We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Montreal Airport
Ranked #59 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Lindsay, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Disappointing Stay”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I booked accommodation for 5 with a Park, Fly, and Stay offering at this Holiday Inn Express location. I had searched around for room that would accommodate the five of us and called the hotel and decided on a package that allowed us to park our vehicle, leave it for a week on our March Break vacation and then provide accommodation on our late night return. All of this was set up in advance.

We we arrive back in Montreal at 1am in the morning on Sunday March 17, called the shuttle, which made no difference to when then came, we were then disappointed when we got to the hotel. The hotel had our booking down for 1 person only, so we had to then have this adjusted. When we got to the room, the cot was not in the room and had to be delivered, the pull out couch was not made up and had to be made up by us. The room was short pillows for 5 individuals - more waiting. In the big scheme of things, not really significant problems, but at 2 in the morning, after a full day of travelling and after spending so much planning to book the right room - we were more than a bit frustrated with the service or lack of.

The next morning upon checking out the desk clerk then said that we owed $22 for the cot - which then caused our frustration to be shared with the clerk. Needless to say, we did not pay this expense. My next step is to share this with the Holiday Inn management.

On the positive-side the room was very comfortable, our vehicle was safe and sound and the location offers a great breakfast which is included.

If you are wanting something slightly out of the ordinary, beware!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Montreal Airport, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Don M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered during your stay. Kindly be assured that all your comments are being reviewed by the hotel management and actions will be taken accordingly. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    247
    87
    32
    17
See reviews for
208
152
32
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We used this to park our vehicle for the week when we were on vacation. On our return we stayed overnight. The rooms were great, comfortable beds/pillow. Had a excellent breakfast in the morning.

When we flew in to Montreal, we called the # they gave us and the shuttle bus was there in minutes.

Very happy with the stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomosnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napanee
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel and although we had no complaints about the hotel itself we were frustrated with the airport shuttle service. We had no problem getting to the airport, the driver was friendly and helpful and we made it to the airport with lots of time to spare. Our problem was that when we returned from our trip it was very difficult to get the shuttle back to the hotel. We soon noticed that there was only one shuttle running and that it returned to the airport every 20 minutes. Because it was the end of March Break, there was quite a lineup to get the shuttle and we might not have even caught the next shuttle. In no way is this the fault of the driver, but rather the hotel for only having one shuttle running - he was doing his very best with the long lineup of people. We ended up taking a taxi back the the hotel, which cost us an additional $20.00. We probably would not use this hotel again due to this bad experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camper092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Montreal Airport, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Camper092,

Thank you for taking the time to your review. We apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I already review this hotel and complained that the invoices are not delivered to the room under the door like in other Holiday Inn hotels. The manager had a good looking answer, that the construction of the door and threshold doesn't allow to slip the bill under the door.
I tested it, it is not true. There is a gap between the door and marble threshold. Page of paper goes easily under the door. I checked several doors - it was the same everywhere.

But this is a minor thing compare to more serious problem that i lately encountered there. Since the new year the hotel started charging for the parking. This is not a problem if parking is available. The hotel has a large parking sufficient for all guests but is full of some stationary cars. Most of them do not belong to the guests, as i have seen snow sitting on them for days without being cleaned. The effect is that in the evening there are no parking spots available. People park illegally everywhere including the street in front of the hotel.
If you drive and need to park do not go there. This a new problem that started a few months ago.
I love to stay in this hotel - it is clean, modern, close to the airport. My advice to the manager would be to keep this hotel great by finding solutions to problem instead of excuses.
The Holiday Inn in Charlottetown had some problems, but they fixed them and it is my favored hotel now.
Because of the parking problem i give it average rating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brejdak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Montreal Airport, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Brejdak,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I am glad that you find the hotel clean. On the other hand, please accept my apologies for the parking situation. Rest assured that these issue will be looked into. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done. Once again many thanks for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We booked this hotel for a pre flight stay/park option. It was a great experience - very friendly, helpful staff. The hotel was well maintained - a really well done lobby and the room was great - large, comfortable and quiet (a real plus for an airport stay) The shuttle service was friendly and quick (no delays at the hotel or the airport. There is no restaurant and it is in a fairly industrial area so I wouldn't want to be staying there if I was going to be there for a while and needed meals but I would definitely recommend this hotel for someone flying out of the Montreal airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmcdougall9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We booked this hotel based on the wonderful reviews and the 24 hour airport shuttle provided.

The hotel lobby is beautiful and very clean. The business centre is located just off the lobby and we were able to use the computers to check in online for our flight the next day and were also able to print our tickets. The clerk working the front desk at the time in the evening was very friendly and helpful when we had a problem with the printer.

The room we were assigned was spacious, immaculate and comfortable with beautiful flooring.
The shuttle service was efficient and the drivers, both to and from the airport, were kind and courteous.

Unfortunately, we had an issue with our room category. We believed that we had booked a corner suite with balcony, but had booked with the hotel directly on the phone a day earlier and therefore did not have printed confirmation. Upon early arrival, we were told that our room was already available. We discovered, however, that we had been assigned to a wheelchair accessible room that was not on the corner and did not have a balcony. My husband went downstairs to inform them that an error had been made and he was told by the front desk agent that he had "requested" this type of room. He explained that we certainly would not have booked this room and asked again for the corner room with balcony. He was told that there were none available; we were, however, given another room as we did not like the shower in the accessible accommodations.

Upon review of our bill when we returned, we were surprised that our bill was lower than the price we had been quoted. We discovered that the original quote was in fact the value of the corner room with balcony; the charge reflected on our bill was for a standard room. It was insulting to know that the front desk agent attempted to make us doubt our booking when in fact it actually appeared to be an error on the hotel's part.

Three out of the four times that we attempted to get coffee in the lobby it was either cold or empty. When we asked the same front desk clerk if it would be refilled, she simply said "no". When questioned about the website's claim of 24 hour coffee available in the lobby, she stated "not here...you can make it in your room".

Overall, we were satisfied with our stay at this hotel. Shuttle service was excellent and the cleanliness and comfort of the rooms was above average. The service received from one particular front desk clerk, however, may be a deterrent to our staying here again, when comparing airport Hotels for our future vacations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JennLa729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Montreal Airport, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear JennsTrips,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the room accommodations, facilities and the location of the hotel. I apologize for any confusion regarding your reservation. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We usually stay here when flying and it's exactly what you need. No hasle, clean, fast, shuttle service. There's no restaurant, but there's coffee in the lobby, and that's all you need when your leaving for whatever destination. This is my pick if you want fast service. Rooms are clean and nice.

Room Tip: Parking is extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldylockx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montreal
Dorval / Airport / Train Station
Aloft Montreal Airport
Aloft Montreal Airport
#50 of 164 in Montreal
739 reviews
Novotel Montreal Aeroport
#68 of 164 in Montreal
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorval / Airport / Train Station
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Airport
Holiday Inn Montreal Airport
#74 of 164 in Montreal
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Montreal Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Montreal Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Montreal Airport
Address: 10888 Chemin de la Cote-de-Liesse, Montreal, Quebec H8T 1A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Montreal Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the West Island of Montreal Quebec, our hotel is only 5 minutes from Dorval-Pierre-Elliott Trudeau International Airport (YUL).Enjoy a comfortable stay in a 100% non-smoking environment close to Montreal's most interesting attractions and the area's most prominent businesses.Take advantage of our free WiFi high-speed Internet access, hot breakfast buffet and 24hr airport shuttle service. Enjoy our spacious rooms and over-sized suites all with wood floors, microwave, mini-fridge, coffee maker and high definition (HD) signal viewable on 32" and 40" LCD TVs.Situated near Fairview, Rockland and Cote-Vertu Shopping Centres and only 8 km from the famous Lachine Canal National Historic Site, our hotel allows guests to explore Montreal's finest shops, restaurants and museums in comfort and style.Business travelers appreciate our location at the Montreal Airport while adjacent to major corporations such as Bombardier, Rolls Royce, CAE and Novartis. Perfect for business meetings or conferences, our hotel offers five meeting rooms with state-of-the-art audio/visual equipment.As you plan your next trip to the Montreal area, we invite you to experience our hotel's exceptional service at an unbeatable value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Montreal Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Montreal Airport
Holiday Inn Express Montreal
Holiday Inn Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing