We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Great room!”
Review of Le Petit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Petit Hotel
Ranked #3 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Le Petit is not a budget hotel, but fairly priced given it's location and class. We paid around $200 (US) for a beautiful, quiet, 2x room. We've had friends stay at pricier Montreal digs who were underwhelmed with their experience. LPH has awesome and helpful staff, & the rooms have the best bedding ever! They're located right in the heart of Old Montreal, but not too close to all the tourist crap down Rue St-Paul.
Nice Breafast included!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crunchers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

872 - 878 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

This hotel is great for family and couples. The staff were superb, catering to our needs and very helpful. The rooms are slick and contemporary! And the breakfast was delicious! I would definitely recommend this and can't wait till our next stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alifrieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is a very comfortable hotel with friendly staff and a delicious continental breakfast. It is also extremely well situated for Montreal's old town.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Situated on the main walking street in Old Montreal. Staff very friendly and helpful.Continental breakfast nice. Coffee bar always available. Comfy bed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bon1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed there on the recommendation of family members who stayed there in October 2010. Nothing but great things to say about the hotel. I never thought I'd enjoy a small hotel (it's only 24 rooms) but this hotel surpassed our expectations. The front desk personnel were very knowledgable; the rooms were immaculate and original; the location was superb. So close to the View Port of Montreal as well as downtown part. We could walk around and then rest and then go back out again; felt very safe there. I'd stay there again anytime!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MHardy3023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We decided to take a 2 night interlude in Montreal during a trip to Vermont. It was our first overnight trip to Montreal in many years, and based upon the recommendation of a family member, we chose Le Petit Hôtel.
As we checked in, we realized the location was perfect, in the heart of Old Montreal. But that was just the beginning. During our brief stay, multiple staff members provided us with insights and recommendations regarding dining, shopping and touring. They all truly know and love Montreal, and they took time to ensure that we found what was of interest to us.
We stayed in a "medium" room, which was adequate in size, and the modern decor was very inviting. It made a very nice contrast with the old style architecture of the building. The shower was superb, with side panels containing four adjustable jets to complement the large overhead fixture.
Finally, breakfast was amazing. The pastries, particularly the croissants, were fresh and plentiful, along with cereals, yogurt, and fruit. And lattes and cappuccinos were served in addition to the coffee and tea.
We tend to prefer boutique hotels over the large chains, but this truly sets a standard that is not easily matched elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petit-Hotel-Mtl, General Manager at Le Petit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2011

Dear Dan08054

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share this detailed review on TripAdvisor. We are certainly glad that a family member of yours recommended us and we were delighted to read your review. We are all very passionate about our beautiful city and we are privileged to share what we know about it with our guests. To learn that we set a new personal standard in terms of boutique hotels for you is very flattering. We will make sure the message is read by all the team. We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Joëlle Beaulieu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We went to Montreal for a day bike ride and stayed at Le Petit Hotel on the recommendation of a friend of ours. We were immensely impressed by the staff, who eagerly helped us with our bikes and gear and took care of our car. The room was nicely outfitted and the king bed was perfect. You can walk to fifty restaurants in five minutes (We visited Bocata while on this stay) and all of the old town and port are right outside your door. The lobby cafe serves excellent espresso-based drinks and the included breakfast had some of the nicest bread we have ever eaten. We will return to stay here as it really couldn't be topped. Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike28a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petit-Hotel-Mtl, General Manager at Le Petit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2011

Dear Mike28a,

We would to thank you for taking the time to write this great review about Le Petit Hôtel. We are glad that your friend recommended us and it seems you were able to enjoy some of the great features of our hotel. Biking is becoming an increasingly important part of our urban culture, so it is only natural to provide the help needed! We look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind regards,

Joëlle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,391 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,478 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,064 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 165 in Montreal
1,526 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Hotel

Address: 168 rue St-Paul Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z7, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: $143 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Petit Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Saint-Paul street, this 28 room boutique hotel is the perfect blend of elegance and modernity. Colourful furnishings accent each cozy room while original stonework and clever layouts make for a Wonderland-esque setting. Our concierge moonlights as a barista and our front desk fills in for a trendy little cafe. Located right in our lobby, Le Petit Cafe brews artisan joe and offers delicious baked goods all day long. Room service is also available and comes courtesy of Mechant Boeuf. Le Petit Hotel's convenient location and intimate setting make it an ideal hub for the busy weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Le Petit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing