We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Loved Le Petit!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Petit Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Petit Hotel
Ranked #6 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Herkimer, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loved Le Petit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at La Cantlie near the Ritz Carlton for the beginning of our trip, but we ended in Old Montreal at Le Petit Hotel. It was awesome---beautiful, upscale, wonderful staff. We had free valet parking, very tasty croissants in the morning, and the desk personnel were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faye E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    720
    200
    32
    11
    5
See reviews for
114
629
44
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

This cute little hotel sits on the oldest street in Montreal. It is very quaint and yet elegant. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and were always happy to help and answer any of our questions about Montreal. The room was gorgeous and quite spacious. I loved everything about it. They served complementary breakfast every morning, as well as fresh coffee and watermelon or cucumber infused water throughout the entire day. Sitting and relaxing with a glass of cold water was the perfect way to return from a long day of sightseeing. The breakfast itself was beyond excellent. They had fresh fruit salad, different yogurt options, several kinds of delicious pastries and breads (croissants, pain au chocolat, muffins, scones, raisin bread, etc.), cereals, and muesli as well. They had honey and wonderful jam for the bread, which you could toast in the toaster. The raisin bread was the best bread I've ever had, as well as the jam that I had along with it. The pain au chocolat was also impossible to resist. The location of the hotel could not have been better, as there was much to do that was within walking distance. Everything about my stay at this hotel was perfect and well worth the cost.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

The hotel is located on a beautiful street that begs to be photographed. The room was a nice mix of modern and old world charm. You can easily walk to sights, restaurants and Metro stations. Front desk staff were amazing! They'll take care of everything you need. The hotel offers a free continental breakfast with fresh croissants, fruit, muffins... if you can drag yourself out of the comfortable bed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WinnieRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We just returned and I am so missing our cool, hip, clean room at Le Petit Hotel. The breakfast, which is included, had the best and largest croissants as well as the best coffees ever! The location, right in the middle of the old port is perfect for walking to restaurants, shops, sights, the water, and Chinatown. The metro and buses are close by, also. The staff is incredibly welcoming and helpful. We felt like we had a mini condo in the middle of the old port and we will definitely be back. The coolest stay in a hotel ever!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cielsuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Virginia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

the hotel did everything right ... the staff helped us in every way; the room was exactly as described; our room was perfectly clean and in order; the front desk helped us with restaurants/where to go; etc. the breakfast, however, was not very good - although the croissants were tasty. definitely a small hotel, it is not a typical "grand" hotel ... so don't expect that. also, it was a bit expensive (in my opinion).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mattva1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Le Petit hotel was a lovely place to stay in Old Montreal. The hotel and surroundings had a lot of charm. Hotel staff was welcoming and helpful, and breakfast was included. The place lives up to its name, but if you are looking for a personal experience in Montreal, this is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyFamily706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at Le Petit Hotel for three nights in July, 2013. Saturday morning, we disembarked the M.S. Maasdam. The walk from the cruise terminal to to the hotel was easy, just three blocks. We arrived at 10 am, and of course our room was not yet available but the staff was quite happy to store our bags until check in, allowing us to spend the day exploring Old Montreal, The hotel itself was as advertised, small, hip, and modern. Our medium sized room was well-appointed and quite comfortable. My one small quibble is that the king bed's mattress was a little softer than I like. The hotel's location was perfect, not just because of the close proximity to the cruise terminal and the rest of the waterfront, but also because it is surrounded by Old Montreal's wonderful art galleries and restaurants, and just a short walk from subway and bus lines to take you anywhere else in Montreal. Prior to our stay we were deciding between Le Petit and another highly-rated place two blocks down the street, Hotel Nelligan. We chose Le Petit because of the added value of included continental breakfast, This proved to be a particularly helpful feature on our last morning, as we had a quick and delicious breakfast right in the lobby prior to leaving for the airport. The front desk made the arrangements the night before, and a taxi was waiting for us 5 minutes before our requested scheduled departure. I would recommend Le Petit Hotel to anyone planning a stay in Montreal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daverasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Quartier International
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge Bonaparte
Auberge Bonaparte
#5 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Hotel

Property: Le Petit Hotel
Address: 168 rue St-Paul Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Petit Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Saint-Paul street, this 28 room boutique hotel is the perfect blend of elegance and modernity. Colourful furnishings accent each cozy room while original stonework and clever layouts make for a Wonderland-esque setting. Our concierge moonlights as a barista and our front desk fills in for a trendy little cafe. Located right in our lobby, Le Petit Cafe brews artisan joe and offers delicious baked goods all day long. Room service is also available and comes courtesy of Mechant Boeuf. Le Petit Hotel's convenient location and intimate setting make it an ideal hub for the busy weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelClick, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Petit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing