We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like "Hostel"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Stay Mont Royal
Ranked #111 of 143 Montreal B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I would not call this place a Hotel at all. I only ended up staying one night instead of my planned 1 week stay through Expedia. The room was dark, old and smelled like an attic. Yes the location was right in the heart of the downtown, but it was very noisy and felt like the window was wide open the whole night. The bathroom/shower are not in the rooms but instead shared down the hall. I went to hang up a shirt in the "closet" and the hanger/shelf broke. The price was fairly inexpensive, but when asked if I could be refunded for the remainder of the week, the manager refused saying my stay was non-refundable. I left the key and didn't come back. I would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 59 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed here for 5 days in Dec 2012. The hotel is in a great location, literally right next to a metro station. The neighborhood is full of shops, coffee shops, restaurants, and a few grocery stores. The hotel itself is pretty nice: bathrooms are clean, rooms are a decent size--the in room fridge & the robes are nice touches. The breakfast is decent:cereal & milk, croissants, banana bread, fruit, tea/coffee/hot chocolate.

WARNING: If you book a "2 single bed" room, it may have bunk beds! We did that for the first 2 nights & ended up with rickety, squeaky bunk beds :( See pic!
Luckily we switched to a room with a double bed after 2 nights and it was very nice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwyneth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Came up for an extended weekend back in March 2012, and found this hotel for a fairly good price. Located right next to the Mont-Royal metro stop, its really convenient to Downtown. Hotel is actually converted brownstone, managed by a Peruvian husband and wife. I am trilingual (Eng/Fr/Spa), so I never had an issue with front desk (both are proficient in all 3). You have to be buzzed up to the second floor, as the reception is on the second floor. Room was clean, simple (although the seat for the computer desk was broken on arrival, quickly recplaced) and had a great view of Mont-Royal Ave. Hotel offers small buffet-style breakfast, but if it doesn't suit your fancy, you have a coffee shop on first floor (Cafe Noir as of my last visit), as well as a plethora of eating options within a 3 block radius of the hotel (Crepes, poutine, maple syrup stand at Metro station).

Suggestion to you: Stay here if you plan on spending most of your time out and about Montreal, or if you are a college student looking for a cheap place to stay (like me). Staff is nice, room is bare-bones but adequate. Luxury-seekers: its not for you. I would stay again.

Room Tip: I had room 4. Was a tad small. Pay the 10 extra bucks for a much larger room (and larger bed)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mr207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

We had a very late check in and the staff were very accommodating. They also added a cot for our son. Affordable and an excellent location by the metro station in a fun area of Montreal. The room was quaint and I liked having AC and a small fridge to keep water cool. Those looking for a high class experience would be disappointed but for a budget hotel I thought it fit the bill.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DianaJ340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I booked this hotel for cheap price deal a day earlier. I was visiting Montreal. I went to hotel used bathroom while they were looking for reservation. Hotel was dirty. they found out I made mistake and booked hotel for Sept instead of July (default month was sept while I was trying to book the hotel). I went out and tried to get it fixed through booking.com. owner didn't want to change it for the nite since it was nonrefundable. I told them I was gonna pay extra to fix it for the night. owner replied that I could book another room for the night but he was not going to change the reservation or give any credit. I went to hotel to explain what happened they didn't open door for me to get in. Please do not stay in this hotel get better hotel for few extra dollar.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suman_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The hotel was very nice, but what really made the trip were the staff! The concierge staff and bellhop staff were second to none! So friendly and they went out of their way to help us. It was centrally located and within 2 blocks of the subway station for easy access to most anything. I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SavvyTravelerIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

Room smelt like mildew. No bath tub or pool. Too many stairs not a good place if your pregnant. Walls to thin you can hear all the disturbing noises of the rooms next to you. Nasty stains everywhere. Service, location and food are good.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Petmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Quartier International
Hotel Le Dauphin Montreal Centre-Ville
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,119 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stay Mont Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stay Mont Royal

Address: 438 avenue du Mont Royal Est, Montreal, Quebec H2J 1W1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Stay Mont Royal 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Stay Mont-Royal is a classic European hotel excellently located in the heart of Plateau Mont-Royal and next to Mont-Royal metro station, our establishment is surrounded by fine shops and restaurants and is a real treasure for tourists and visitors to Montreal. The Hotel Stay Mont-Royal is an environmentally friendly and smoke free property near to downtown Montreal, within 1.5 km (1 mi) of Old Montreal, Basilique Notre-Dame, Biosphere, Casino, Centre Bell, Centre Canadien d'architecture, Centre histoire Montreal, Chateau Ramezay, Jardin Botanique and Insectarium, Marche Bonsecours, Musee Marguerite Bourgeoys, Musee McCord, Musee d'art contemporain, Musee des beaux-arts, Parc olympique, Planetarium, Musee Pointe-a-Calliere, and le Centre des sciences de Montreal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Stay Mont Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing