We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual, stylish, no-frills - great for uncomplicated guests”
Review of Celebrities Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Celebrities Hotel
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unusual, stylish, no-frills - great for uncomplicated guests”
Reviewed February 20, 2010

Each room is individually designed and furnished (try to get a glimpse in as many rooms as you can during morning cleaning), this means that room ratings can vary a lot depending on the room a guest has been in.
I have been in 2 rooms: the 1st was unsatisfying because the toilet in the room (as well as the shower cabin) was only separated by a curtain (stayed 1 night of 4); the 2nd room (+ $15/night) was very big and fulfilled our needs.
If you are unsatisfied with the room talk to the manager, who will be of help to find an alternative. The night/morning receptionist who is usually there just vegetates behind his desk and won't be of any help at all (he'll just reply to any of your questions with a "on verra ça, demain"="we'll take care of this tomorrow"). Daytime receptionists and the manager are otherwise helpful and sympathetic.
Skip breakfast at the hotel. The breakfast "room" consists of 4 tables in a corridor, in front of two guest rooms. Fresh (though not great) croissants are delivered rather late in the morning so if you're there early you'll get previous day croissants. Other to breakfast is just toasted bread, butter, jam & coffee - no juices, no tea, no milk (just creamer for the coffee). Several guests go to the supermarket, buy their stuff, store it in the room and bring it to the breakfast room - consider it a self-service if you want a real breakfast. Several guests seemed not to appreciate this. I suggest walking up rue St-Denis to after the metro station (500m): you'll find Starbucks and lots of great bistros perfect for breakfast.
I don't really suggest the hotel to families with kids (see breakfast case as an example above) but it is perfect for unsophisticated travellers on a budget.
Free wireless Internet available, ask for the password at the reception.
Position is great: 15 min walking to the harbour, 20-25 min walking to the centre (you don't even need a taxi to come back late at night), 5 min walking to the UQàM University area & metro station.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eggegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovely126, Night Manager, Merci Beaucoup. at Celebrities Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2010
Dear Sir , It was a great pleasure to welcome You , We appreciate your Objectif points , regarding the cleaness, the design and the staff . We understood Your Review , As you may Know the room you stay 301 is made by a famous Theather & Cinema Designer , who make all design in Wood , we are Happy you like our Hotel . We also have standard room or Superior Modern design Toor , each room have a style Classic or Design .
We realy Hope you enjoy The great City of Montreal . Again Thank you to stay with Us .
Warmest regards Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    59
    55
    32
    89
See reviews for
13
128
44
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2010

We had booked this hotel as part of a package through Expedia. We had reserved a room with a king bed and had requested 2 beds if they had any, since we were 2 friends that were traveling together. First off, when we got there, neither the girl or the guy behind the counter acknowledged us for the longest time. Then we got to our room which had 1 double bed, that was not a king. Even though we had checked in early in the day, they told us they did not have any rooms with 2 beds or a king bed left. It was in the middle of the week on a non-holiday! We called Expedia and the creepy guy who had come up when we first called basically bullied us into taking the room. Breakfast was very bland toast and watered down coffee, after we spent 20 minutes trying to find someone (it's not laid out like a buffet). We wound up paying for real food the remaining days at restaurants. This hotel had only a few bad reviews when we had first checked but now the reviews better reflect the lack of quality (though late for us). Stay away from this place at all costs!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaliforniaGirl_in_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovely126, Be Objective and Honest . at Celebrities Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2010
Dear Sirs , Be Objectif on Your rewiew, You book a Standard Queen bed, who is the First price on expedia , You never ever Book a superior Room ( who is a little more expensive )or a Junior Suite when we receive Your Booking - We can t upgrad FREE OF CHARGE if you did n t book in First that category . Regarding the 2 beds You asking , we request ...the day of check in, We regret Your Very negative review who can give an not true of our Product , Our personal is Very helpful and like they Job . You was very Rude with Our staff .we sincerely regret that you was not at all objectif .
Try to book next time a real room at the good price before check in
Regards
le manager Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Ottawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2009

Seeing as I paid $60 a night I suppose that I cannot complain too much. After all, you get what you pay for.

The pros of this hotel is that it is unique and it is close to nearly everything (15 minute walk to the Old Port and 5 minutes to the Berri-UQAM metro station. The area seemed quite safe, and there were several amenities nearby. The room was clean, as were the sheets, and there was free wireless access available from the hallway (not the room).

That being said, there were quite a few cons as well. We were in room 301, a room that is decorated like a cross between French Provincial and Caribbean Bondage. The bed was a thin mattress on a plywood riser, the private bathroom was set up like an outhouse and the enamel on the bathtub was flaking off. Half the lights did not work and the gentleman working the front desk did not want to come replace them. Additionally the stairs leading up to the third floor were not to code (the top step was a half-inch off code) and I tripped several times, banging up my knees quite badly. If this hotel is in fact a three-star establishment as they claim, the third floor obviously does not meet that standard.

I would not recommend this hotel, but I will remember it forever.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tiker_tape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CelebritiesHotel, Madam, at Celebrities Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2009
Dear Customers,
We thank you for your review and we would like to respond on a few objective points. You did book in advance but as we checked together you did not request specifically for a Deluxe , Superior or tradition room, but a standard basic double bed. (frequent customers knows it, and for the others it is the blue and red Deluxe room on our website) You booked a basic double bedded room and as you had previously visited our website you may have noted that beds are always next to each other. In the morning you can TODAY LIVE moved to another non deluxe at 99 cad room. Then it seems you find a more convenient place for you and we hope you have had a pleasant stay in Montreal.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2009

Stayed here for 4 nights in the second week of October. Pleasantly surprised with the hotel; we were given a room on the second floor which was in fact more like a studio apartment. You unlocked one door to be greated by a corridor; only at the end of the short corridor do you find the door to the bedroom. Huge double bed and very comfortable, however because the bed is so big, the room is very cramped because there is too much furniture.

The room came with a TV; it worked but there was no remote because the last guest lost it. The other downside to the room was the temperature; for the second week in October it was pretty cold. There was a small storage heater however, we found lining the locked door which I believe led an adjoining room with one of the spare pillows more effective. Thicker curtains, carpet as opposed to wooden floors and double glazing would be a real benefit to the hotel. The bathroom is next door; it was small but otherwise very good.

We booked this hotel through STA Travel on a bed and breakfast basis but were told upon arrival breakfast wasn't included. Other than that quite happy with the service received. It is well located; and a real bonus is that because there is a hospital on the opposite side of the road, there are inevitably taxis out there which is really handy when it comes to checking out.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lachbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovely126, Accom manager at Celebrities Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2009
Dear Guest , It was a pleasure to welcome You , The room you stay, was design by Sammi hamoutene , who is one of most famous Local designer in cinema and Theather .
We thank to stay to stay with us , and You enjoy Your stay . Warmest regards Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2009

The area is, indeed, "a bit" dangerous. Our car was cracked. Much of the interior is nice meant and was even more nicer if there were some changes.
The staff is - how to say - some are friendly, others are... not interested in the guests. We got our breakfast served in a veryveryvery little room, but first we had to asked, whether we could have breakfast. Nobody got the idea to serve us our breakfast without remebering them.
The breakfast was (every day) : one packed croissant, jam (always the same one) and butter. Oh - I forget to mention the coffee and tea (but coffee was often empty - only one machine for the guests in the breakfast room).
The room for 4 persons is little like the breakfastroom and had some flaws like a provisional heate. Only the bathroom was big, but you could hear the water in the toilet the whole night. Additionally, you could not close the window and it was loud and not dark in the night. Not possible to aerate the room - hot in the night.
But not to forget the good things of the hotel: I like really much the style of the hotel, very modern and romantic, much love to detail and a good or interesting sense for detail. Price was okay but motivated staff would be great (especially when serving the breakfast...)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hanadainkanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CelebritiesHotel, OK Guest at Celebrities Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2009
Dear ok Guest, we thank you For Your review,and we would like to answer on Objectif Point , Our District Old Montreal-latin quater and Downtown Montreal is Very safe area. (frequent customers knows it, and for the others it is the blue and red Deluxe room on our website) You booked a double bed basic bedded room and as you had previously visited our website you may have noted that single double beds are always next to each other. In the morning you moved to another non smoking twin bedded room. The same day you told us you wished to check out because a friend of yours could accommodate you … and we asked for a 24 hours notice for reducing your stay (instead of 48 hours). So you finally stayed with us and paid for 2 nights. Then it seems you find a more convenient place for you and we hope you have had a pleasant stay Downtown Montreal .
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atene
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2009

advantages: low price, free internet, friendly stuff, good location in the city center, but in a rather dangerous neighbourhood at night.
But: not clean at all: an old towell was left in the room when I first checked, and left for 2 days. Dust in the room, not cleaned well, but rather rapidly. Only one cleaning lady! The room too small; i didnt expect too much on that price (the fault was mine, I should have spent some more money for a more decent place), but at least I expected it to be average clean and it was not.
breakfast less than nothing, served in a gloomy "breakfast room", dusty and old, never touched it.
No elevator.
I would suggest that someone looks for a better place to stay. Don't go.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aektsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovely126, not agree Your Verdict at Celebrities Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2009
Sirs , We are sorry but we can t accept Your Review so Negative , You stay in Very craming room with king bed Fuly renoved recently and with a liot of charm , Your bathroom was completly renoved . Regarding tower it is so Easy to ask to lobby to change it in any colors You like ! we use some towers as 4 stars hotels !!!
Please remember in Hight season You paid 89 cad who is a Very Good Price , maybe next time boom the W or Hilton , Our Guest love the charm of Yesterday and the Confort of a Standard tourist First class .not a palace .
it was a please to welcome you as a old family tradition
alain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2009

This hotel is now called Exclusive Celebrity Hotel. We booked this hotel to stay in after a cruise. It was very reasonable and in a convenient location. We arrived early and determined that we would take a sightseeing tour until the rooms were ready. We asked the desk clerk how far we would have to walk to get to the Grayline tour stop, and showed her the map. She said it was about 4 blocks. We set out and finally reached our destination about 12 blocks later. Had we know, we would have taken a taxi or bus.
Before going I called the hotel to request king beds for the 2 rooms we reserved. This was confirmed over the phone. I checked with Expedia and the features stated that there was an elevator. Upon arrival we were told that they did not have king beds available and our rooms were on the third floor, of course they had no elevator. As we had prepaid, we decided to make the best of it. We had lots of luggage after a 15 day cruise. Thankfully, the manager carried our luggage up all the stairs. We were in room 305. We were told the beds were queen size, however the box spring was queen, but the uncomfortable mattress was a full size. There was no separate bathroom, There was a modern shower in the corner of the room and a toilet with a door that could not be closed when you were on the toilet. (no room for your knees). The sink was next to the toilet. There was a 12" tv on a high shelf, with no remote. There were several wires around the room that were not up to code (at least in the USA). There were many levels in the hallway leading to the room and the door opened into the room and there was a 6" step up to the room. This proved to be a problem. If you had to get up during the night, you had to carefully walk close to the bed so that you wouldn't fall. The sink was on the edge of this drop off and my husband stepped over a little to see in the mirror and fell off injuring his knee. I took the ice bucket that was in the room, down all the stairs and asked for ice. I was told they did not have ice and that there was a store about 2 blocks away that had it. I then walked the 2 blocks and found that I had to walk about 5 more blocks to the IGA for ice. There didn't seem to be any concern for the fact that my husband had been injured. We were leaving the next day and I had to go to the hospital across the street to buy a cane, so that he could get down the stairs. The manager did bring down our luggage. No mention of my husband's injury. The hotel was clean, although the night before we left, a family arrived and went to the 4th floor. Shortly after they came down and complained that there were ants in the room and they were not staying. We had no problem with ants. . There was a computer monitor at a desk in the hallway which looked like it was coin operated, however it did not work and there was no computer attached to the monitor. The manager did let me use the computer at the front desk to do our boarding passes.
The other room 301 was larger, but had some of the same problems. The separate bathroom shower was about a 6" step down and although it had a very nice shower head, it was not connected to the water line. You had to take a shower with the hose that was not connected. The room had two small tvs - no remote. Same uncomfortable bed.
Although the thought of a boutique hotel - parisian style is appealing, don't be fooled. Know what you are getting. For some this might be acceptable, but not to these travelers.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank patca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovely126, PR at Celebrities Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2009
Dear Guet,


It was a great pleasure to welcome You., we are so sorry about what we read .

It was maybe important to told us you was senior before check in , to give you the rooms on first or second floors.


As You may know we are not a deluxe 5 stars hotel , like the cruise you made , we are a first class standard tourist plus .

We do not agree at all with Your review , but we accept it , , you should book not a standard room but a deluxe or Junior suite with us to make your enjoy your stay at the maximum with the level of services you are looking for .


Again it was a please to welcome you ,



Cordialy,



Soumia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Le Saint Andre
Hotel Le Saint Andre
#103 of 165 in Montreal
309 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Casa Bella
Hotel Casa Bella
#117 of 165 in Montreal
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Bon Accueil
Hotel Bon Accueil
#112 of 165 in Montreal
70 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Maison Brunet
Maison Brunet
#95 of 145 in Montreal
56 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Montreal Espace Confort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celebrities Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celebrities Hotel

Property: Celebrities Hotel
Address: 1095 Saint Denis Street | (also known as City Cosmopolitan as well as Glamour Hotel Montreal), Montreal, Quebec H2X 3J3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Chinatown , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 96 Specialty Lodging in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Celebrities Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If You Love left bank Paris - Saint Germain , For Sure you will Love the Lovely Celebrities Hotel Downtown Montreal , The First Parisian Hotel located in the very heart of Montreal , walking distance From Old Montreal , latin quater , saint catherine street and famous underground ...On st denis street . Your sweet Home in Montreal . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Celebrities Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing