We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“crooked desk clerk + noisy area”
Review of Celebrities Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Celebrities Hotel
Ranked #64 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Montreal
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I had a terrible experience with this hotel. Don't be deceived by the photo-shopped pics on their webpage. First, it sits right opposite a busy hospital and between two construction sites. Very noisy. The rooms are dark and smell of must. Second, the guy at the front desk deliberately over-charged me (I paid the Taxes twice) and then refused to give me the room prices when I approached him about it. Also there is quite a bit of drugs dealing right around the corner. Would recommend you go to another hotel --- and avoid CentralR booking.

Room Tip: I would just AVOID this place altogether. And if you do go, make sure they don't double-charge y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DannieJ_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 272 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel is terrible. It is nothing like the web site depicts. The toilet is behind a curtain and open to the room, the shower is an after thought and sits beside the bed. There were faceplates missing from almost all of the wallplugs, lightbulbs were burned out, and there were tiles missing from the floor. And there's no elevator. Only good part is it is in the old part of the city.

Room Tip: 1st floor only
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I was admittedly a bit apprehensive about staying here after reading so many negative reviews, but in the end our 3 night stay was absolutely fine. While this is not a 4 or 5 star hotel, there is nothing wrong with it as long as you understand it is not a Sheraton or Westin. Our room was quiet, spacious, and even the old AC unit worked well enough to keep it cool during a period of 35 C days. It is close to a great part of the downtown centre, and there is a wonderful old style diner next door where good home cooked food is available for a cheap price. (Deno's) A caution if you have lots of luggage ... there is no elevator so a our room on the 3rd floor required some effort and perspiration to haul all of our stuff to the room. Friendly and helpful multilingual staff, and we even started one of the young desk clerks on his way to learning some basic Russian greetings. There is a 15 minute check-in zone out front and secure underground parking near-by. If you are not a western wimp, and have stayed anywhere in eastern Europe or similar destinations, you will be happy with this venue and the low price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirk G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The room was nothing like it showed on the website! It's was tiny at the back of the hotel where you could hear everything! The shower was so close to the bed that the bed sheets got wet every time I had a shower! The staff were friendly and helpful but I would not stay at this hotel again. I would spend the extra money and go to another hotel


  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Ok, all y'all saying this place is awful need to stop. Is it the Ritz or The W? No, obviously not - but I didn't expect it to be. It's a great little hotel, for a great price in a great part of the city. The staff were super friendly and helpful. The room I had was larger than most apartments I've had. It was comfortable - and after reading all these negative reviews, I was very pleasantly surprised.

Look, it's a little rough around the edges, and it could be a little more clean. But for the price and the location, you really can't go wrong. Give it a chance. I did book a room that had my own bathroom, and I would highly recommend that - as I would for any establishment, if you aren't 19. It does have some rooms that act as a hostel - but I experienced no noise, only friendly people and an overall positive experience. If I was alone or in a couple, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and get your own bathroom. It will make all the difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Well, we stayed here for 13 days and with the payment that we maid, we are totally satisfied.
Do not expect any fancy thing. Otherwise why are you reading this and why don't you refine your search with 4 or 5 star hotels?! This hotel keeps everything simple... Although the only negative thing that we have encountered was the fact that normally the maid does not clean the room properly. Free 5MB wifi in every room, free coffees and very friendly staff made our stay comfortable.
However the hotel does not have a lift... So be prepared to lift your luggages up!
The location of the hotel is quite good, in downtown. Almost close to two Metro stations, restaurants, dépanneurs, banks, bus stops, UQAM, china town, etc.
We had a nice long stay and recommend it if you are on low budget.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Amirhossein79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Worst hotel ever! don't stay there, everything is old, there is something broken in every room, and there are things going on there, do not go with children...believe me! It's not clean, it's small, it smells, they don't wash the bed linen everyday, breakfast horrible...a nightmare

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#45 of 165 in Montreal
704 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Ville-Marie Montreal Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#86 of 165 in Montreal
594 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#50 of 165 in Montreal
883 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celebrities Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celebrities Hotel

Address: 1095 Saint Denis Street | (also known as City Cosmopolitan as well as Glamour Hotel Montreal), Montreal, Quebec H2X 3J3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Chinatown , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Montreal
Price Range: $31 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Celebrities Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If You Love left bank Paris - Saint Germain , For Sure you will Love the Lovely Celebrities Hotel Downtown Montreal , The First Parisian Hotel located in the very heart of Montreal , walking distance From Old Montreal , latin quater , saint catherine street and famous underground ...On st denis street . Your sweet Home in Montreal . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Celebrities Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing