We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the positive and negative of it”
Review of C C Cherrier

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montreal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
C C Cherrier
Ranked #88 of 145 Montreal B&B and Inns
Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“the positive and negative of it”
Reviewed July 1, 2011

On the positive side, the location is convenient, close to the Sherbrooke Metro station. It is in a quiet area, so it's very relaxing. The B&B is well appointed, the bed was super comfortable and there are bath robes and plenty of space in the closets.
The breakfasts are varied and filling - with supplemental dry cereals, juices, milk and yogurt available all the time. There is also complimentary water, soft drinks and beer.
Stephan is competent as a B&B owner and his chocolate Lab dog welcomes everybody.
We were there on a Saturday night when the Fireworks Competition was happening, you we were invited to view them from the roof of the B&B.
On the negative side, you may want to bring your own house slippers since you are encouraged to leave your shoes at the door or in your room and use the slippers provided by the House. I do not like to use shoes that other people have used.
You will be asked to leave the car keys with the House since the parking, which is free, is small so the vehicles may have to be moved to allow others to exit.
Minor inconveniences, maybe. But good to know ahead of time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
13
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

I arrived at CC Cherrier at the time I said I would, climbing steep stairs with my luggage, standing in the cold 10 minutes ringing the doorbell and calling the host Stephan on my cel - no answer. I left, wandered aimlessly with my luggage, then again up the steep stairs, rang the bell. Stephan finally answered and when I mentioned I'd had to wait, he actually shouted at me and told me I was wrong. I have travelled all over the world and have never experienced such rudeness. For a woman travelling alone it was particularly scary. His behaviour the rest of my stay was barely civil. I was never told about fridges with juice, free bike, never helped with my luggage. I was on a work trip and beforehand, asked specifically by email whether there was reliable wireless in the rooms and he guaranteed there was. Well, I tried several times - nothing - and had to lug my laptop around the neighbourhood looking for a wireless cafe ( he had no suggestions). I entered the password in front of him and showed him the message saying there was no wireless. The next day at breakfast he said to me, "Everyone else got wireless ok" as if it was my fault. I felt uncomfortable the entire time I was there. There are many nice b&bs in the neighbourhood, I would recommend any of them over this one.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyAdventurer67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

CC Cherrier was a great place to stay while visiting Montreal. Stefan was a super host- supplied maps, suggestions where to dine, where to cycle. Very flexible about leaving car.... PARKING included! This is key in Montreal.
We stayed in the Yellow room one night and enjoyed the breakfast included and two nights in the studio apartment below the main B&B. The apartment was great - bedroom, bath, livingroom and kitchen. Very clean and comfortable. Fixings for coffee were available and even yogurt in the fridge. This location is great, walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hcamper37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

CC Cherrier is a beautiful B&B and is designed and decorated to be warm, inviting, and relaxing.

The owner and host, Stephan, is very friendly and knowledgeable about the city. The breakfasts he prepared each morning were amazing! Lots of fresh fruit, something hot and tasty to go with, and great coffee (tea, milk, water, and plenty of juices as well). There is also a fridge on the main floor that is full of water, juices, and soft drinks for guests anytime of the day. Couches and comfy chairs throughout home make great places to read a good book.

We stayed in the Green room, lots of little extras such as toothpaste, mouthwash, shaving cream, etc that you wouldn't expect even from a higher end hotel. Bed was comfy, shower strong and hot, and ample space within the room. I believe all 4 bedrooms have their own private bath, so I think we would've been happy with any of the rooms. Stephan had just finished rebuilding the deck on top of the building, a great place to sit and have a drink and overlook the surrounding city.

Free parking, use of Stephan's 2 bikes, and umbrellas at the front door waiting for you .... not much is overlooked here. Metro stop is around the corner, so a 2 minute walk and a quick underground ride will get you where you need to go quickly and inexpensively. Montreal's bike system, BIXI, has a bike stop less than 1/2 block away as well. There you can rent a bike for very little, and drop it off at the multitude of stations all over Montreal whenever you get to where you are going.

Thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at CC Cherrier and wished we could have made it longer. Definitely would stay here again when we come back to Montreal!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

This was a great find. Every place I called was booked. When I called here asking for a room, the owner (Stephan) said their were no rooms but the private apartment downstairs was available at $115 a night. That's just a few bucks more than the rooms. It was a modern chic apartment with a private entrance, very comfortable bed, a couch, flat screen TV full kitchen, bathroom, even a washer and dryer. Things were impeccably clean and comfortable. There is free parking in the back and the owner asks that you if you leave your car, you leave your key in case your car needs to be moved.

The apartment is right next to the Sherbrooke Metro station and a block from Rue Saint Denis and the popular Cafe Cherrier, and just blocks from Rue Saint Laurent with many more shops and restaurants, the Parc Royal neighborhood, Parc la Fontaine, and the Latin Quarter. It's a wonderful location. The apartment doesn't come with breakfast. I only interacted briefly with the proprietor, Stephan, who was straight forward and accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoshInDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

I'm fairly obsessive when it comes to researching places to stay...spend almost as much time doing so than on the actual trip. I read reviews here before going and saw a generally good place in a good location with some concerns about the friendliness of the proprietor. I booked anyway, risking the 'friendliness' because there were few B&B spaces left in town because of the Jazz Festival and we definitely wanted the B&B experience.

We stayed 6 nights. From the get-go everything was perfect. Stefan, the proprietor was INCREDIBLY nice to us. He spent a good deal of time right when we arrived, helping us with our luggage, orienting us to the facility and giving us information (verbally as well as maps and brochures) about Montreal.

There are so many free extras at CC Cherrier. The bathrooms include a basket of free medicine cabinet items, there is a small refrigerator in the common room stocked with bottled water, sodas and juice boxes that you are free to take from throughout your stay, parking is free (a big deal in Montreal), there are numerous umbrellas available to you to borrow for free if it rains, there are 2 bicycles on hand for you to borrow for free if you'd like to use them to navigate the city, there is a no-shoes in the house policy but free slippers are provided for you to use if you'd like, unlimited free wireless internet, free tourist maps, guidebooks and brochures...it goes on and on.

The breakfasts...it i worh staying here for these alone. Many times on websites you see pictures of food at restaurants or bed and breakfasts even and, like in advertising, the real thing doesn't quite equal the pictures...in this case what you are served matches the beauty of what is presented on the website. Stefan has 10 menus and he rotates through them each day alternating between sweet (homemade waffles, French Toast etc) to salty (eggs, omelettes, etc) each accompanied with among the freshest fruits and berries I've had. So many Bed and Breakfasts or hotels offer just a continental breakfast...this is a full breakfast along with as much bread, many different cereal options, milk, tea, coffee as you want.

The attention to detail at CC Cherrier is evident everywhere...there are 6 sets of plates, napkins and table cloths that are rotated through. The rooms are impeccably clean, very modern, largish flatscreen TV's and cable in every room.

You are very close to a metro stop to get you anywhere and/or a block away from Rue St. Denis with it's many restaurants, bars and shops.

Stay here. You can't possibly go wrong. This was our first trip to Montreal, when we return, we would not consider staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickpoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

We recently had a vacation in Montreal, Kingston and Toronto. The CC Cherrier was not only where we stayed in Montreal, but it was bar far the best of the three B&Bs we stayed in during our vacation. The daily breakfast was even better than what you’ll see on the website. In addition to a variety of fresh fruits and eggs/French toast/waffles at least six different juice options, eight dry breakfast choices along with hot coffee and great assortment of teas and breads are offered each morning.

Our guestroom, the Crème room, was wonderful. Although it was on the second floor just off the breakfast dining area it was very quiet. Stephan, our host, always set the breakfast table the night before so there was minimal morning noise. This was the only B&B we stayed in that offered an amenities basket of soaps, shampoo, mouthwash, cotton swabs, etc. Many first class hotels don’t offer such a selection. The queen bed was the most comfortable we slept on during our trip. A wardrobe/armoire held all of our week’s clothing out of sight and orderly. The desk and chair with free Wifi were also a plus. Although there was a TV in the room we only used it once to check the weather. The only thing missing was a chair to sit in while reading. However the sitting area located just past the dining area was a bright airy spot for reading and chatting with the other guests. The entire B&B is air conditioned so you are comfortable as soon as you walk in the door.

Stephan was rebuilding the roof top deck so we were unable to take advantage of it. We did check it out and could see the Cross on Mont-Royal in on direction while the summer Saturday night fireworks would be viewed in the other.

The location of the CC Cherrier is great. The walk to the Metro, which will take you anywhere in Montreal, is less than five minutes. We chose to walk everywhere. Parc La Fonataine is at the end of the street. Old Town Montreal is less then a half hour walk away. A five minute drive brings you to Parc du Mont-Royal. Speaking of driving, the parking is free at CC Cherrier.

Stephan is very accommodating and full of knowledge about where to go and what to do. He recommended an area of restaurants where you can bring your own wine (nice way to save some money).

We highly recommend the CC Cherrier and will return.

Paul & Kayte

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#13 of 165 in Montreal
273 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel Kutuma
Hotel Kutuma
#49 of 165 in Montreal
331 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Lentracte Home
Lentracte Home
#23 of 96 in Montreal
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Petite Bourgeoise
#29 of 145 in Montreal
53 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Shezelles
Shezelles
#31 of 145 in Montreal
69 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Boulanger Bassin
Boulanger Bassin
#77 of 145 in Montreal
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to C C Cherrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about C C Cherrier

Property: C C Cherrier
Address: 522 Rue Cherrier, Montreal, Quebec H2L 1H3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing