We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small in size but impressive food”
Review of Ariel

Ariel
Ranked #1,269 of 6,716 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $24 - $82
Cuisines: International, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Ville-Marie
Description: Ariel, Montréal’s newcomer to the restaurant scene is a wine bar and restaurant all rolled into one. Set in a charming turn of the century building you will discover a bright and elegant, buzzy yet stylish atmosphere. The restaurant, refreshingly, is happy to serve up straight forward, unpretentious food, without ceremony. The service has the perfect harmony of professionalism and genuine friendliness. Our well balanced wine list offers delicious wines, many from smaller artisanal producers, with up to 20 choices by the glass. The distinctive local cuisine changes regularly, offering delectable choices like the house smoked salmon salad, the Asian beef tartare, the veal schnitzel, or the braised Kobe short rib. It's an ideal location for a quick lunch, after work glass of wine, or celebratory dinner. Whether you are alone, impressing over business, celebrating with a large party, dropping in before or after the show, or looking for that romantic setting Ariel is where you want to be.
Reviewed December 15, 2016

This intimate restaurant us just around the corner from the Ritz Carlton. Our dinner was simple, but the taste was quite good. Relaxed service. Simple bistro table. Some wines not available, but the food was really good.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Vashti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 42 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2016

We recently hosted a party for 32 at Ariel. We interacted extensively with Daniel in the months prior to our event via phone and email as we do not live in Montreal. He is an absolute pleasure to work with. He is very accomodating in terms of special requests and came up with a fabulous menu, which met our every need. Daniel is creative and inventive, and the food was outstanding and beautifully presented. Service was very friendly, attentive and polite. What impressed us most was finding every promise fulfilled. We were at ease during the party and were able to enjoy it fully, as did all of our guests.Compliments were plentiful. The staff is wonderful, especially Alex, who went out of her way to take care of everyone. Many of our local guests vowed to return to Ariel, as it was their first visit. I would not hesitate to recommend Ariel to anyone interested in delectable food in a lovely atmosphere. It certainly exceeded our expectations.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bonnie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2016 via mobile

Top Class Restaurant with casual atmosphere

I have been hosting an annual business dinner and more recently lunch at Ariel for over 10 years and also of course go there other times during the year

Our most recent event was beginning December 2015

We hosted in their atrium a stand up tapas style lunch cocktail for over 20 people

As usual Dan's team (Dan = Prop) were top class and food was special as always

One if the best places also for private quiet business lunch if you want clients to also have excellent food !

Date of visit: December 2015
Thank brianjW2433UI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2015 via mobile

My husband and ate at Ariel last night and really enjoyed our experience. The food was outstanding! My husband had Cornish hen which had a nice light batter and cooked to perfection. He also had the gnocchi which was very light and flavorful. I had the cauliflower and red pepper soup which was creamy and had a slight kick which I thoroughly enjoyed. I also had the organic beet salad which was delicious. The young waitress was extremely attentive. I would definitely go back to this restaurant with family and friends.

Date of visit: November 2015
Thank JillybeanMonteal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2015

Attended the restaurant for the first time through a work related affair and we were absolutely fawned over by the staff-they were excellent. Great location although you could miss it walking by and it is really well done inside with exposed brick walls and great decor-the indoor skylighted terrace is a unique feature. The food was excellent-the gnocci very tender and the braised beef essentially melted in your mouth. very good wine list as well. A definite repeat.

Date of visit: June 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank smallhanded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ariel also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Ariel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing