We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Old Montreal”
Review of Le Petit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Petit Hotel
Ranked #5 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Old Montreal”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We loved our experience.
The place is beautiful and the staff was great. It's a bit hard to find a place to park but they can take care of it for you. They even let us keep our luggages there after we sign out so we could visit the beautiful place that is Old Montreal.
The breakfast was very good. The room are clean and nicely decorated. You do hear people talking in the elevator and the hall from your room but the staff kept it quiet.

Room Tip: The cheaper rooms are very small but the larger rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JF M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    780
    212
    33
    11
    5
See reviews for
120
680
44
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

If you want a little piece of France in Montreal this is a great choice. The staff are friendly and responsive. Rooms are delightful with raw stone walls and a great multi-spray shower.
There is a wonderful European breakfast and I was surprised and delighted that croissants and coffees are available throughout the day.
I was there alone and I would suggest that you are careful that you do not have a room on the first floor that looks out onto an alley ( although a charming one!)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

What a fun little hotel. Cute rooms with orange décor. Nice bathroom and shower. Right on the main drag. Sweet lobby with helpful staff. Breakfast was delic.....mouth watering breads, croissants, fresh fruit, cereals, and lots and lots of coffee always at your disposal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorit5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We loved the location and the service. The check-in process was a breeze, and the room was just nice, modern but with that touch of old Montreal. We loved the complimentary Latte in the morning and breakfast. We walked everywhere and parked the car at the hotel for the whole day on the day we checked out. Highly recommended

Room Tip: The beds are very soft, I am not sure if every room has the same kind of mattress but if you do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieV2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

From the moment you step through the doors at this small boutique hotel you are treated with a very high level of service. The hotel is right in the middle of old Montreal and the rooms feel like you are in old Montreal with a slightly urban and modern touch. Everything here is world class, Do yourself a favor and spend a bit more to make your trip to Montreal truly special and unique by staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tubetop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Hook, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

They just do everything right here. Nothing is over-the-top – it’s just a really nice, small, friendly, boutique hotel in a great location for a reasonable price. The all-white bed (which is very important to me) was amazingly comfortable and the entire room was very clean. The bathroom (I was upgraded to a medium room from a small) was a tad cozy, but I didn't really care. I felt totally at home and would return again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We've made this our go-to hotel in Old Montreal for many years now.
The beds are super-comfortable, the shower is amazing and the location is perfect. The staff are always very welcoming and the croissants at breakfast are our most favourite in the city!
What more can you ask for in a boutique hotel?
They often have rate specials which we like to take advantage of for a weekend getaway to one of the best cities in Canada.

Room Tip: Rooms further away from St. Paul Street are better for a sounder sleep - especially on New Year'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scberes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 164 in Montreal
1,663 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 164 in Montreal
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 164 in Montreal
2,091 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 164 in Montreal
1,929 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Hotel

Property: Le Petit Hotel
Address: 168 rue St-Paul Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Petit Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Saint-Paul street, this 28 room boutique hotel is the perfect blend of elegance and modernity. Colourful furnishings accent each cozy room while original stonework and clever layouts make for a Wonderland-esque setting. Our concierge moonlights as a barista and our front desk fills in for a trendy little cafe. Located right in our lobby, Le Petit Cafe brews artisan joe and offers delicious baked goods all day long. Room service is also available and comes courtesy of Mechant Boeuf. Le Petit Hotel's convenient location and intimate setting make it an ideal hub for the busy weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Le Petit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing