We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous and memorable stay”
Review of Le Petit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Petit Hotel
Ranked #3 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Marvelous and exciting accommodations in one of the best parts of town for the tourist guest. Great beds too.
Most striking to me though was that the staff besides being friendly and professional manifested a certain genuine sincerity and caring for us that is uncommon. Enjoyed it a lot, look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jhagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petit-Hotel-Mtl, General Manager at Le Petit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear jhagar,

Thank you for sharing your experience with fellow travelers. I am really glad you enjoyed Le Petit Hotel. Sincerity and care for our guest are values shared by all our team and are at the core of our approach. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Joëlle Beaulieu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,079)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

733 - 739 of 1,080 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed for two nights to celebrate our 19th wedding anniversary and couldn't be happier with our choice. The location is perfect and the rooms are comfortable and clean. We chose a medium sized room and it was nice for two people. The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The shower, though difficult to figure out at first, was amazing. We found ourselves showering after sightseeing/before dinner just because it was so nice. The staff couldn't be more welcoming. They even left a little note with two cupcakes to wish us a Happy Anniversary upon our arrival. Would never stay anywhere else in Montreal and you shouldn't either!!!.

Room Tip: Room 302 is at the end of the hall was far from the elevator in the back of the hotel so it was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trailgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petit-Hotel-Mtl, General Manager at Le Petit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Trailgator,

Thank you for posting a review and recommending the hotel. It is always a privilege to be part of special moments in our guests’ lives. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, from the comfort of the beds to the shower experience. It will be our pleasure to welcome you again upon your next visit.

Warm regards,

Joëlle Beaulieu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Le Petit Hotel is a nice, clean, well-kept hotel in a great location. It's a little pricey but not bad considering the convenience of the location - right in the heart of the most interesting neighborhood in the city. The continental breakfast was good and the coffee was excellent.

The staff are all friendly, courteous and eager to help with any questions you might have. One staff member spent about 20 minutes going over various restaurant possibilities with me.

Our room was light, airy and quiet. The size of the room was generous for a city.

This is a great choice for Montreal. I would certainly stay there again

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mainelover99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petit-Hotel-Mtl, General Manager at Le Petit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear mainelover99,

Thank you so much for your review. I was really happy to read your great comments about your stay at the hotel. Spending 20 minutes discussing restaurants is just what we LOVE to do. We certainly hope to see you again on a future visit as we have plenty more restaurants to recommend.

Kind regards,

Joëlle Beaulieu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Location is perfect & staff is very helpful; especially Laurent... room was very airy and VERY clean... bed was so comfortable.especially after a day of exploring Montreal... One needs to remember this is a small ( 16 room ) boutique hotel, great breakfast area with coffee, pastries & cereal; special coffees are offered each morning BUT if you are the Ritz Carlton crowd it may not be for you & that would be your loss... This hotel is #1 in Tripadvisor for a reason; gets my vote !!!

Room Tip: Loft room 401 in back was awesome & quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lovetoeat5935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petit-Hotel-Mtl, General Manager at Le Petit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear lovetoeat5935,

We would like to thank you for your review. We’re happy to get your vote! We’re glad you enjoyed the comfort of our beds after all the exploration. We look forward to having you as our guest again very soon.

Cheers!

Joëlle Beaulieu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Le Petit has a great location in the heart of Vieux Port. We loved our contemporary styled loft suite, althought the bathroom is a bit too small. The staff is very friendly, but don't expect a 5-star level of service. The breakfast was simple, but fine for us...pastries, yogurt, and coffee is all I need. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would be happy to return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eastcoastvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This charming hotel is within walking distance to many wonderful restaurants and cafes, cute shops and art galleries, as well as the pier and a metro station. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Some of our favorite restaurants were Holder - delicious food (amazing braised beef) and very reasonable, Cafe Europea - a bit more expensive but a memorable experience with the staff treating us like royalty and bringing many surprises in addition to what we ordered. You cannot leave Montreal without trying the local specialties such as a "Beaver Tail" basically flat fried dough with toppings including nutella and bananas or maple cream. Also, make sure to stop by La Banquise at 994 Rachel Street for Poutine, a huge plate of french fries smothered in many creative sauces and combinations with chicken, meat or sausage and grilled vegetables. We also greatly enjoyed our visit to the Biodome and Botanical Gardens - especially the Japanese Tea Garden tour.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dsmdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petit-Hotel-Mtl, General Manager at Le Petit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear dsmdk,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It sounds like you had a wonderful time visiting and eating your way around Montreal. We are really happy we were the perfect place to stay in Old Montreal. We look forward to welcoming you again as Montreal’s dining scene has so much to offer.

Warm regards

Joëlle Beaulieu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This was the first hotel we stayed at during our trip to Montreal and it was the best during our stay. The location in Old Montreal was just right and quiet at night. The rooms were perfect and the A/C worked great. The staff was friendly and helpful. The wifi worked well. The fruit and croissants for breakfast were delicious, with great coffee. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanna106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#8 of 165 in Montreal
2,421 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,200 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#5 of 165 in Montreal
412 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,034 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Hotel

Address: 168 rue St-Paul Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: $131 - $476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Petit Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Saint-Paul street, this 28 room boutique hotel is the perfect blend of elegance and modernity. Colourful furnishings accent each cozy room while original stonework and clever layouts make for a Wonderland-esque setting. Our concierge moonlights as a barista and our front desk fills in for a trendy little cafe. Located right in our lobby, Le Petit Cafe brews artisan joe and offers delicious baked goods all day long. Room service is also available and comes courtesy of Mechant Boeuf. Le Petit Hotel's convenient location and intimate setting make it an ideal hub for the busy weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Petit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing