We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing restaurant”

Firegrill Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #147 of 5,710 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $28
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Canadian, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Cross street: de Maisonneuve
Transit: PEEL METRO (exit Stanley street)
Description: Quality is the sum of hundreds of details. Some are small, many are subtle, but none are unimportant. The bottom line is pleasing the customer. The open kitchen is where the magic happens every time you come for lunch or supper. Using the freshest and finest ingredients, our cuisine is based on tastes that are ever evolving and reflect the influence of a variety of cultures not to mention the flavors of our city. Patrons can enjoy perfectly aged steak grilled to perfection, succulent ribs basked in mesquite B.B.Q. sauce, or try our daily fresh fish, followed by any of our irresistible desserts.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“amazing restaurant”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Excellent, knowledgeable service, the meal was beyond expectations. I would return here just to have their mashed potatoes!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank mntlconcertgoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    132
    54
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Ribbs mmmmm!”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Firegrill downtown or in Ville Saint-Laurent are both just as good. We usually go in VSL because it's closer and easy to find parking. Decor is nice. Comfy booths, or tanles, fireplace, lighting a bit dimmed, oak panneling,..... But it's the food that brings us there. My preference is the baby back ribbs + chicken tenders, with a side all dressed baked potatoe. Mmmmm! Guaranteed to walk out with a full tummy. Ribbs are a close #2 behind Baton Rouge. Meat is juicy, tasty, and falls off the bone. Sauce is great. Chicken tenders are in a batter and not breaded. Yum! All dressed baked potatoe comes with sour cream, cheese, and bacon bits - just the way it should be! I have been there dozens of times, and have had dessert maybe once. Too full for dessert. Not cheap, but ribbs are never cheap anywhere. For what you get, price is average. Ribbs anywhere will cost approx $26.
Ribbs in Montreal:
1)Baton Rouge
2)Firegrill
3)Mirada
4)Bofinger (have pork not beef ribbs)
5)Bar B Barn (only beef ribbs. It's a distant #5)
Steak is good there, but not amongst the top steakhouses in Montreal like Queue de Cheval, 40 Westt, Moishe's, Gibby's

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Firegrill is a restaurant where you can have a great meal and a great atmosphere. This restaurant is located in Downtown Montreal! So after having a nice walk in Montreal's shopping stores and mall you deserve a nice meal and trust me this is the place. Their meal are delicious and well done just for *you*. Their price range is medium ($$).
The downside is their customer service...it is not at all professional and they always look at you to bring you the bill....so in other way you enjoy your meal but the waitress looks at you from time to time and you can tell!
Overall, I still can recommend you this restaurant...the only thing is that if the waitress is not letting you enjoying your meal please let her know...don't be shy! After all, you are the customer therefore it is your time,your meal !!
Trick: Most of the time, their soups and their steaks are delicious!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great piece of meat”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Firegrill It s a great restaurant with good atmosphere.

I took for the Entree the Portobello with Goat cheese, peppers and balsamic was absolutely delicious ( a little pricey...13.50$ )

I took a Filet mignon with cheese, with a big Potato with cheese, the cooking was perfect the meat was great. Good plate.

The service was excellent. You can park the car inside the Parking just in front of the restaurant it:s free when you get the stamp from Firegrill... Its great to not have the trouble of looking for the parking downtown Montreal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fredos34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Yam”
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

I always go there every 2 month for the babyback ribs with friend family low price 24 $ for a generous plate its so good the best i ever try but i will not recommand you other food because its not that good and the price high the service was good but depend i figure it out that they judge you by the way you dress because once i came by my self i dress normaly regular black pants and white t shirt then they was rude with me they look at me up and down i did like that at all but atless i saw the regular guy that serve me well just because they have verygood babyback ribs

Helpful?
Thank Ssaarriinnaa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Firegrill Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Firegrill Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing