We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, comfortable, safe, great location”
Review of Le Petit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Petit Hotel
Ranked #4 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect, comfortable, safe, great location”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is the first hotel that made me feel like I came home every evening. It's a boutique hotel in a 19th-century building and I believe it goes up to 3 floors. I stayed on the second floor, which you could access via elevator or an open stairwell that welcomed you as soon as you entered the hotel. Hence, rather than ploughing through a large hotel's typical big lobby, waiting for an elevator, walking long hallways to your room, Le Petit Hotel felt like so comfortable, like home. Walk in, go right up the stairs to the second floor and there you are. Each floor had perhaps 10 rooms or so? I didn't count, but maybe less. There weren't that many.

The people who worked the front desk were lovely. Joelle oriented us using a map of Montreal and she was terrific in explaining directions and suggesting places for us to see. Chris was very cool and pleasant, and we saw him every morning as he offered us espressos and orange juice. Breakfast is included during your stay here and it was delicious! If you love French-style pastries, you will be happy. There was regular coffee ("filtered" coffee, as they say there), hot tea, pains au chocolat, croissants, different kinds of hearty sliced breads, muffins, and honey/jam. There was also yogurt and different cereals/grains.

The room was very comfortable and designed in a cool, modern way. Hardwood floors. Very, very, very comfortable bed (we slept very well!). TV lineup offered local Quebec channels, a TV5 channel, some American cable channels (CNN, ESPN), as well as local television from Vermont.

The walk to/from the metro (Place d'Armes) isn't exactly short, but it's convenient, and I could see it being a lovely, pleasant walk when the weather is nice. For us, it was 10 degrees during the afternoon, so the walk felt longer due to the cold. Old Montreal is outside of the hustle/bustle of the more downtown spots so when you come back 'home' to Place d'Armes metro, it's nice and quiet, and peaceful.

Also, the location of the hotel was convenient. There is a convenience store right across the little rue for you to grab sundries, and there are nice eateries around, although dinner spots are quite pricey. However, having lunch at Olive et Gourmando is a must. That was Joelle's suggestion and that lunch may have been one of the most delicious meals I've ever had.

I would love to stay here again. Also, prior to our stay, I had emailed with the concierge about a concern and the hotel was excellent in providing thorough information and in a timley manner.

PS -- The only minor negative thing about our stay was since the rooms are hardwood (which is awesome), we could hear the folks above us walk every step. I felt like they were really pounding the floor or were very overweight or something. But, that was really minor and doesn't change my mind about staying here in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dc20202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    798
    212
    34
    11
    5
See reviews for
124
690
45
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed at the Petit Hotel for 1 week. Beyond the very nice room and excellent location, what makes the hotel stand out is the friendly staff. I found that the hotel "conveys" the atmosphere of Montreal very well. Without hesitation a great and cosy place to stay in Montreal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michelph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The hotel was ideally located, just a block from the Notre Dame cathedral, and easy walking distance to all the art galleries & metro station. The staff was incredibly helpful and nice in suggesting places to go for lunch & dinner. Our room was great - we opted for the 'large' room, and it was more than enough space. And the breakfast buffet they offer in the morning was a great start to the day.
My only complaint was the cheese platter we ordered was a little disappointing. For $20 something dollars, you'd expect more than 4 pieces of cheese, a strawberry, and some fruit spread.
But overall, I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed for two nights in January. The weather for that weekend was extremely cold, but the hotel was very cozy and our room was great. The location in the old town was good as there was a good selection of restaurants and bars within walking distance. We also got onto the subway (5 min walk) and went to the plateau neighborhood to get a different scene.

Staff was helpful, and the continental breakfast with fresh croissants, bread, espresso, etc was a really pleasant surprise. The lobby/breakfast area also functions as a cafe, but we didn't notice many people who weren't staying in the hotel there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paultbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Excellent, friendly, cozy hotel in the heart of Old Montreal. Booked the 'Large' room size. Fresh, clean and comfortable. Would definitely return. Breakfast was perfect.
Make sure you try Stash's Cafe which is only 1 block west on St-Paul. Excellent dinner there too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1TravelR001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived on a Saturday afternoon, we were greeted by two very friendly hosts. They were both very helpful with suggestions for dining and activities. I requested a quiet room and we got a corner room in the back. The room was listed as a medium size, but was very small. The view was of a brick wall of an adjacent building, but it was quiet. The room needed a little help. The heat was temperamental and hard to adjust. The lock on the door was broken. The bathroom was trendy but not overly functional. The shower was large enough but the temperature fluctuated and the body spray shower head system was useless. The bed was comfortable and the linens were nice. It would have been nice to have some information about the hotel and the surrounding area in the room to read. Also, a map of the area would have been helpful. The breakfast was a simple and adequate continental one. We have stayed at many other hotels in Montreal. I would not rate this as my favorite.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Vtfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just a lovely place to stay - clean and friendly. Love the decor - contemporary, comfortable, and spacious. Specialty coffee every morning. I stayed for two nights on business, but would love to visit again for pleasure. Great restaurants, artists studio's and shops just steps away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charmaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#6 of 164 in Montreal
2,332 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#8 of 164 in Montreal
2,133 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 164 in Montreal
355 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 164 in Montreal
1,979 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 164 in Montreal
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Hotel

Property: Le Petit Hotel
Address: 168 rue St-Paul Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Petit Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Saint-Paul street, this 28 room boutique hotel is the perfect blend of elegance and modernity. Colourful furnishings accent each cozy room while original stonework and clever layouts make for a Wonderland-esque setting. Our concierge moonlights as a barista and our front desk fills in for a trendy little cafe. Located right in our lobby, Le Petit Cafe brews artisan joe and offers delicious baked goods all day long. Room service is also available and comes courtesy of Mechant Boeuf. Le Petit Hotel's convenient location and intimate setting make it an ideal hub for the busy weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TravelClick, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Petit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing