We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for groups of travellers”
Review of Auberge L'Apero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge L'Apero
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for groups of travellers”
Reviewed December 15, 2011

If all you'll be using your room for is a place to crash after a long day this is the perfect place to stay. Our group of 6 had a whole dorm appointed to us after e-mailing them and experienced no problems upon arrival and during our stay. Lockers were provided and they were big enough to stow away our luggage for the day. I don't think we ever had time to check out the living space and kitchen area. This location is great because you can find nearly anything within a block of walking. The subway station, a grocery store, pharmacy, plenty of coffee shops and a McDonald's for the late night bite. The owner was very helpful in leading us to different areas of the city that we didn't have in our itinerary, making our experience much more enjoyable! The only downside was the room looked like it was still in repair.. I slept in the top bunk and could see the pipes in the ceiling but it shouldn't bother you when you're sleeping.

Overall, a great place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    25
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
5
44
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I stayed in this hostel for a total of 4 nights at the end of August - 4 nights too long.

There were no staff to check me in on my arrival. I stood outside the door ringing the doorbell for 10 minutes before I noticed a tiny, ripped up sign, a metre from the door asking locked out guests to go down the road to the payphone to call to be let in. With the luggage I was carrying, this was a major hassle and I was certainly left unimpressed to have to do this. When the staff finally showed up to do the check in, he wasn't rude but was certainly unwelcoming in his attitude - gave me my sheets, showed me my bed and then that was it. I found out 3 days later that there was free breakfast (of sorts) available, as well as a phone in the lounge room that could be used to make local calls free of charge.

I had to move rooms once while I stayed there, but both beds I had were very sunken in the middle of the mattress. The kitchen was also a cramped and dirty affair, with plates both clean and dirty just left lying about the sink and not much by way of cooking utensils. The bathrooms were just hideous - in the days I was there I think I saw the staff clean them just once.

The staff were more interested in practicing their band music rather than do much hostel work - the hostel owner Paul was reluctant even to get up and open the laundry/store room door so I could retrieve my luggage one day when I needed to have it stored for a few days.

This kind of hostel seemed to appeal mostly to people who were in Montreal about to start uni, and were looking for longer term accomodation in the city. The only advantages of this hostel is that it is cheap and it is very close to Guy Concordia metro station. I was glad when I discovered another hostel down the road and very quickly transferred there. I won't be recommending Auberge L'Apero to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YPanSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Got a double room to enjoy the space and silence. Room was a good size - enough room for my pilates in the morning. Location - great as near to the Metro, downside above a buzzing street of cafes and bars - no drama with earplugs.
Having no kitchen facilities made it a bit hard and the greeny in me did not enjoy having to use the polystyrene cups/bowls & cutlery. Cardboard & bamboo would have been more eco )
Overall, a good back packers and would stay again.

Room Tip: Double room No1 - get ear plugs - nice big room just above hive of activity down below
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzziFleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

I stayed at auberge l'apéro Montréal. The bed is an air matress, very unstable, could't sleep. The room has not been cleaned during my stay, not even a day. No oven, no cooking facilities, no shelves, no windows int the kitchen and in the room. Waiting line for the bathroom. The owner has not told me I was in the other building so I dragged my bag for no reason except his lazyness. Someone was sleeping on an air matress on the floor in the living-room, so no living-room for the rest of the people.Apparently there is a class system going on; The airconditioning is deafening.. The internet is slow.

Room Tip: the main building, the rooms on Mackay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ra a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We spent 2 nights in one of the private rooms, which are above an Indian restaurant down the street from the main hostel building. My experience started off negatively due to the person at the front desk taking about a half hour to check us in while my husband was nervously waiting in the car in an illegal parking spot at night outside. It took a long time, the person had to look up the address of the other building, they told us the bed already had sheets-it didn’t-and forgot to give us the towels that we had deposited money for, so we had to go back to the main building for both. In the person’s defense, I think it was their third or fourth day. The building itself was fine, very secure with lots of locks. Only one bathroom between the private rooms, probably about 6 or 7 rooms, but fortunately there weren’t many people in them and we didn’t really have issues. Great location. The room was fine for a hostel, but the private rooms were more expensive, I think we might have been able to do better for what we paid.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank laurenjamie816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

On the plus side : the hostel is one block away from the Guy Concordia subway station, and a short walk away from the Crescent St nightlife area and a few other cool bars. They provide a fair amount of free food for breakfast (you have to help yourself), free and fast wireless. The hostel is fairly small (20 beds tops) so you get to meet plenty of people in the dorms or in the common areas. The manager, Paul, is a standout guy and they are happy to help you when it comes to picking bars, sightseeing stuff, etc.

However my experience was not entirely perfect as checking in took over twenty minutes (even though the reception lady was nice she was not very efficient). The surface of the hostel is real tiny : there is not much room and to get in you have to climb a series of narrow staircases that are pretty inconvenient if you carry a large suitcase. Because there is no door between dorms, so you only need one big snorer and it's game over ; the reception is also a few metres away from the dorms and it can get noisy late at night.

Overall a decent experience but I would advise families against patronizing this place that solely caters for the young and does it fairly well.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank assenac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I stayed here Thursday to Monday beginning of August and was really happy with everything.
Was a little shocked when i saw it out front, but when inside it's relatively nice. I stayed in an all girls 6 bed (3 bunks) dorm, where we all had own lockers and the room was quite big. However, the room looked like it was still getting renovated with no actual renovations happening anytime soon.
There are 4 bathrooms on the first floor and three different bunk rooms. Upstairs there were more rooms and another bathroom. They provided cereal and milk for breakfast and you could also store food in the fridge as well as cook your own. The kitchen would have to be somewhat "dirty" as dishes piled up on one side of the sink after people washed them. It wasn't dirty as in bugs and cockroaches and food everywhere, it was more the feel and look of it. But apart from that, the rooms were clean and the bathrooms were cleaned daily.
The location was really centred. One block from the subway then two blocks the other way to the main bars and pubs.
This was my first time staying in a hostel and it was a great first experience. Met some really lovely people and was really happy with everything.
Would defferently stay here again

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lid101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#6 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Novotel Montreal Center
Novotel Montreal Center
#41 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#67 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
#1 of 163 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge L'Apero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge L'Apero

Property: Auberge L'Apero
Address: 1425 Mackay | Suite 2, Montreal, Quebec H3G 2H6, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 94 Specialty Lodging in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Auberge L'Apero 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Auberge Apéro, a European-style hostel in North America’s most European city, Montréal. Apéro is the French word for aperitif – the beginning of a great meal or in this case – a great vacation. With only 12 beds, we offer a cozy, personalized atmosphere on two floors of an old 1880s graystone with all the amenities you expect from a hostel, and many that you don’t. The rooms are bright with hardwood floors and some interior brick walls that add an air of coziness to the Auberge. The second floor contains the reception area, the store, common rooms, and the laundry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Auberge L'Apero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing