We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place for a treat!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Creperie Chez Suzette

Creperie Chez Suzette
Ranked #67 of 5,657 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $14
Cuisines: French, European, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Framingham, MA
Level Contributor
152 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a treat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

After a long day of disembarking from our cruise ship, enjoying the Hop On/Hop Off tour & walking what seemed like every street of Old Montreal, we stopped in for a late lunch. Since we had indulged ourselves for the past week, we decided we would consider this our "one last splurge" before pulling out the Jenny Craig/Weight Watchers guides to get back on track. ;-) So, we ordered French Onion Soup, small Caesar salads and, of course, dessert crepes. The food did not disappoint! The soup was hot and cheesy, the salads were crisp (although they could have had a bit more dressing), and the crepes were HUGE! The service was okay… not outstanding or overly friendly, by any means, but sufficient and efficient. Would we go back? Absolutely.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank periphery10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    433
    384
    156
    47
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“yummy crepes, huge portions in vieux montreal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

very nice crepes and huge portions enough for 2 hungry people. Drinks were also very good. Good choice for desert and coffee not main meal. Fast, friendly, and professional service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank esperanza-wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvard, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A disapointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

This is a very small little restaurant and I was hoping for a really fantastic crepe. It has the look of a place that will surprise you with a great amount of flavor and something with a bit of pizzazz. Not so much.

The sign on the wall advertised various espresso and hot chocolate drinks. As it was a cool, rainy day, I ordered one of the espresso drinks. I was told those specials were from the Fall and not available anymore. I was there the end of May, surely enough time to remove a sign that was half a year old?????

The waiter just stood around in front of the pick up window the whole time I was there. He was facing my direction, so it was a bit unnerving to be stared at the entire time. Again, it is a small place, but still.

My Brie and apple crepe was a let down. It was pretty, but there was hardly any brie to be found in it. It was mostly apples. It was pretty tasteless actually. I have not had a lot of crepes, so maybe this is how they taste? I used more maple syrup on it than I had wanted to, just to give it some flavor.

I would not go here again that's for sure. For $13.95 a bit more brie would have been expected.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BostonRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central NH
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Indifferent service, disrespect, terrible food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Firstly, I speak French but evidently, they wanted me to feel that my French was terrible and acted as if they didn't understand me. English wasn't much better. There were people from the State of Georgia, US next to me so I know they got their order filled. There were three parties in the entire place (all with tables next to each other) and it took them fifteen minutes to provide a tiny glass of water. We were about to leave when the attitudinal waiter showed up. Long story short: the three-cheese crêpe was a rubbery, hard blob in a few strewn crêpes. I couldn't finish it; hungry as I was. There was no promised salad. There was no offer of more water. When the rain threatened. All that they could do was start cranking closed the awning above us and scrambling and shouting. Who cares about customers eating or needing a check or anything else, right? No offers of shelter. We spent out last moments in town running through rain with sick stomachs.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PhineastheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fine for lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

My husband and I went here for lunch soon after arriving in Montreal. He had Coquilles de Mer and I had a chicken and fruit main course salad. Both were good. Would probably not go here for anything but lunch.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrsDavos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Creperie Chez Suzette also viewed

 

Been to Creperie Chez Suzette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing