We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Hidden Delight”
Review of Bombay Choupati

Bombay Choupati
Ranked #468 of 5,710 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
montreal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Authentic Hidden Delight”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Im always hopeful that when I find a restaurant off the beaten path (Sources near Goiun), that might be a hidden gem . When I first walked in, I was delightfully greeted by a young man called Jay who told me to wait a minute or two while he prepared our table. I looked towards the kitchen and was pleasantly pleased to see what appeared to be a couple of generations of family members cooking in the kitchen. I always love a restaurant where you can smell traditional aromos eminating from a kitchen. It's a sure sign that the food is fresh and authentic.
We started with nice Indian draft beer , followed by recommended appetisers including a delicious eggplant derived dish, chickpea salad with wonderful spices. Tandori chicken was just perfectly seasoned with a dark red purple saturated color . Equally delicious was the shrimp with enough sauce to dip the crisp , chewy and smokey nan bread. This restaurant offers great value with flavors fit for the most discriminating palette. Jay was very courteous , helpful and a proved to be a most interesting individual. There is something to be said about the dedication and results of a truly family run restaurant. They don't take reservations and the place sits about 40-50 people so its first come first serve. A gem at the end of Sources!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    15
    1
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
272 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great lunch time venue”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Recently had lunch here. Very good food, attentive staff. Upon asking, made some very good suggestions. A bit pricey however, I found

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EPMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Indian food in Montreal”
Reviewed March 26, 2011

this restaurant is nothing but the best Indian Restaurant in Motnreal.
I'm so glad I discovered this place. It's very small and hard to find, but definately a great experience.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michel1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We know Indian and this is the best!”
Reviewed May 9, 2010

The restaurant is hard to find in a very small and seedy strip mall in the West Island area of Montreal but ignore the location and the small size of the place as the food at Bombay Choupati is amazing! A husband and wife team man the kitchen and floor (they close for two months in the winter, much to the dismay of their fans!) and everything is fresh and delicious! The nan is the best I have ever had anywhere and the goat curry plate, butter chicken and frankly all the entrees are superb! They got rave reviews from The Gazette (Montreal daily english newspaper) and rightfully so. Try the choulichat and masala dossa as starters!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scottattheboutique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
94 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Low key and great Indian”
Reviewed February 2, 2010

Off the beaten track at the end of Sources Blvd, small and unassuming. Although we're not experts on Indian food, the food here is delicious. All home-made, excellent quality and very tasty. Great service. Great Value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Radtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bombay Choupati also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Bombay Choupati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing