We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Scandinave Spa Vieux-Montreal
Save
Review Highlights
An ecomical yet highly comforting experience

My partner and I went for their early bird special at 9 AM, where you get an one hour massage, on... read more

Reviewed March 6, 2020
GundamEz8
,
Toronto, Canada
Quiet and soothing

In the heart of old Montreal, this spa is beautifully designed, clean and very quiet. They provide... read more

Reviewed March 5, 2020
NicolasDoyon
Read all 380 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Montreal
from $58.79
More Info
from $160.47
More Info
from $74.46
More Info
from $17.58
More Info
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveler rating
236
86
35
9
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
236
86
35
9
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam room cold shower swedish massage relaxation area couples massage q tips finnish sauna wonderful spa water circuit vieux montreal bota bota spend an afternoon spas eucalyptus robe waterfall masseuse
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 380 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2014

It was raining all day yesterday so we decided to find an indoor spa and tried this place. We really enjoyed our experience. It was a Saturday night and we got there around 6pm so there were not that many people which was great. At times, we were alone in the hot tub, sauna or steam room.

Upon check-in, we were each given a pair of sandals and a key to our locker. The key is actually a rubber bracelet with a chip which you can simply put around your wrist and wear during your entire visit (it goes under water). Inside your locker, you can find a robe and two towels. The locker room is well equipped. There is shower gel, shampoo and conditioner in the showers. There are also hairdryers, hair straighteners, lotion, hairspray, q-tips, tampons, plastic bags for your wet bikini, etc.

The spa has one big hot tub with a waterfall, a sauna and a steam room with eucalyptus. For cold, there is a cold tub as well as a cold shower. There are also two relaxation areas. If you are hungry or thirsty, there is free fruit-infused water, two sorts of tea, dried fruits (dried mangos and cranberries) and nuts.

We really enjoyed our time and left feeling very relaxed. We will definitely be back!

Date of experience: September 2014
4  Thank Pura_Vida843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spa-scandinave, Guest Relations Manager at Scandinave Spa Vieux-Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2014

Dear Pura_Vida843,

Thank you very much for your kind review! Our mission is to offer you an amazing and relaxing environment and we are glad that you have enjoyed your massage and baths experience.

Looking forward to welcoming you for your next visit at Scandinave Spa Vieux Montréal.

Relaxing Regards!

Caroline P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2014

Great spa, nice facilities, helpful staff and very relaxing.

The spa is small, and because of this everything gets noticed. A previous reviewer commented that a staff member kept walking back into the room behind the steam room for towels....because that room is very bright and the lights in the spa are dimmed it is very noticeable when staff are moving about (as helpful as they are). This is a lot less noticeable at the spa in Tremblant because the site is so much bigger. Also the bean bag chairs are in proximity to the hallway for the massages so if there are a lot of appointments starting at the same time there feels like a lot of movement around you which can be distracting.

Very urban feel, very chic, but it feels cold to me. I much prefer the one in Tremblant.

Date of experience: August 2014
3  Thank tiffanyjoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spa-scandinave, Guest Relations Manager at Scandinave Spa Vieux-Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2014

Dear tiffanyjoseph,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments.

Our mission is to offer an amazing and relaxing environment, an oasis in Montreal, but that seems to be away from the city. So, it's true that our spa is nothing like the one in Tremblant, as it's an urban spa, totally unique. Otherwise, both of them offer incredible massages and the opportunity to do thermotherapy.

Looking forward to welcoming you for your next visit at Scandinave Spa Vieux-Montréal.

Relaxing Regards

Caroline P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2014

Checked this place out a few days ago. The scent in the steam room was so strong that I could not go in. There was a man who kept walking in and out of a room beside the steam room, carrying loads and loads of towels every few seconds. I felt that this was very distracting and ruined the atmosphere. Could they not have placed this room elsewhere?

Date of experience: August 2014
3  Thank tokiern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spa-scandinave, Guest Relations Manager at Scandinave Spa Vieux-Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2014

Dear tokiern,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments.

We're sorry that you felt that the scent in the steam room was too strong. Most of the time, our guests appreciate the scent, but thank you to pointing out that it was too strong at this moment.

And, it's true that there is a door that communicates to our backstore, next to the steam room, but there is traffic only at certain times during the day.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback!

Caroline P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

My girlfriends and I came here for our friend's bachlorette. To be honest for the price we paid to use the baths/steamrooms and a sixty minutes Swedish massage was very pricey. The massage was very good as the masseuse was very attentive and targeted the areas as outlined from the form I filled out. The room was very clean and the lighting and music was well suited for massages. The pool was nothing extraordinary as there was only one. The steamrooms were very good and unique. There is also a relaxation room where it is ultra dark for a nice nap. I would recommend this place if you are ready to drop some $ for a few hours of quiet time. All of the necessary toiletries are provided for in the change room/locker room area.

All of the areas were well kept/maintained. Very clean. Remember, no phones, no cameras, no talking. : )

Date of experience: August 2014
1  Thank MrsLyons0420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spa-scandinave, Guest Relations Manager at Scandinave Spa Vieux-Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear TDot22,

Thank you very much for your review!

It's true that there is only one hot pool, but this one complete the experience very well as you can take advantage of many hydrojets and a thermal fall. You can also start your thermotherapy cycle with few minutes either in the steam bath or the dry sauna.

Our mission is to offer an amazing and relaxing environment and we're glad to have been on your itinerary while visiting Montreal and hoping you’ve enjoyed it and you will come back.

Relaxing regards

Caroline P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Not until we arrived did I realize that unlike most nordic bath spas, this one is completely indoors. But my initial disappointment was soon overcome by my extreme relaxation.

The large hot tub has a great waterfall that works wonders on stressed neck & shoulders. For cold you have 2 options.... 1 minute in an awesome cold shower that operates by sensor, or a cold tub that I was reluctant to try until my last rotation. But I'm glad I finally took the plunge. (Pun intended. )

The eucalyptus steam bath wasn't something either of us liked, but a few minutes in the sauna really made us feel like we were sweating out some toxins. The relaxation area was surprisingly small (unless you want to sit in the brighter area where people wait for their massage appointments). But even though it was small, it *was* incredibly relaxing & we did actually doze off. Complimentary water & tea were available in this general area. We took advantage of this every time we passed, since you really do need to stay hydrated.

The change rooms were excellently equipped, with lotion, shampoo, hair product, spray anti-perspirant, blow dryers & even plastic bags for your wet bathing suit. Sandals, hooded bath robe & 2 towels are included for use during your visit. They have a great locker system with a sensor bracelet that you can wear during your whole visit (even in the tubs) - it unlocks your individual locker.

We walked to the spa from our hotel, so we didn't have to worry about parking. But I thought I'd mention that the spa only has $$$$ valet parking.....unless you want to take your chances finding other parking in Old Montreal. Might be a bit of a challenge.

Everything seemed quite clean & well maintained. Staff frequently squeegeed the water from the floor areas. The decor is minimalist, which is fine. Bit I really did feel they could have done more with the frosted windows around the hot tub area to impart a subtle sense of being in nature. It feels a wee bit cavernous.

We spent 3 full hours and loved it. We left feeling truly wonderful

Date of experience: August 2014
1  Thank Shasta613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spa-scandinave, Guest Relations Manager at Scandinave Spa Vieux-Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Hi Shasta613,

Thank you very much for your kind review ! You have noticed every details that we offer to our guests to unwind ! Beeing and indoor spa, it surprises sometimes a lot our guests, however it changes a lot the relaxation since there is no noise nor things to observe like in outdoor spas. We offer an environment conducive to a deeper relaxation and we are glad you have enjoyed your relaxation.

We hope to welcome you on your next visit in Montréal!

Émilie M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews