffee machine always available.
I can recommend the "Auberge de Napoleon" for dinner.Two minutes from the hotel and an excellent C$30 Table d'hote.Book!! .
we paid C£170 for B&B


Eric Bali

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ERICBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2009

I love this hotel, clean, nice & friendly, love the modern decoration... will come back again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j0anna79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#4 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Quartier International
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Hotel

Property: Le Petit Hotel
Address: 168 rue St-Paul Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Petit Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Saint-Paul street, this 28 room boutique hotel is the perfect blend of elegance and modernity. Colourful furnishings accent each cozy room while original stonework and clever layouts make for a Wonderland-esque setting. Our concierge moonlights as a barista and our front desk fills in for a trendy little cafe. Located right in our lobby, Le Petit Cafe brews artisan joe and offers delicious baked goods all day long. Room service is also available and comes courtesy of Mechant Boeuf. Le Petit Hotel's convenient location and intimate setting make it an ideal hub for the busy weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Petit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing