We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad atmosphere!”

Auberge de Jeunesse Maeva Montreal
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montreal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auberge de Jeunesse Maeva Montreal
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad atmosphere!”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

The hostel is well located ., that is it, . Breakfast is only average. Cheap bread, cheap margarine and cheap jam. The bathrooms and dorms are filthy. There is no activity or events going on at the hostel at all . Long term elderly residents hang out the whole day in the common areas contributing even more to a dead ambiance. I would not recommend the place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luiz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
4
5
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Claremont, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

I stayed at this hostel for four nights. Conveniently located, Auberge de Jeunesse Maeva is a very short walk from a wide variety of great restaurants, bars, shops, etc., as well as just a few minutes from at least a couple of metro stops, giving the visitor easy access to all that Montreal has to offer. Staff is helpful and friendly. The room that I stayed in was typical of many of the hostel rooms I have seen, but also offered sufficient space for luggage, moving around, etc. The room included a sink and mirror; toilets and showers were outside the room. Breakfast was basic (e.g., bagels, toast, fruit, juice, and coffee). If you need a place to park while you’re here, speak with the staff, as Montreal’s parking rules can seem a bit complicated and confusing. The hostel’s overall vibe is young, fun, and social, and the décor is distinctly funky. The hostel is probably best suited for the younger crowd, but is also a welcoming place for people of all ages.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy6179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We were not expecting much for our money but we did expect at least a clean place to stay. The place looked like they were clearing out. Wifi available, but didn't work. When we asked for a towel the guy pointed out it was a hostel not a hotel. Breakfast was fine, bread, coffee and an array of jams, syrups...

Overall not good. The location was pretty great though, was close enough to the action, but far away enough not to be the action!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed here for three days while touring Montreal. The location cannot get better - small trendy cafes and restaurants all around and the sights are all a walk or short ride away. Parking wasn't as much a hassle as we thought - we could find a spot somewhere along that road. Our room had a small bathroom and a mini stove which we did not use. It was great value over all.

The place wasn't filthy, but could be cleaner. I thought the messages/graffiti on the walls were okay but they do need to clean up the floors everywhere. At breakfast, they had giant tubs of butter and jam that everyone dipped into. You can use their utensils and cutlery but have to wash up after yourself. Obviously, not everyone has the same standards so we did not use the kitchen.

The place would have been great if they had had someone in full time to do the cleaning.

*review if for Sep 2010

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sss1blah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Although less friendly than some of the other hostel's I've stayed in, this fit the bill for the six of us.

Pros:
Location - it was only about a 20 min walk from the old town, and right next to a metro and a bike share. That was great.
We booked a 10 bed mixed dorm for the 6 of us and the way the room was set up it was more like a private.
The room had its own bathroom, but if it was busy there was one right outside in the hall.
Shared kitchen with fridges and stoves. Also a bar serving food.
They took credit card and there was A/C so the temperature was nice.
Free towels and wifi

Cons
It was kind of expensive. Also somehow the rate we were quotes was the "member price" which seemed odd. We had to pay more.
The check in and check out was super complicated. We had different numbers of people each night and they made us check in each morning and got confused each time. They also someone got half our groups name wrong making bed assignments really confusing.
The activities they offer don't seem that great...

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

My friend and I stayed in this hostel for 4 nights. It's like a suite (bathroom, kitchette, fridge, walk-in closet) with 4-dorms. It's very clean. Fan (not air-conditioned). Free breakfast. Really a good value for money - note: accomodation payment in cash only. Friendly and helpful staff. Walking distance to metro, restaurants etc. It's abit noisy but with earplugs, it's not a problem.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smurfff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights. The location of this hostel is perfect. The neighbourhood is full of bars, cafes, pubs, restaurants and things to do. A short walk to the transit station too.

We booked a 3 bed private room. It had a bunk bed set and the third bed was actually the chaise section of an old couch. I found this weird and mentioned it to the staff who said 'this counts as a bed'. Aaah, not really, it counts as a couch! The room was an ok size and had an ensuite with toilet and shower. The sink was in the room with some sort of stove top and bench. There was also a bar fridge. The beds were comfortable enough, but the couch was not comfortable. Their is no A/C, we stayed on the top floor and it was hot. When we opened the windows the exhaust fan system of the restaurant next door was noisy and blew hot air up to the window. The bathroom was clean enough, they changed the floor towel each day.

Down stairs there was a small t.v room with a computer for internet. 2 couches and a coffee table. There is a kitchen which was not clean and did not offer much space for cooking. There was a dining room with 1 large table and 8 chairs. They offer free breakfast in the morning which we did not sample.

The overall vibe in this place is not very good. We found the staff not overly friendly. The paint is horrible colours throughout and covered with graffiti messages from previous travellers. (I just don't care if Dr Phil is a pimp. Or if the 'bike crew is awesome') The sheets provided for the beds were old and thread bare. The cleanliness is not of a high standard and the facilities are just adequate. Wifi internet is free, but only works within the common room which is small and closes at 11pm. It also annoyed us that they put the price up by $3 as it was grand prix weekend. But you can't beat location...right?

Just a tip, they only take cash on check in, so get some out first. Also there is not check in between 1-4pm so don't turn up then.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for real beds not couches!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vkdoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel de l'ITHQ
Hotel de l'ITHQ
#32 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Auberge Chez Jean
Auberge Chez Jean
#35 of 94 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge Saint-Paul
Auberge Saint-Paul
#3 of 94 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Auberge reBOOT Hostel
Auberge reBOOT Hostel
#44 of 94 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
HI Montreal Hostel
HI Montreal Hostel
#6 of 94 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Gite Le Clic
Gite Le Clic
#32 of 94 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de Jeunesse Maeva Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de Jeunesse Maeva Montreal

Property: Auberge de Jeunesse Maeva Montreal
Address: 3990, rue St-Hubert, Montreal, Quebec H2J 2X6, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 94 Specialty Lodging in Montreal
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing