We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rustic, modern, quaint hotel in the heart of Old Montreal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Petit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Petit Hotel
Ranked #7 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rustic, modern, quaint hotel in the heart of Old Montreal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

A great location on Rue St. Paul Ouest right in the heart of Old Montreal. Restaurants, shops and museums are within easy walking distance.

The hotel is charming and clean. The room featured bamboo floors, and exposed brick and stone walls with huge windows. The bed was a bit soft for my liking, but I slept well enough.

Breakfast was included and choices were cereal, yogurt, fruit salad, toast, bagels, muffins and coffee.

Be sure to eat at Les Pyrenees down the road!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kalcevka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    205
    32
    11
    5
See reviews for
116
650
44
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

This hotel is in a great location, near Notre Dame in Old Montreal on a lovely street that looks like you're in Europe! Staff, cleanliness and everything you need in a nice hotel they had. There is valet parking available. The rooms are amazing, bed is SUPER comfortable. We will be def be back!

Room Tip: Higher level gives you a better view! They have nice little windows that open to a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

Service was great. The staff gave us good tips for restaurants and things to do. We used the free bicycles one day and it was a great way to get around. They have good bike paths and was a fun way to tour around. Our hotel room was on third floor overlooking street. Great view, did not find it noisy even when it's a poplar street. Horse and carriage rides go down the street. Room was modern and beautiful with exposed stone walls. Loved the shower. Lots to do and see in the area, but also very close to the subway or bus stations if wanted to venture out further. A perfect location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annabelle467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Le Petit is very well situated in Old Montreal. Plenty of great restaurants within easy walking distance. Service was exceptional. To a person, the staff were friendly, energetic, and helpful. Would stay here again for sure.

Continental breakfast was included with the rate, and we enjoyed chatting with other travelers in the breakfast room.

Rooms were spacious and comfortable and had a homey feel, although not what you would describe as luxurious. You can tell you are in an old building, but that adds to the charm.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Papavecchio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Stayed for a long weekend & had a lovely room (3rd floor) over-looking lively Rue St.Paul. Very stylish rooms & decor in common areas. Fantastic breakfast included, as well as complimentary use of 2 bikes for exploring Old Montreal. Service was second to none - very helpful and friendly staff!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

This is a charming "boutique" hotel in Old Montreal. The furniture is sleek and modern, yet our room had exposed brick and stone structural components that make the most of the centuries-old structure of the building itself. Our room (201, I think) was fairly large considering the downtown location. Everything was spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable. All staff were friendly and helpful without exception. The continental breakfast was nice, but nothing special. However, my wife had a made-to-order cappuccino that she described as "awesome!" The location can't be beat. Because of the location on Rue St. Paul, restaurants, shopping, art galleries, etc. are all right outside the door. Just a short walk to Place Jacques Cartier, the Old Port, Notre Dame and more. The valet parking service was great but, if you are driving, be aware that there is a daily charge for parking of around $20 per day. The only criticism we really had, was that the wireless signal in our room was weak (we really needed to be on the bed to use it) and slow. This was not a real problem for us, but might be for business travelers. Signal might be better in other rooms.
Overall, we had a great stay at Le Petit Hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 201. No view. Large windows open to an alley below. We found it to be very quiet c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keithonearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth, Maine
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Le Petit hotel is right in the heart of the Old City of Montreal. It’s small with only 28 rooms. Although the staff were very friendly and helpful with good restaurant and bar recommendations, the rooms themselves left something to be desired. The bath room was very small and not well lit. Room in general was dark. Bed plenty comfortable. Being in Montreal for four nights, we walked around the Old City and waterfront plenty and checked out hotels for our next stay. We found a few we would prefer to book next time.

Room Tip: Go for an upper floor room - our friends got a first floor room and the noise from a fan (HVAC?) in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#4 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Quartier International
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Hotel

Property: Le Petit Hotel
Address: 168 rue St-Paul Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Petit Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Saint-Paul street, this 28 room boutique hotel is the perfect blend of elegance and modernity. Colourful furnishings accent each cozy room while original stonework and clever layouts make for a Wonderland-esque setting. Our concierge moonlights as a barista and our front desk fills in for a trendy little cafe. Located right in our lobby, Le Petit Cafe brews artisan joe and offers delicious baked goods all day long. Room service is also available and comes courtesy of Mechant Boeuf. Le Petit Hotel's convenient location and intimate setting make it an ideal hub for the busy weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TravelClick and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Petit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing