We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in the heart of old montreal and beautifuly restored rooms within a majestic old building.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Petit Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Le Petit Hotel to your Saves list
Le Petit Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   168 rue St-Paul Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z7, Canada (Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location in the heart of old montreal and beautifuly restored rooms within a majestic old building.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We just returned from a 3 night stay and loved it. Once we got to our beautiful large room we noticed a problem with the curtains. The staff were in our room within 5 mins and repaired the problem. We used the valet service for parking and it was worth it. Both times our vehicle was ready within 5-10 mins (not an easy task once you see the narrow coblestone streets ). When we were returning home, my wife noticed that she had fodgotten her phone charger in the room. We called and the receptionist informed us that an e-mail had already been sent and that they would mail it to us....we highly recommend this hotel. Great food close and great shopping within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcus-st12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    186
    33
    11
    4
See reviews for
105
585
41
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Our stay was terrific. The room was very well appointed for its size, and the location is great for tourism as well as access to the rest of downtown. Must point out the efforts of the staff who went above and beyond expectations. A bottle of aftershave was accidentally broken by the cleaning staff; not only did they apologize profusely, but the very next day they gave us a gift basket with a replacement bottle! Breakfast was also excellent, fresh pastries, coffee and juices.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MA_n_PF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The service provided by the tremendous staff made up for some very minor glitches with the room. We stayed in 307 with a lovely view of the street. There was a bit of street noise (which probably increases during the warmer months), but the bed was so delicious I almost didn't mind waking up as it gave me more opportunity to savour the luxury. The breakfast with cafe lattes was perfect after late dinners every evening. And the crowning touch -- The professional model hair dryer -- It rocked!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petit-Hotel-Mtl, General Manager at Le Petit Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Lisa M,

Thank for you sharing your great feedback on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed our team’s service, as well as some nice features of our rooms like the bed and the hairdryer. As you mentioned, room 307 provides a great view of Saint-Paul Street ! While not having the same view, rooms at the back of the building tend to be quieter and can be requested upon reservation. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Joëlle Beaulieu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Let me preface by saying the staff is absolutely superlative. They are all extraordinarily helpful and solicitous. The hotel, however, doesn't live up to its appearance. We had a large room, which was lovely, but the overall impression was hampered by the little things they did in order to save money. The lighting is poor, despite the special LED reading light at the bed. Even with all lights on, the room remained too dark to be comfortable for reading. The seating, although attractive, was not ergonomic, and therefore, uncomfortable. The bottom sheet didn't stay on the bed, making the bed appear messy.The bathroom, however, was the place where they neglected to make it exceptional, despite its wonderful appearance. There was no place to store cosmetics and creams, no place to hang robe or pajamas. And the shower didn't work as it should. Yes, the shower had all sorts of accroutements to make it special; however, it just didn't work that well. If one wanted to wash shampoo out of hair, the pressure wasn't enough to ensure the soap would be removed. Lining the base of the shower door with wood laminate may save money, but it results in the laminate losing its lustre from the water residue and appearing unattractive. I would say the owners wanted to create a unique boutique hotel, yet in striving to achieve that goal, they neglected the important details that make a hotel extraordinary.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RetiredMAteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petit-Hotel-Mtl, General Manager at Le Petit Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear RetiredMAteacher,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am truly sorry that you did not have an extraordinary experience with us as this is what we strive for everyday. Nevertheless I really appreciate your feedback and I am glad that you benefited from great interaction with the team. You can be assured that your comments will be addressed with ownership in our next meeting as we are always trying to improve the quality of our product. We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you again on a future visit to Montreal.

Best regard,

Joëlle Beaulieu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Very chic, very modern, but also very comfortable. The rooms are well appointed and cozy, and while our room did not have any view to speak of, the location obviates the need for one. Everything you could want--find dining, horse-drawn carriages, museums, galleries, the riverside, churches and more--are within easy walking distance.

The staff is unfailingly friendly, full of advice as well, should you need it. We were given a map and a restaurant recommendation as soon as we arrived, and both proved invaluable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petit-Hotel-Mtl, General Manager at Le Petit Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear R071,

Thank you for sharing this great review with fellow travelers. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel’s tremendous location in order to appreciate the many assets of Old Montreal. Orienting guests around the neighborhood and providing restaurant recommendations in always a pleasure.

Warm regards,

Joëlle Beaulieu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Very pleasant setting in old Montreal, staff are nice and accommodating, We were upgraded to a larger room with lot of space and very comfortable.
Only negative was the noisy environment, even on a quiet Thurdays night, we could still hear some street noise at 1:00am

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eloi_Duguay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petit-Hotel-Mtl, General Manager at Le Petit Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear, Eloi_Dugay,
Let us thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. I am really sorry you experienced noise but I am glad that you still enjoyed the comfort of the room and the location. We love to welcome you again in the near future. Do not hesitate to contact me directly so we can look into assigning a room at the back of the hotel and away from Saint-Paul Street.

Best regards,

Joëlle Beaulieu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had a wonderful 4-night stay in a medium room (bless their hearts for using actual sizes in the room names!). Our room was spotlessly clean and cleverly designed -- a ton of closet and storage space, hardwood floors and lots of character. Excellent location in Old Montreal, tucked behind Notre Dame and a short walk to the Metro and the Rue St. Laurent bus. The included breakfast was mainly croissants and breads, but given the food prices in Montreal anything gratis is more than welcome. The staff was really the best part of the stay, from the time we checked in until the time we left. Every evening we chatted with the desk staff on our way out to dinner, and they gave us loads of opinions on and recommendations for restaurants -- and then wanted to hear all about our meals when we got back. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malamys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petit-Hotel-Mtl, General Manager at Le Petit Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Malamys,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are really happy that you had a wonderful 4-night stay at Le Petit Hotel. It is always a pleasure to take the time to chat and interact with our guests. We look forward to welcoming again on your next visit to Montreal.

Cheers !

Joëlle Beaulieu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,087 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#7 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,397 reviews
Quartier International
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#12 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,653 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,775 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge Bonaparte
Auberge Bonaparte
#3 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Hotel

Property: Le Petit Hotel
Address: 168 rue St-Paul Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Petit Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Saint-Paul street, this 28 room boutique hotel is the perfect blend of elegance and modernity. Colourful furnishings accent each cozy room while original stonework and clever layouts make for a Wonderland-esque setting. Our concierge moonlights as a barista and our front desk fills in for a trendy little cafe. Located right in our lobby, Le Petit Cafe brews artisan joe and offers delicious baked goods all day long. Room service is also available and comes courtesy of Mechant Boeuf. Le Petit Hotel's convenient location and intimate setting make it an ideal hub for the busy weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TravelClick, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Petit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing