We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't say enough good things..”
Review of Le Petit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Petit Hotel
Ranked #5 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Can't say enough good things..”
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We recently stayed at this hotel while we were visiting Montreal. The location is wonderful, in the old part of Montreal and within walking distance of several restaurants and shops. We had an extra-large room, initially because we thought a friend was staying with us but he ended up going to a different hotel. I think he was sorry he did! We had a king sized bed, a futon that folded out to a bed, a small dining table with chairs, and a large wardrobe for our belongings. Our room looked out onto rue St-Paul, and we could open our windows and sit on the windowsill and watch the people go by. The weather was so nice we even slept with our windows open most of the time. We didn't have any problems with noise, but we were there from Sunday to Wednesday, maybe not peak partying hours/days. The continental breakfast was great, your choice of an espresso drink and croissants, pain de chocolat, fruit, other breads, jam, yogurt, etc. The front-desk staff could not have been more helpful -- they gave us a large and detailed map of Montreal and pointed out areas we might want to visit. They gave us a couple of recommendations for dinner that were spot on. When we come back to Montreal, I want to stay here again!

Room Tip: We faced rue St-Paul, which might be noisier on weekends. Good people-watching, though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billanlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petit-Hotel-Mtl, General Manager at Le Petit Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2011
Dear billanlo,

We would like to thank you for posting this detailed review of your stay at our Petit Hôtel. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed the comfort of one of our Extra Large rooms and appreciated the help provided by our team. We look forward to welcome you at Le Petit Hotel when you come back to our beautiful city of Montreal.

Warm regards,

Joëlle Beaulieu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    791
    212
    34
    11
    5
See reviews for
123
685
44
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ingolstadt
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

A beautiful small hotel with modern design. Very clean rooms and perfect location right in the centre of Old Town. Our first room on the 4th floor was quite spacious, but the AC in this room was terribly loud. When we complained about that, we were given a new room immediately - as it seemed, we were not the first guests realizing that air con problem... Our new room was smaller, but at least with a quiet AC.
Staff ist very helpful and polite, breakfast is ok.
For the size of the (second) room, though, the price was expensive.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBlaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petit-Hotel-Mtl, General Manager at Le Petit Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2011
Dear MBlaha,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with fellow travelers. Even though it seems that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, we are extremely sorry that you experienced issues with the air conditioning in your room on the 4th floor. Our guests’ comfort is a top priority of ours which explains why you were given a new room immediately. Unfortunately, it is possible for rooms of the same room type to vary a little bit in size from one to the other. I invite you to contact me personally should you like to discuss it further or make another reservation for a future visit as it would be our pleasure to welcome you again at the hotel.

Kind regards,

Joëlle Beaulieu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Le Petit is not a budget hotel, but fairly priced given it's location and class. We paid around $200 (US) for a beautiful, quiet, 2x room. We've had friends stay at pricier Montreal digs who were underwhelmed with their experience. LPH has awesome and helpful staff, & the rooms have the best bedding ever! They're located right in the heart of Old Montreal, but not too close to all the tourist crap down Rue St-Paul.
Nice Breafast included!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crunchers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This hotel is great for family and couples. The staff were superb, catering to our needs and very helpful. The rooms are slick and contemporary! And the breakfast was delicious! I would definitely recommend this and can't wait till our next stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alifrieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is a very comfortable hotel with friendly staff and a delicious continental breakfast. It is also extremely well situated for Montreal's old town.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Situated on the main walking street in Old Montreal. Staff very friendly and helpful.Continental breakfast nice. Coffee bar always available. Comfy bed.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bon1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed there on the recommendation of family members who stayed there in October 2010. Nothing but great things to say about the hotel. I never thought I'd enjoy a small hotel (it's only 24 rooms) but this hotel surpassed our expectations. The front desk personnel were very knowledgable; the rooms were immaculate and original; the location was superb. So close to the View Port of Montreal as well as downtown part. We could walk around and then rest and then go back out again; felt very safe there. I'd stay there again anytime!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MHardy3023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 164 in Montreal
334 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 164 in Montreal
2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
1,333 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 164 in Montreal
1,960 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 164 in Montreal
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Hotel

Property: Le Petit Hotel
Address: 168 rue St-Paul Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Petit Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Saint-Paul street, this 28 room boutique hotel is the perfect blend of elegance and modernity. Colourful furnishings accent each cozy room while original stonework and clever layouts make for a Wonderland-esque setting. Our concierge moonlights as a barista and our front desk fills in for a trendy little cafe. Located right in our lobby, Le Petit Cafe brews artisan joe and offers delicious baked goods all day long. Room service is also available and comes courtesy of Mechant Boeuf. Le Petit Hotel's convenient location and intimate setting make it an ideal hub for the busy weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Petit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing