We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Stay Mont Royal
Ranked #112 of 144 Montreal B&B and Inns
Redlands,
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed here for 5 days in Dec 2012. The hotel is in a great location, literally right next to a metro station. The neighborhood is full of shops, coffee shops, restaurants, and a few grocery stores. The hotel itself is pretty nice: bathrooms are clean, rooms are a decent size--the in room fridge & the robes are nice touches. The breakfast is decent:cereal & milk, croissants, banana bread, fruit, tea/coffee/hot chocolate.

WARNING: If you book a "2 single bed" room, it may have bunk beds! We did that for the first 2 nights & ended up with rickety, squeaky bunk beds :( See pic!
Luckily we switched to a room with a double bed after 2 nights and it was very nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwyneth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    20
    13
    3
    18
See reviews for
5
28
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Came up for an extended weekend back in March 2012, and found this hotel for a fairly good price. Located right next to the Mont-Royal metro stop, its really convenient to Downtown. Hotel is actually converted brownstone, managed by a Peruvian husband and wife. I am trilingual (Eng/Fr/Spa), so I never had an issue with front desk (both are proficient in all 3). You have to be buzzed up to the second floor, as the reception is on the second floor. Room was clean, simple (although the seat for the computer desk was broken on arrival, quickly recplaced) and had a great view of Mont-Royal Ave. Hotel offers small buffet-style breakfast, but if it doesn't suit your fancy, you have a coffee shop on first floor (Cafe Noir as of my last visit), as well as a plethora of eating options within a 3 block radius of the hotel (Crepes, poutine, maple syrup stand at Metro station).

Suggestion to you: Stay here if you plan on spending most of your time out and about Montreal, or if you are a college student looking for a cheap place to stay (like me). Staff is nice, room is bare-bones but adequate. Luxury-seekers: its not for you. I would stay again.

Room Tip: I had room 4. Was a tad small. Pay the 10 extra bucks for a much larger room (and larger bed)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mr207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

We had a very late check in and the staff were very accommodating. They also added a cot for our son. Affordable and an excellent location by the metro station in a fun area of Montreal. The room was quaint and I liked having AC and a small fridge to keep water cool. Those looking for a high class experience would be disappointed but for a budget hotel I thought it fit the bill.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DianaJ340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

I booked this hotel for cheap price deal a day earlier. I was visiting Montreal. I went to hotel used bathroom while they were looking for reservation. Hotel was dirty. they found out I made mistake and booked hotel for Sept instead of July (default month was sept while I was trying to book the hotel). I went out and tried to get it fixed through booking.com. owner didn't want to change it for the nite since it was nonrefundable. I told them I was gonna pay extra to fix it for the night. owner replied that I could book another room for the night but he was not going to change the reservation or give any credit. I went to hotel to explain what happened they didn't open door for me to get in. Please do not stay in this hotel get better hotel for few extra dollar.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suman_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Indiana
Level Contributor
62 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

The hotel was very nice, but what really made the trip were the staff! The concierge staff and bellhop staff were second to none! So friendly and they went out of their way to help us. It was centrally located and within 2 blocks of the subway station for easy access to most anything. I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SavvyTravelerIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

Room smelt like mildew. No bath tub or pool. Too many stairs not a good place if your pregnant. Walls to thin you can hear all the disturbing noises of the rooms next to you. Nasty stains everywhere. Service, location and food are good.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Petmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

I'm not very experienced in reviewing B&B because I've only stayed in a few in my life and I choose them because of the price. We booked the hotel via Priceline.

Room:
Our room (no. 2) was simple and cozy and had everything we needed to stay for one night: a bed. We actually had a nice view of the street as well. I personally enjoyed how they turned an old building into a hotel; high ceilings, tall windows and oddly shaped rooms make the hotel very unique. Of course the room had a fridge, a sink, a desk and a small tv. The hotel had shared toilets and showers (which I never had a chance to check out).

Service:
I've read reviews on here that said the staff cannot speak English. That was not the case for us. They could speak English, but sometimes the reception is very slow. I think it's 1 person working and they are under staffed. Checking in and out was a bit odd as well. People needed to check out by 11:30pm, but they do not do check in until 4pm. In regards to check out, you just leave your keys on the desk. There are no formalities to fill out.

Location:
We drove to Montreal, and with the help of a GPS, the hotel was very easy to find. It's located in a busy area so parking is difficult to find. Another plus, is that the hotel is conveniently located next to a Metro station: MontRoyal. Local buses can be found near by as well. However, you might have done some research via Priceline or expedia, which indicates that there is free parking. IT IS NOT FREE PARKING! The hotel's suggested parking is 2 blocks down and costs $8 CAD a night. The parking attendant is not there between 9pm and 9am, so you could possibly get away with not paying.

Breakfast:
Breakfast was simple. Between 8:30 to 10:30, breakfast items were put out in the lounge/dinning area near the reception and it was basically help yourself. Items like: croissants (from costco), muffins, fruits, yoghurt, and coffee were available.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fongie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Anne Ma Soeur Anne
Anne Ma Soeur Anne
#87 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Elegant
Hotel Elegant
#114 of 163 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Auberge Manoir Ville-Marie
Auberge Manoir Ville-Marie
#48 of 144 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Gite Urbain La Lanterne
Gite Urbain La Lanterne
#25 of 144 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Pensione Popolo
Pensione Popolo
#100 of 144 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Shezelles
Shezelles
#29 of 144 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stay Mont Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stay Mont Royal

Property: Hotel Stay Mont Royal
Address: 438 avenue du Mont Royal Est, Montreal, Quebec H2J 1W1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Stay Mont Royal 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Stay Mont-Royal is a classic European hotel excellently located in the heart of Plateau Mont-Royal and next to Mont-Royal metro station, our establishment is surrounded by fine shops and restaurants and is a real treasure for tourists and visitors to Montreal. The Hotel Stay Mont-Royal is an environmentally friendly and smoke free property near to downtown Montreal, within 1.5 km (1 mi) of Old Montreal, Basilique Notre-Dame, Biosphere, Casino, Centre Bell, Centre Canadien d'architecture, Centre histoire Montreal, Chateau Ramezay, Jardin Botanique and Insectarium, Marche Bonsecours, Musee Marguerite Bourgeoys, Musee McCord, Musee d'art contemporain, Musee des beaux-arts, Parc olympique, Planetarium, Musee Pointe-a-Calliere, and le Centre des sciences de Montreal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Stay Mont Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing