We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique hotel”
Review of Le Petit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Petit Hotel
Ranked #5 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely boutique hotel”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We booked this because it was highly recommended and in Old Montreal. A wonderful small boutique hotel in the heart of Old Montreal. Room was very European, clean and fresh. Breakfast was bountiful and very French. Staff was knowledgeable and accomodating.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Connie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    780
    212
    33
    11
    5
See reviews for
120
680
44
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Global
Level Contributor
185 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

We had one of the XL rooms, which was a trendy loft style room with plenty of space. Overall, a really great room, although the bathroom is small for a room of that standard.

Otherwise, valet parking was efficient and very helpful in this part of town. The old streets of the old port area are difficult for parking, but great go rating out.

As the name suggests, the hotel is small so don't expect 24hr room service and other things you might find at a major chain - but it makes up for it in character.

Also, lots of stairs in the hotel. So not ideal for those with disabilities.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank TheGlobalFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed three nights in June at Le Petit Hotel and could not have been more pleased. I scheduled our stay based on positive reviews I found on trip advisor. Location was perfect. We like to stay at small hotels for the personal service and that's what we received. Staff friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Received good tips on restaurants. The room was lovely. Modern, very cool bathroom, but room also had rustic feel due to brick walls. Would stay there again in a minute!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
399 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The demographic for this hotel is 20-45, any older/younger than that--forget it.
The front desk was manned/ womaned by people in jeans etc. No uniforms to be found.
Breakfast was the same every day---croissants, chocolate croissants, yogurt, fruit, coffee.
The best thing about this hotel was it's location in the Old Town of Montreal--where a preponderance of the restaurants are. Without the location, it was a very average hotel small bathroom and a window that looked out on to a wall. There are hotel where I live that are much like this and they sell for $120 a night.....in a tourist town. There are better hotels in walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank floribel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Cozy boutique hotel on the best street in the old town- Rue St Paul. The breakfast was wonderful, and even though the room was small everything else made up for it. We stayed 4 nights and never had a bad meal anywhere. Most of the good restaurants were within a 10 min. walk. We took the $9 shuttle to the Fairmont Queen Elizabeth Hotel at stop # 5 where there is a taxi stand. It cost another $7 to go to the hotel.
Our favorite meal was the Stash Cafe, a block away, as well as being the most reasonably priced.
If you need wine for your room, there is a SAQ just 3 blocks away. Rue St Jean is very crowded, even in the middle of May, when we were there. To enjoy the street with no people- walk it at 8AM before the shops open. We got some nice photos by doing this one morning.
There is a bike shop on Rue De La Commune one street over, with $30/day rentals, inc lock and helmets. Montreal has some of the nicest city bike paths I've ever seen. All bridges have a separate lane for bikes and you rarely have to share a road with cars. They will give you a map. Try the Atwater Market for lunch along the Lachine canal.

Room Tip: room was extremely quiet until the weekend when the hockey team was in the playoffs- ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DARRYL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, Vermont
Level Contributor
265 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

I am rating this hotel excellent not because it is perfect (although it is terrific), but because the staff is so very friendly, accomodating, and professional. They responded to a few glitches speedily and with a polite and positive willingness.
This was our first visit, and they immediately told us upon arrival that they had upgraded our room from "small" to "medium." Wonderfully decorated room, nice and comfortable king bed. Storage space sufficient for two people. The bathroom is on the small side, but the shower is wonderful with spray jets! The air conditioning system was a bit confusing and the air either felt muggy or cold. We didn't complain, but I think they would have helped if we did. Our room was quiet because we faced an alley. We couldn't open the drapes because there was a window of the next building right there, but that was okay.
The breakfast is fantastic! (and free): croissants, bread, bagels, fruit, cereal, and all kinds of coffees!
When we were about to venture out in the rain, they immediately offered us umbrellas. And they booked a great restaurant for us.
Being in the heart of Old Montreal, it is a fantastic location and accessible to the busy-ness and people watching opportunities of Rue St. Paul.
I highly recommend for couples especially!

Room Tip: Ask for room on the alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carefultraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Another visit to this lovely hotel in the heart of Old Town. As usual the service was outstanding (the staff on Saturday and Sunday morning were especially helpful). The place is immaculate and the atmosphere is cool, calm and elegant. Breakfast in the morning is lovely (and served until 11am - awesome for those of us who don't jump out of bed on vacation). The rooms are all unique and blend vintage and modern. If you want an amazing hotel, great service, cleanliness and the most perfect location in Old Town this is your hotel. Valet service is available. Next time we will spend more time in the lobby (BYOB or they have a small coffee cafe area) just enjoying the views of Old Town and the traffic through the hotel. We will return again and again to this perfect petite hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the rear are quieter and the windows open if you like fresh air. The hotel can be price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emaly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 164 in Montreal
1,663 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 164 in Montreal
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 164 in Montreal
2,091 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 164 in Montreal
1,929 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Hotel

Property: Le Petit Hotel
Address: 168 rue St-Paul Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Petit Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Saint-Paul street, this 28 room boutique hotel is the perfect blend of elegance and modernity. Colourful furnishings accent each cozy room while original stonework and clever layouts make for a Wonderland-esque setting. Our concierge moonlights as a barista and our front desk fills in for a trendy little cafe. Located right in our lobby, Le Petit Cafe brews artisan joe and offers delicious baked goods all day long. Room service is also available and comes courtesy of Mechant Boeuf. Le Petit Hotel's convenient location and intimate setting make it an ideal hub for the busy weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Le Petit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing