We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hostel in Montreal”
Review of Auberge L'Apero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Auberge L'Apero
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best hostel in Montreal”
Reviewed June 6, 2010

This is a rare find in Canada - a well-priced, quiet, clean, comfortable & European-esque hostel! One where they haven't crammed 10 beds into a cupboard, there are WINDOWS, the floors/rooms are cleaned daily, the kitchen works for everyone, and you're not surrounded by clubs, drunks and noise.

Their are 18 beds split into 3 bright, clean and airy rooms. The bunks are big and sturdy. They don't creak everytime you move. The whole building is air conditioned, but there are windows and skylights all around for natural light and fresh air. Everyone gets a free key-operated locker big enough for a backpack, and free clean linen and towels. And all the beds have actual duvets rather than blankets.

The living areas are modestly sized but comfortable. There is a well-equipped, ORGANISED kitchen which is cleaned daily. Breakfast is free and decent - everyone gets choice of cereal with choice of milk, toast and condiments, plus free tea and instant coffee all day. There was also a generous selection of free food left by other guests.

The only slight downer here is the lack of washrooms - only 2 between everyone. Though everyone seemed sensible in only spending a few minutes in the shower because of this. The washrooms themselves are fine - good, strong showers, clean toilets and free towels.

The staff are very friendly and you actually get a proper welcome upon arrival. Our fellow guests seemed to be a bit older and wiser than the usual hosteller, which made for a quiet and respectful environment. This didn't seem like the kind of place you roll into after a heavy night, though there's no curfew and the secure front door is accessed by code.

We stayed at another hostel in Montreal and many more across Canada and are happy to report that this is the best and cheapest one we found.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billyphatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    26
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
5
46
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2010

I was in Montreal for 3 nights in January 10, and it was a pleasure to stay at the Apero.

The best thing about the place is the location. It was a little difficult to find, but it's only about 2 mins walk to Guy Concordia Station, the main shops of Rue st Catherine and lots of bars, restaurants and a supermarket.
Granted, the owner Paul was a little stand-offish during check in and his introduction to the place seemed tired and rehearsed, but it hardly dampened my time there.
Cleanliness is a priority at this hostel; and it shows.

The free cereal breakfast is a nice touch, as is the free internet (wifi and a communal computer); it really felt like a home away from home.

Overall, I would certainly recommend staying here. Great value and great lodging!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnoCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2009

the place is clean and safe,
staff really kind and helpfull,
and location very central, close to evrything.

I ll be back ;)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damien78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2009

The place is really good, it is clean, nice and comfortable. It is close to downtown and to a lot of attractions. The staff is a really nice team. And you can make really good friends there!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepparton
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2009

I stayed at this hostel on and off for a month. While I was in Canada I stayed in 4 hostels and this one far exceeds the others. Paul the owner is amazing and has a wicked sense of humour. Cedric makes sure the place is always sparkling clean. Both of these guys are full of information about Montreal, especially if you want to find places to eat and more importantly drink that are really cheap. Plus the internet AND breakfast are free. The kitchen is well stocked with all the cooking items that you could possibly need and the kitchen is always clean. In the time that I was there Paul made so many improvements to the hostel that it barely looked the same as when I got there. The rooms are very spacious with more than enough room for your luggage. The beds have actual mattresses that are very comfortable (no blow ups to be seen). The lockers are a great size and Paul provides the key for them, so no need to have to remember your padlock.
With the hostel located in the heart of downtown Montreal and only 2 blocks away from Cresent St and the Metro, one could not ask for a more fantastic location.
There was nothing I disliked about this hostel, except for the fact that I had to leave :) ..

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2009

New and very clean, great Location, very nice staff, possibily the only thing missing is a garden...

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graeme204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Coolest place to stay in Montreal, walking distance to anything in downtown Montreal, cool people, cooler host, clean, fun, in other words the best option, I will definitely return if I visit Montreal again... wait I might be way older so... naaah still I will stay there.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatcatking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#7 of 164 in Montreal
1,384 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#66 of 164 in Montreal
642 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#13 of 164 in Montreal
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Village (Gay Village)
M Montreal
M Montreal
#1 of 95 in Montreal
333 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Auberge Bishop
Auberge Bishop
#13 of 95 in Montreal
12 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Alexandrie Hostel
Alexandrie Hostel
#9 of 95 in Montreal
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge L'Apero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge L'Apero

Property: Auberge L'Apero
Address: 1425 Mackay | Suite 2, Montreal, Quebec H3G 2H6, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 95 Specialty Lodging in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Auberge L'Apero 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Auberge Apéro, a European-style hostel in North America’s most European city, Montréal. Apéro is the French word for aperitif – the beginning of a great meal or in this case – a great vacation. With only 12 beds, we offer a cozy, personalized atmosphere on two floors of an old 1880s graystone with all the amenities you expect from a hostel, and many that you don’t. The rooms are bright with hardwood floors and some interior brick walls that add an air of coziness to the Auberge. The second floor contains the reception area, the store, common rooms, and the laundry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Auberge L'Apero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing