We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel in the rough, Inn was fantastic, location questionable”
Review of Jade Blue B&B

Jade Blue B&B
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jade Blue B&B
Ranked #93 of 144 Montreal B&B and Inns
Hampton, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A jewel in the rough, Inn was fantastic, location questionable”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We recently spent a 3 day weekend visiting Montreal and came across the Jade Blue. We were impressed by many of the reviews but also skeptical because of a few of the others. I guess you have to put on your blinders on when driving/walking the 100 yards onto or off of Rue Bullion. Yes the location is a bit seedy, but once inside you would never know you just made such a find. The staff (Bettina & Amy) were such gracious hostesses, the breakfasts that they put out were delicious, they were great company to discuss all sorts of topics and quite knowledgeable about what to do & where to go.

After checking out we drove through the city and discovered other sites (B&B's) to consider for a future visit but for our next visit it was decided we would definitely return to the Jade Blue. Central to downtown we walked all over the place; to McGill University, to Chinatown, to the Old Port and we found that the Inn's central location won over the fact that it was so close to the underbelly of Montreal.

Be cautious of the parking situation, not because of the concerns mentioned in some of the other reviews where they reported break ins, but the parking patrol is very aggressive, after day one we found a lot about 3 blocks (5 minute walk away) that was well lit and reasonable priced.

Room Tip: It is an old building; so if someone walking above is concern take a room on the upper level, we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargMotelMgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    14
    4
    6
    11
See reviews for
9
22
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this B&B in early October and we will definitely be back soon. It is so wonderful when you are passing through a city and you get the opportunity to make friends with the staff at the place where you are staying. Allie helped us with everything from parking to accommodating my wife's dietary restrictions. She was friendly and always smiling. It was a joy to spend our mornings with her. The home itself was also a gem. Clean and warm even though Montreal is a COLD city. Next time, we will try to come in the summer.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the Louis XVI room! So perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etobicoke
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Our stay was July 25-28, 2013.
We chose this b&b because we needed late check in and got a code. The outside stairs were hard to climb up as they were steep. Battina was helpful but one morning was sick so no one around to give breakfast. The owner was in Florida and I called the number written on board given at b&b but no answer. Luckily I had another # to let owner know Battina was sick. We did get credit but felt that they need to have at least a back up staff. The window air conditioner was very loud. Battina was very helpful with ideas of where to go and see.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prijateljica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We travelled to Montreal for the Summer Jazz Festival and decided to stay at a B & B downtown. The Jade Blue was a pleasant surprise with a fabulous location, comfortable accommodations and lovely staff whom were super attentive to our needs. The rooms are themed and we stayed in the Louis XIV. Lovely antique furniture and embellishments from the time period. We especially enjoyed the hot breakfast prepared by Bettina. Be sure to request the Tulip Omelet and Crepes.

Room Tip: Louis or the Medievel room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Remy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just got back from a quick trip to Montreal. My boyfriend did some research and found this B7B and decided we'd give it a try.
Its an old victoria home and its centrally located between old and new Montreal. You can walk pretty much every where you'd need to go.
There is parking on the streets but its few and far between. There is a lot not even a ten minute walk away that you can park your car for $10 a night.. The hostess Betinna will be able to tell you how to get there.
The rooms are nice and each have a different theme. We stayed in the Marie Antoinette which we enjoyed. It had an ensuite with a jacuzzi tub and also a patio attached to the room that looked out onto the streets.
The street the B&B is on also has a mens homeless shelter two houses down. When we first pulled up I was a bit nervous as they are always out on the streets hanging out. Might be intimidating if it was just a solo female or a couple females staying. We were told they are harmless and really they did just keep to themselves.
The breakfast is ok. I wouldn't necessary depend on it but it'll get you by until you can head out for a bite. When you get there if you have a preference of a little earlier or late and itrs important you get it, schedule your breakfast time in the kitchen for each day or advised Bettina so you make sure you get your slot.
The Hostess is extremely friendly and does a great job! She has lots of info and maps she can provide if need be.

Room Tip: Marie Antoinette has its own ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctraveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We just returned from our short stay and we were sadly disappointed with our stay. Having stayed in various B&B's around Ontario, Quebec and PEI. This is the worst one thus far. The lady who greeted us Betina seemed friendly but lacked organizational/multitasking skills. We arrived at 11:05am to a 11am intake policy, after driving for various hours we hoped to arrive and enter our room to get a couple of hours to rest; instead she was still making breakfast for some other people who were late checking out and had not even left the room at this time. She said to return after an hour but by the looks of it, we knew it would take more than an hour to clean the bedroom as she indicated she didn't get a chance to do it yet, we went out to look around and returned after 3:30pm thinking this would give her ample time to finish catering to her other guests and clean our room. she only mentioned to us upon our return late afternoon that we only had a choice of 8:30 or 10:30 am breakfast as her other time slots were taken by others. She never mentioned this to us when we first arrived so that we had a chance ot choose earlier before the other guests. Next day as we were hungry and couldn't wait any longer until 10:30, we had to spend our money to go out an get breakfast, being Diabetic is hard with the late breakfast and sugar levels. Since we paid to include our breakfast, we asked her to put our breakfast aside for when we returned and we could have it later as snacks, she promised to do it. When we came back she made up a story that she had to bake more, offering to give us the extra breakfast tomorrow to take,etc.. She was nice BUT To other guests. We tried not to spend much time in the B&B. You can't run a business with a single person to do the cooking and cleaning who has no timelines or structures in place to meet expectations not of only some guests but treat all equally. If you are to provide customer service it should be timely for everyone across the board. We never heard of different breakfast times ever before, every B&B we have gone to including PEI has a starting time and those who chose go at the time they prefer. The food was ok, I saw the reviews and got very excited. I guess it depends greatly on the cooking benchmark for each individual, the croissants were heated ones from Dollarama, miniature that come in a bag. The best thing on the one breakfast we had was the raspberry jam. The hostess seems friendly and loves to chat (she does most of the talking most of the time). This place has great potential for someone who can manage it better with a person to do the cleaning. BTW no construction going on while we were there. we parked nearby free of charge and it was a busy time out in the streets with festivals. Nice old construction and size. The owner was very accomodating with providing a fresh cool room. Would love to come back but a hostess should learn that service should impact every guest in a positive way and not be preferential, dedicating greatly to one side and neglecting the others is not fair to paying customers (she promised a make up breakfast to go on the following day and she disappeared when we left). No change in towels while we stayed more than two days and even followed the rules of how to hang them. Understaffed, poor time and operational management don't combine too well. We were not so scared of the homeless guys around as they were harmless. We wish we had great things to say. The rooms are spacious!. Best of Luck in your venture

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This B&B is centraly located and in walking distance to many city attractions and completely quiet. (Once we only woke up at 9 am despite the fact that we are generally early risers.) Also a metro station is nearby. The small street on which Jade Blue is located may look a bit dodgy but in fact is not and is perfectly safe. The colourful Latin Quarter with its great restaurants is in short walking distance.
We occupied the Louis XVI room on the first floor with its own bathroom with shower and felt almost like king and queen. Bettina, the "innkeeper", looked well after us, served us the most delicious and varied breakfasts, gave us a number of great tips for sightseeing and was most charming and entertaining. We loved our 4 nights at Jade Blue and can highly recommend it to people who want something special and not the ordinary 5 star chain hotel.

Room Tip: Ask Linda and/or Bettina for the optimal room that might suit you best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaissau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Best Western Plus Hotel Montreal
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Zero 1
Hotel Zero 1
#54 of 164 in Montreal
1,172 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Village (Gay Village)
Le St-Christophe
Le St-Christophe
#65 of 144 in Montreal
10 reviews
La Petite Bourgeoise
#32 of 144 in Montreal
51 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Victorian Heritage
Victorian Heritage
#4 of 144 in Montreal
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jade Blue B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jade Blue B&B

Property: Jade Blue B&B
Address: 1225 rue de Bullion, Montreal, Quebec H2X 2Z3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Hotel Class:3 star — Jade Blue B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jade Blue B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing