We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One person operation is a failure-Rooms great, service not so great..”
Review of Jade Blue B&B

Jade Blue B&B
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jade Blue B&B
Ranked #92 of 146 Montreal B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One person operation is a failure-Rooms great, service not so great..”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We just returned from our short stay and we were sadly disappointed with our stay. Having stayed in various B&B's around Ontario, Quebec and PEI. This is the worst one thus far. The lady who greeted us Betina seemed friendly but lacked organizational/multitasking skills. We arrived at 11:05am to a 11am intake policy, after driving for various hours we hoped to arrive and enter our room to get a couple of hours to rest; instead she was still making breakfast for some other people who were late checking out and had not even left the room at this time. She said to return after an hour but by the looks of it, we knew it would take more than an hour to clean the bedroom as she indicated she didn't get a chance to do it yet, we went out to look around and returned after 3:30pm thinking this would give her ample time to finish catering to her other guests and clean our room. she only mentioned to us upon our return late afternoon that we only had a choice of 8:30 or 10:30 am breakfast as her other time slots were taken by others. She never mentioned this to us when we first arrived so that we had a chance ot choose earlier before the other guests. Next day as we were hungry and couldn't wait any longer until 10:30, we had to spend our money to go out an get breakfast, being Diabetic is hard with the late breakfast and sugar levels. Since we paid to include our breakfast, we asked her to put our breakfast aside for when we returned and we could have it later as snacks, she promised to do it. When we came back she made up a story that she had to bake more, offering to give us the extra breakfast tomorrow to take,etc.. She was nice BUT To other guests. We tried not to spend much time in the B&B. You can't run a business with a single person to do the cooking and cleaning who has no timelines or structures in place to meet expectations not of only some guests but treat all equally. If you are to provide customer service it should be timely for everyone across the board. We never heard of different breakfast times ever before, every B&B we have gone to including PEI has a starting time and those who chose go at the time they prefer. The food was ok, I saw the reviews and got very excited. I guess it depends greatly on the cooking benchmark for each individual, the croissants were heated ones from Dollarama, miniature that come in a bag. The best thing on the one breakfast we had was the raspberry jam. The hostess seems friendly and loves to chat (she does most of the talking most of the time). This place has great potential for someone who can manage it better with a person to do the cleaning. BTW no construction going on while we were there. we parked nearby free of charge and it was a busy time out in the streets with festivals. Nice old construction and size. The owner was very accomodating with providing a fresh cool room. Would love to come back but a hostess should learn that service should impact every guest in a positive way and not be preferential, dedicating greatly to one side and neglecting the others is not fair to paying customers (she promised a make up breakfast to go on the following day and she disappeared when we left). No change in towels while we stayed more than two days and even followed the rules of how to hang them. Understaffed, poor time and operational management don't combine too well. We were not so scared of the homeless guys around as they were harmless. We wish we had great things to say. The rooms are spacious!. Best of Luck in your venture

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    14
    4
    6
    11
See reviews for
9
22
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This B&B is centraly located and in walking distance to many city attractions and completely quiet. (Once we only woke up at 9 am despite the fact that we are generally early risers.) Also a metro station is nearby. The small street on which Jade Blue is located may look a bit dodgy but in fact is not and is perfectly safe. The colourful Latin Quarter with its great restaurants is in short walking distance.
We occupied the Louis XVI room on the first floor with its own bathroom with shower and felt almost like king and queen. Bettina, the "innkeeper", looked well after us, served us the most delicious and varied breakfasts, gave us a number of great tips for sightseeing and was most charming and entertaining. We loved our 4 nights at Jade Blue and can highly recommend it to people who want something special and not the ordinary 5 star chain hotel.

Room Tip: Ask Linda and/or Bettina for the optimal room that might suit you best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaissau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at jade blue on our first trip to montreal, 12 years ago, and loved it.
After a brief search of places to stay for this 5-day trip, we were happy to see it had the same owner, and decided to stay there again.
It’s called a “B+B” but it’s really more of a private sort of alternative ‘hotel’, in an ideal location.
You let yourself in, you get a great breakfast in the morning, and you can walk to everything.
The fact that it’s situated on a slightly ‘dodgy’ street is immaterial.
It’s in an urban setting, not a country farmhouse where you live with the family.
Therefore it might not be suitable for those ‘less-travelled’ individuals who are probably better off staying in a chain hotel.
Bettina, our hostess, served up hot breakfasts, and good advice, and we had a huge room to spread our stuff out,
plus a nice big bathtub.
Plus a lovely private balcony where, after a long day of exploring montreal,
we could enjoy a glass of wine while watching the colourful city life unfold.

Room Tip: Have only stayed in the Marie Antoinette- it has a nice balcony, and huge (private) bathroom with s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malbecvancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at the Jade Blue B & B for 3 days in April and had the most wonderful experience. A Charming Victorian B & B with a lovely hostess, Bettina, who was both accommodating and an incredible cook! We stayed in the Florence room which was bright and beautifully appointed with antiques and novelties. Bettina keeps the place immaculate. THe location cant be beat giving you the opportunity to experience the local feel of downtown Montreal. We will stay at this gem of a property again.....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niki d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I stayed at the B & B for 5 days in July and everything was great! The room and bathroom were nice and clean. And the location is great! Minutes away from all the festivals. The hostess, Bettina was very charming and helpful, and she makes a mean tulip omelet!

I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Be assured that I will never stay in a hotel that has such unusual cancellation practices. I saw the words "free cancellation" by the cost of the room and unfortunately assumed that they follow the policies of what most hotels mean when they say "free cancellation."

Actually it is not a free cancellation at all. When I attempted to cancel the room 8 days in advance, they attempted to charge me for the entire cost of the room. I called the booking agency, and only then did they follow the 7-day policy rather than a sudden 8-day policy, but I was still charged for one night, even though the cancellation was supposed to be "free," according to the way it was worded on the booking website.

This is wrong. I appreciate that this hotel followed their own policies regarding their 7-day cancellation policy, once the booking agency contacted them, but I do not appreciate their charging a cancellation fee for a cancellation that was billed on the website to be "free."

If I had know the cancellation were not free, I would not have booked the room.

This reminds to read carefully "the fine print." I made the stupid assumption that people are not out to rob me. Wrong.

Room Tip: be sure to read the fine print when you book this hotel with an on line agency
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trillius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Albany, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Arrived at B&B with sister & elderly parents. Did not know about the code to get inside
Due to it being located in tiny print somewhere on the reservation
We never got in the building but would not have stayed anyway. The homeless kitchen is just
down the street with drunks hanging out. Not a place to go sightseeing. Exterior of building
and surrounding area not at all charming as described.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
3 Thank zoegirl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
#70 of 165 in Montreal
873 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Zero 1
Hotel Zero 1
#53 of 165 in Montreal
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Quartier des Spectacles
The Village (Gay Village)
Le St-Christophe
Le St-Christophe
#64 of 146 in Montreal
11 reviews
La Petite Bourgeoise
#29 of 146 in Montreal
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jade Blue B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jade Blue B&B

Property: Jade Blue B&B
Address: 1225 rue de Bullion, Montreal, Quebec H2X 2Z3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Hotel Class:3 star — Jade Blue B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Jade Blue B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing