We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent in 'almost' every way!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Petit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Petit Hotel
Ranked #7 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Maple, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Excellent in 'almost' every way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

This hotel is located in the heart of Old Montreal. It's really a great launch pad for all the tourist attractions in Montreal due to the proximity and the ease with which you can hail cabs.

All that convenience of course will cost you a bit in room size and design. The rooms are smaller, similar to European rooms in London or Paris actually and unless you opt for the bigger suites with big windows, they lack natural lighting due to the architecture and location of the building. None of this is a negative in my opinion as they are part of the 'experience' but thought to mention them.

Apart from this, noise insulation is fairly poor. Can hear people in the other suites as well as in the bathroom! This is something that had to be addressed during the reno of the building but sadly has gone unresolved. Again, it's not a big deal as you will ideally spend most of your time outside and this hotel doesn't appear to attract rowdy party goers anyway, that's the job of W Hotel Montreal.

With all that out of the way, service is excellent and breakfast is small but nice continental type. Coffee drinks are made available to guests including a complimentary speciality one each day. The hotel, rooms and bathrooms are all in excellent condition and very clean.

We would go back to this hotel when we come back to Montreal as they deserve their reputation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Payam81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    205
    32
    11
    5
See reviews for
116
650
44
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Situated in the old town of Montreal. This is a quaint boutique hotel designed in a modern style. We had a lovely room which was spacious, with separate seating area, king bed. The design of the rooms had been thought out well.

Location of the hotel was excellent, everything was within walking distance, and the old town is full of restaurants.

Staff were very welcoming when we arrived and at all other times when we required any assistance. They offered valet far parking, which while it seems expensive, in a town you do not know, was well worth doing as we did not have to 'hunt' for a parking place. When we wanted the car they quickly retrieved it and it was waiting for us by the time we got down stairs.

Breakfast was continental, with croissants, pain au chocolate, bread, bagels and freshly cut fruit salad which was lovely. Freshly made coffee of your choice and juices were also offered.

Rooms had a stocked mini bar, and hot coffee was on tap downstairs all day and evening if you wished for some.

Wifi worked well in the breakfast room and general areas, but unfortunately in our room due to the very thick walls it did not, so we gave up on trying to access the internet - but if the only thing I can criticize is the wifi, which was free, struggled to travel through thick brick and stone walls into our room, then one should remember we were on holiday to see the sights of Montreal, of which there are many, not to sit on the wifi!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

I have too many good things to say. The room was gorgeous. Exposed stone on the inside of the room. Luxurious bathroom with an amazing shower which had multiple jets! And the bed was also so luxurious and extremely comfortable. Amazing location - in the heart of Old Montreal. The staff were amazing - everyone was so nice, and extremely helpful. They had awesome tips on what to do in Montreal and where to eat. The valet parking was very convenient. The hotel was just gorgeous and the staff were great making it overall a 10/10 experience. I would definitely stay here again and would easily recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1983NS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

My wife and I went for a romantic week end in Montréal, we chose Le petit hotel because it was between the train station (train is romantic guy's) and Le Cique du Soleil.
My expectations were high, but from the begining the staff was very helpfull, the room was big and the decor was far from the usual ones I get while on business trip.
The breakfast was also good and the suronding perfect for a Young couple of 26 years of marriage.
Beds where fantastic and all amenities included.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

The rooms are trendy yet retain the historic feel of old Montreal. The bed is incredibly comfortable, the shower is a luxury, overall it was very relaxing while on a busy business trip. The location is superb, with the Notre Dame steps away.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

The hotel is in a great location, right in the middle of the historic area and is surrounded by great restaurants, shopping and galleries. The decor in the room was lovely, the bed very comfortable and the room very quiet. The included breakfast was also good. Staff were amazingly helpful, nothing, whether it was instructions on using the subway, restaurant suggestions / bookings, things to see, was too much trouble for them. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Montreal.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmcinsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

This is our very first time in Montreal, hotel overall is beyond our expectation. Location is PERFECT! About 10 minutes walk to STM, rue St-Paul is full of boutique galleries and nice restaurants. On the first day we arrived we did see carriage passing through street, quiet and peaceful. I have to mention a gentle man in front desk Mr. Carlos, he helped us all the time when we were looking for sightseeing spots, recommended local gourmet food. It's always nice to get to know more information from people than a simply map.

Room is spacious, the bed was extremely soft which took us a long time to get off from it every morning. Breakfast is normal continental but still elegant and enough. Wifi was the fastest among all the hotels we stayed in Canada. If I got a chance to visit this beautiful city again, I would love to stay here!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lit_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#4 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Quartier International
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Hotel

Property: Le Petit Hotel
Address: 168 rue St-Paul Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Petit Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Saint-Paul street, this 28 room boutique hotel is the perfect blend of elegance and modernity. Colourful furnishings accent each cozy room while original stonework and clever layouts make for a Wonderland-esque setting. Our concierge moonlights as a barista and our front desk fills in for a trendy little cafe. Located right in our lobby, Le Petit Cafe brews artisan joe and offers delicious baked goods all day long. Room service is also available and comes courtesy of Mechant Boeuf. Le Petit Hotel's convenient location and intimate setting make it an ideal hub for the busy weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Petit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing