We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A little charmer” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Petit Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Petit Hotel
Ranked #6 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Lenox MA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A little charmer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great service, great location, great rooms, good value-- a wonderful boutique base in the Old Port, near Chinatown and the Convention Center, walkable almost everywhere. Friendly helpful staff, highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjt119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    722
    200
    32
    11
    5
See reviews for
114
631
44
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed here for one night in January. The physical space itself is beautiful - I loved the combination of exposed stonework and modern furnishings. The hotel is very quiet - we slept in after a late night and did not hear any noise at all. The location is perfect - we enjoyed the lovely neighbourhood of Old Montreal and it was very conveniently located to many exceptional restaurants. The staff are very friendly - we enjoyed the services of the late night 'cafe' (wine, beer and snacks) and the daytime offerings of coffee and pastries. Definitely visit this hotel while in Montreal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CCorbett02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Le Petit Hotel is of the most delightful hotels at we have ever stayed. The location at Rue St. Paul, Ouest cannot be better, walking distance to a plethora of spectacles, awesome bars and restaurants. Very clean rooms w/amazing stone walls, crisp-white down comforters, flat screen TV, modern spacious bathroom w/rain shower, amazing contemporary design throughout the hotel and rooms and a friendly staff makes this hotel a true "10". I must also mention the wonderful breakfast bar, w/freshly baked croissants and pastries, fresh yogurt, cereals and always fresh fruit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beatrix K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

One of the, if not the best, hotel I have ever stayed at.

First of all, you can't have a better location. Right on Rue Saint-Paul in the Old Port. It has personality and charm. And tons of places to eat, galleries to look at, shops to go in. The valet your car for you, if you drove in, for $28 a night-- not bad prices. The staff is very friendly, help you look up places to eat or go see, all professional with touch of sincerity.

The room is so beautiful. Exposed brick walls. Hardwood floors. When walking in a spa kind of ocean music was playing from the radio-- I loved it so much I never turned it off. Queen sized bed. Pillows so soft. The bed you just sink into. Very clean. The lighting is good, helpful little lights over the bed for you to read and adjust to your liking.

The bathroom is fun. The shower has 3 different adjustable settings. Water has solid pressure and the water gets nice and hot.


I stayed in the small room, which ended up being room 101 right next to the lobby. The ONLY thing I would say about this, is you can't be a light sleeper to have the room. While not loud 24/7, it can be a little loud at night. Only once was it really bad, on the last night, and woke to the radio blaring Florence and the Machine at 11 at night. Otherwise, you can just hear some clanking and movement from time to time of them getting ready for the next day and cleaning up.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cantonioli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Le Petit Hotel is a wonderful hotel in Old Montreal, it has a clean sleek style and wonderful staff. Coffee and tea served 24hrs a day and the best continental breakfast that included croissants, bagels, muffins and more!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, ON
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Booked based on the reviews and photos and wasn't disappointed. It is located just behind the Notre Dame Cathedral and not far from the Subway station which made the trip much easier. We stayed in the Extra Large room (2 couples). Quite expensive, but since the service is great, the facilities are beautiful and well kept and it is well located, I didn't mind paying for it. $140 extra guest fee if you need to have a 4th person in the room, kind of high. Breakfast was simple but very good. Plan to come back but will stay try the smaller room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Camila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We booked though the hotel website for a medium room. Although we arrived 3 hours before check in, the front desk informed us that our room was ready. Great! We requested a quiet room on the top floor away from the elevator. Our room had low angled ceilings which made the room feel a lot smaller than it really was but it wasn't really an issue. Front desk was friendly and helpful. Free breakfast and coffee was excellent. Good location in Old Montreal near Notre Dame and some great French restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ORD242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Quartier International
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge Bonaparte
Auberge Bonaparte
#5 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Hotel

Property: Le Petit Hotel
Address: 168 rue St-Paul Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Petit Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Saint-Paul street, this 28 room boutique hotel is the perfect blend of elegance and modernity. Colourful furnishings accent each cozy room while original stonework and clever layouts make for a Wonderland-esque setting. Our concierge moonlights as a barista and our front desk fills in for a trendy little cafe. Located right in our lobby, Le Petit Cafe brews artisan joe and offers delicious baked goods all day long. Room service is also available and comes courtesy of Mechant Boeuf. Le Petit Hotel's convenient location and intimate setting make it an ideal hub for the busy weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Petit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing