We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, average food but a bit overpriced”
Review of Devi

Devi
Reserve with OpenTable
Devi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #196 of 6,485 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $19
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Cross street: St Catherine
Transit: Metro Guy-Concordia
Description: Dévi est un restaurant indien au coeur de Montréal. Le propriétaire et le personnel sont des Indiens, les chefs ne sont pas en provenance d’autres restaurants, de la ville, mais des personnes embauchées directement de Delhi, où ils ont occupé des postes prestigieux dans des grands hôtels et restaurants là-bas. __________________________________ Dévi is a genuine Indian restaurant in the heart of Montreal. Owned and staffed by Indians, the chefs are not merely local hires from other restaurants, but are flown in directly from Delhi, from prestigious jobs in hotels and restaurants there.
Reviewed November 6, 2018

The atmosphere is nice and the deco does not overwhelm you like in other ethnical restaurants. For some reason though they put a bottle of wine on each table expecting people to drink it; meaning real pairing with food is not really an exercise they go through (mind you wine and Indian spicy food is not something easy to pair, but that is a different story). The food is correct but the prices are on the high side for an Indian restaurant. They will adjust the spiciness for you but they err on the mild side.
Service is very good and the waitress was very helpful

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Juan Manuel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 340 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2018

Good food. We got the Chicken Tikka Marsala and the Butter chicken - mild. The mild head enough heat that it left a slight burn after, but if you like spicy I would suggest getting your meal hot. Everything was very delicious and the building itself was very unique. I went while I was on a business trip and we all wanted to eat there again the next day, however we couldn't get a set soon enough because we were all starving. Would reccomend

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank skroberts10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2018 via mobile

This restaurant was right beside the warehouse a lined up inexpensive choice where all food is a pix fix @5:95. The place is dated and needs work to the infrastructure bathrooms were not very nice. The food however was good served hot over small burners. Waiter was very accommodating.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank 683bruceg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeviResto, Manager at Devi, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2018

Thank you very much for your Review Bruce! We take your comments seriously and we we will definitely work on improving in the areas mentioned! We hope to see you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2018

Worst service. They have no regard for regular customers. Will never order from there again. The owner does not know how to talk to people. He thinks he is doing a favor by feeding us. The rates are high also.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ravi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeviResto, Manager at Devi, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2018

We apologize for the negative experience that you had at devi during your last visit. We take customer service extremely seriously and are sad to hear that your time spent at Devi does not reflect this. Please let us know the time and day this occurred as we would like to take a deeper look into this issue. We are thankful for every one of our clients. Hope to get a 2nd chance! Sorry again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2018

Devi Restaurants was good and in the city. Quality of food not so much good but so so. Parking space not in the Restaurant. Space also not sufficient in the restaurant. Behavior of Staff also not so good. service also less.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank djs482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devi also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
 
Montreal, Quebec
 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Devi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing