We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish low key upscale hotel”
Review of Le Petit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Petit Hotel
Ranked #3 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a few days before going to Quebec City. Enjoyed staying in the historical section of downtown Montreal. A stay at the hotel includes breakfast. We loved the coffee and croissants. During the day we would tour the city and then come back and discuss with the staff about a place for dinner. Everyone was very helpful. A suggestion is to go to the rooftop of Hotel Nelligan for a drink

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jupitertravel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

499 - 505 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2014

I travel a lot for work and to make it more exciting I always try to stay in a great preferably boutique hotel and add a day or two of vacation to all my trips.
So far I about 5 favorite hotels in the world and this is one of them.
Everything about this hotel is just perfect!
LOCATION: in most interesting part of Montreal -Old Montreal, on St.Paul's street. Part of the street is really touristy and a bit cheesy yet Le Petit is on a more quite stretch past the touristy spot.
It is also within 5-10 min from subway station and right next to the canals and bike path.

SERVICE: That is absolutely the top. Especially two guys: Carlos and Guy are super helpful and knowledgeable about the city. On the way to the room guy gave me my internet password and other info before I even asked. They prepare two bikes for us (NO CHARGE).
Someone also brought us a cupcake with caramel and vanilla frosting because it was close to my wedding anniversary.

ROOMS: Super comfortable, spacious, quite. Beautifully decorated and designed with exposed brick or stone walls. Romantic yet classy. Pure elegance. (I stayed in 412 -highly recommend!)

BREAKFAST: free and delicious-coffee, croissants, fresh fruit , yogurt all what you need to hit the town.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sylvia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Every member of the small, but passionate and energetic, staff that we encountered provided a level of service comparable to a five star hotel, trapped inside a three star body. Great suggestions for various activities and dining options.

One of our children has a severe nut allergy. When we asked about the origin of the pastries at breakfast the first of three days that we recently stayed at the hotel, we were told that they couldn't guarantee what they had was nut free or had been contaminated. We were also politely scolded for not telling them ahead of time, so that they could prepare.

When we came back to the hotel that evening, the front desk clerk politely greeted us and asked if we were in room 407 (which is the amazing family room that has been mentioned in other reviews), told us that they had secured "certified" nut free bread for our child for the next morning and were trying to get cereal too.

This was the first time that I have ever experienced this type of unsolicited service at a hotel. It only comes from a true commitment to service. Lesson learned, provide advance notice. Can't say enough great things about the hotel or the staff.

Room Tip: Room 407 perfect for family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank cecilub2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We choose this hotel based on tripadviser reviews and unfortunately in this case we were disappointed. Hotel location is excellent, but this is when positives stops. Our room was “le petit”, ac extremely loud but worst of it the mattress was so old that it became a hamac and as result we had horrible night. After we complain to management next morning we were moved to another – much better room with new bed and this is reason I mark it 2 stars, not 1. Service hit or miss. One day it is excellent – another almost nonexistent. Small breakfast room left w/o clean tables. On our arrival they were very pleasant and help with luggage, but when we check out no one offer you luggage help – and you need it to navigate stairs…. And this is in hotel that charge ~$250 a night + $30 parking.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yelena U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

The hotel is very charming. The service it provides is better than some of the more luxury branded hotels. The rooms also have video games consoles for the children and the hotel us situated in the centre of town. Overall this hotel is great.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank kfad5757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Weekend get away with my husband and first time to Montreal. The location was amazing, we were able to walk to everything! The room was just perfect! I did not anticipated to be as beautiful as it was. I
love the modern decor, and the bathroom- although it was a bit small- was just perfect. The staff were friendly and extremely
helpful. The continental breakfast in the morning was beyond my expectations. Not only what I highly recommend this hotel, but I plan to return to Montreal and stay in the same location!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lani213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is an enchanting bijou hotel right n the heart of the old town. Space is at a premium - but that's understandable - and the room - and especially the bathroom, was spotless, and stylish. Bilingual reception was extremely friendly and welcoming - as was the porter who helped us with the bags. Breakfast is Continental - and not overstocked with produce - and the position of the buffet meant guests swarmed together trying to get at the yoghurt, or the fruit, or the croissants.. But to be able to emerge from the hotel and 2 minutes later be in the old port, or the Pointe-a-Caliere, or the Notre Dame Basilica - well that's beyond price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boatmusdir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,391 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,478 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,064 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 165 in Montreal
1,525 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Hotel

Address: 168 rue St-Paul Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z7, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: $142 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Petit Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Saint-Paul street, this 28 room boutique hotel is the perfect blend of elegance and modernity. Colourful furnishings accent each cozy room while original stonework and clever layouts make for a Wonderland-esque setting. Our concierge moonlights as a barista and our front desk fills in for a trendy little cafe. Located right in our lobby, Le Petit Cafe brews artisan joe and offers delicious baked goods all day long. Room service is also available and comes courtesy of Mechant Boeuf. Le Petit Hotel's convenient location and intimate setting make it an ideal hub for the busy weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Petit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing