We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Westin Montreal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Westin Montreal
Ranked #29 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2009

The Westin of Montreal is a beautiful peace of property located in the heart of Montreal. I was there on business and had a great stay. The room was very fairly priced and for such a nice hotel you can't go wrong. The hotel is brand new and finely appointed. I really enjoyed the staffs willingness to help. Great Hotel...Great Stay

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jparker1153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    748
    679
    164
    55
    38
See reviews for
401
470
68
488
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2009

As a regular at the W Montreal, I thought I'd try this starwood sister down the street. I was not dissapointed. This Westin is brand new, and it's rates are insanely low. I was upgraded upon check in, and my room was perfect. I just love the heavenly beds! The gym was a really nice surprise, seeing as it was actually well equiped. The breakfast buffet was really nice too.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiamiBeachPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruising on a sailboat in FL Keys
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2009

The staff of this property is pleasant, polite and professional. It is therefore unfortunate that the designers of the hotel have made some very poor choices which in my opinion will doom it to failure. Westin regulars will notice that finishes and furnishings look like Westin appointments, but are of a quality more befitting a lesser chain. The very thin dark veneers of the contemporary furniture are already showing signs of wear despite the property being open for less than a year.

When we checked in, as a Starwood Platinum, we were given an upgrade to a room on the 21st floor. Since the property was no where near full, I expected at least a junior suite. What I got, was a smallish room with a king bed, a 42 inch LCD TV and a good desk. The bathroom was small with a single bowl granite vanity and a large walk in shower cabinet equipped with the two headed Heavenly Shower. There was no tub. If I was traveling on business, the room would have been fine for a 1-2 night stay. I was however in town for the weekend with my wife, so I called the front desk to inquire about an upgrade to a larger room.

The front desk manager was very receptive to my requests and made arrangements for us to be moved to a “premium” room on the 14th floor, which has a separate sitting area in addition to the regular room. The bell staff took care of transferring our luggage while we were out and the new keys were waiting for us when we returned to the hotel later in the evening.

Since the transfer went so well, it was a disappointment bordering on shock when we opened the door to our “premium room” and switched on the light. We found ourselves staring at a pile of our luggage in a room that looked like a storage area for furniture. The room was lit with a single overhead fixture that contained a low wattage energy saver fluorescent bulb that seemed to amplify the starkness of the fact that our “sitting area” had no windows; no supplemental lighting of any sort and nothing on the walls except for the neutral wallcovering, which under the low wattage light appeared slightly green. It was an “oh my god” moment, but not in a good way.

The premium room on the “SPG Floor” may have had slightly more floor area, but the smaller windows, and large amounts of wasted space due to building structures made it seem smaller than our previous room on the 21st floor, which was at least brighter. The bathroom was smaller and was not equipped with the Heavenly Shower, and we were not provided with shower gel or mouth wash.

During our stay we encountered sticking door locks, faulty thermostats, and very slow to heat hot water, but we can attribute these deficiencies as the teething pains of a new property. All of our issues were addressed very quickly and professionally. Having seen the “upgraded” rooms on the 21st and the “premium” rooms on the 14th however it is highly likely that I will not return to this property, unless a suitable alternative is not available. The facilities are simply not worthy of the Westin label and I do not recommend this property.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DocFraud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2009

Stayed for a weekend with my wife, hotel location is pretty amazing, right near downtown core. After you get there pretty much anything is within walking distance. Got a great deal with flight from West jet. Hotel was still under construction so the pool was not open yet, but the rooms are fairly large, quiet and well decorated. Bathroom is also very nice, with higher end finishes. Overall great room for the value, would def. stay again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asd_md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russell ontario
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2009

Best rate in the city by $75 per night. A brand new hotel - everything was very clean. The room was beautiful (great beds and bedding, large, well appointed, excellent bathroom), the buffet breakfast was great, and the public spaces were lovely. The gym was the best in-hotel gym I've seen - the equipment was state of the art. On the downside staff communication didn't seem the best - the front desk gave us coupons for the bar (because the Club was closed) and the bar staff didn;t seem to know what they were. The in-room movies aren't in place yet - annoying when travelling with kids. But all in all this would be our first choice next time we go to Montreal if the rate was right. Great location, too - couple of blocks from the harbour in one direction, couple of blocks from St. Catherines in the other.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Islandgirl7217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2009

Stayed at Westin Montreal for two nights during labor day weekend. The hotel was somehow crowded and although I asked a high floor room and checked in at around 1pm, they weren't able to find a room higher then the 3rd floor. Obviously we got waken up early in the morning since there is a lot of traffic noise coming from St-Antoine st. Staff at the reception was a total disapointment, rude, indolent and wouldn't speak to me in french (do feel more comfortable speaking french). Also, when we checked-in our room, I checked the sheets to make sure they were new (as I always do) and I found some red stains that looked like lipstick on it. We also got surprised when we asked for bathrobes and that the delivery man, about 7 seconds after knocking on the door, got into the room although the do not disturb sign was on the door, this shows how well managed this hotel is... On the plus side, they brought (after two requests), a nice dog bed for our pet (30$ a night). Beds are also very comfortable. Very limited selection for room service. Won't return..

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vincebilodeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

We stayed in the Westin for 3 nights in early August. It was brnad new and very clean and fresh. The staff tried top b helpful but being that it just opened there were a few glitches...but we still enjoyed it.

The buffet breakfst was great and the location was good. It was right across from the convention center and a short walk to the old streets of Old Montreal

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler1213Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
InterContinental Montreal
InterContinental Montreal
#34 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,819 reviews
Quartier International
W Montreal
W Montreal
#21 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Quartier International
Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier International
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
#23 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#17 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Westin Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Westin Montreal

Property: Le Westin Montreal
Address: 270 St-Antoine West, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 0A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Montreal
#19 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#22 Business Hotel in Montreal
#27 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Westin Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at the junction of Old Montreal and downtown, Le Westin Montreal features 455 spacious bedrooms and suites, all offering the unparalelled comfort of Westin's Heavenly bed, complementary WiFi, in-room safe, iHome with mp3 clock and small fridge. Le Westin Montreal is connected by underground walkway to Montreal Palais des Congres (main Convention Centre) and to Montreal Subway (Metro). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Westin Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Westin Montreal Hotel Montreal
Westin Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing