We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Montreal Airport
Ranked #83 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Disappointing hotel”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had to do an overnight at this Crown Plaza recently due to a snow storm, and must say it was a total disappointment. When we selected the Crown Plaza we expected a high-quality hotel, as most of them in which we stayed were. Here the rooms were run-down, scratches on the walls and door frames, mold inside the bathroom, tissue box was empty, weak hair dryer ... just to mention some of the obvious.

We arrived later at night and also found both the bar and restaurant had already stopped serving food! We had to order out to a closeby Italian restaurant. Surprising given the size of the hotel. No room service was available either.

The next day we ate there for lunch as we waited for our plane. Perhaps we were lucky the restaurant was closed the previous night, because the food was very bland and unexciting.

If you have a choice of hotels close to the Montreal airport, select the new HIlton or any other closeby. This one needs a major update.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 11Claude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Montreal Airport, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear 11Claude,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Guest satisfaction is very important to us. I am sorry that you found your stay to be less than satisfactory due to the level of staff service received, food served and condition of the room accommodations not fully living up to expectations. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we have to offer to our guests.

Thank you again for your feedback. We hope that you will afford us another opportunity to showcase our usual levels of service.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    157
    139
    72
    45
See reviews for
120
110
34
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for business over 3 days.

The rooms have been renovated for a new current look and it's well done.

Ordered room service breakfast the 1st morning, which was great quality food for a good price. the problem? I left the dishes in the room and expected the maid service to take this away when they come to do up the bed. When i got back after a long day at work, i noticed there were 2 rooms on my floor that had used plates sitting outside the room. when i got into the room, my breakfast tray and dishes were still there and the room coffee machine still had the used filter and 1/3 of the coffee in the container. They did give me a new coffee packet and more sugar, thanks for that! It took until the next day to have the breakfast tray gone and still every night i had to rinse out the in room coffee machine and dispose of the used filter.

The room keys were a pain in the butt. Everyday after a long day at work, i went to my room on the 8th floor at the end of the hall to find out that neither of my 2 keys worked. Trek back downstairs to have them re-program the keys.

The only positive i got out of staying here was the breakfast, which i chose not to order again after taking 2 days to get the tray cleaned out and that it was close to my office.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bangemsmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMTL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Montreal Airport, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the entire staff, we are terribly sorry for your less than stellar experience. There really is no excuse for used plates sitting outside your room for so long, and this information has been brought directly to the attention of all departments, as the overall cleanliness and presentation of the property is a responsibility that we all share. We sincerely hope that you’ll give us another opportunity to show you our best.

Kindest Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

i stayed at the crown plaza montreal airport for easter 2013 and my grand children loved the pool and water slide. that recreational activity was worth the stay. the pool was always supervised be a life guard, the water was warm and there were toys and life vests for the children. the staff of the hotel was very attentive, the rooms were clean and the bedding was very comfortable. the hotel is showing it's age but the price was well worth the value. the windows have black out curtains for late sleeping. micro waves are available upon demand. daily news paper. wi fi free. parking is free. the location requires a gps device to find the place, as is most locations in montreal, but the road network around the hotel takes getting used to.the bottom line of all of this is that i would stay again.

Room Tip: facing the airport is good to watch planes come and go. the children loved that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cocodog85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMTL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Montreal Airport, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We’d like to offer our sincere thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us. We were thrilled to read that your grandchildren enjoyed the pool; it is without a doubt one of our most favored amenities, for children and adults! So glad that the service and amenities available helped make your stay a great one. We truly look forward to your next visit.

Kindest Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2013

One of the best hotel experiences ive ever had...the staff was over the top accomodating...to the point im actually writing about it...rooms were clean but the main reason for my post is the incredible service we got...anything we asked for, we got with a smile, thanks especially to Dmitra (hot front desk girl with black glasses lol)...practically guided me back from casino to the hotel thru text messages when she really didn't have too...definitely gonna be my montreal hotel moving forward!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCSehmbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMTL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Montreal Airport, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with us. It was truly wonderful learn that Dimitra went above and beyond to ensure that you got back to the hotel safely. Your kind words regarding the service you received were shared with our entire team, and we’re all thrilled that you’ve decided to make us your destination of choice when you’re in Montreal. Thank you again for taking the time to post your thoughts, and we anxiously await your next visit.

Kindest Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechelt, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stay here almost every time I come to YUL on business (and that's allot). The hotel offers a shuttle service which is great and the rooms are big, tasteful and comfortable. The lounge does need a facelift I think and the food is so so (the Connexion Salad is GREAT though) and same for room service food it is so so as well. Staff are GREAT! There is not much going on in the area though so be prepared to take a taxi if you want to eat off site.

Tip: There is a convenience store at the airport by the International arrivals where you can buy milk for your in room coffee (as there are fridges in the room). snacks, beer and wine. This is rather convenient as there are no other 'depanneurs' or liquor stores in the area. Note that even though the store is opened late, liquor sales end at 11pm.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joh_Joh_Bean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMTL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Montreal Airport, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

First off, thank you very much for your continued business! It really does mean a lot to us knowing that you’re satisfied with our service, and choose to keep coming back. So glad that you’re able to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle service, and that our spacious and comfortable guest rooms are consistently to your liking. We will continue to do all we can to meet and exceed your expectations.

Kindest Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville,ON
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The Crowne Plaza is an excellent hotel. When we arrived at the hotel, my wife noticed that her camera was broken and we were leaving early the next morning to go on a Caribbean cruise. We didn’t know Montreal all that well, so we went to the front desk to ask where the nearest Best Buy or Future Shop was located. The lady at the front desk arranged a shuttle to drop us off and pick us up at a nearby Best Buy, so my wife could buy a camera to take on vacation. We were impressed by their customer service and how they took care of us.

The rooms are well appointed and the beds are comfortable. The lobby is beautiful and there are marble floors throughout the lobby and restaurant area. We stayed and parked our car for the 10 days while we were away on a Caribbean cruise.
The shuttle service to Pierre Elliott Trudeau Airport was prompt, arriving at 3:40 am for a 3:45 am departure. We arrived early and went through customs. On our return flight, we called The Crowne Plaza and the shuttle picked us up within 20 minutes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebuilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMTL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Montreal Airport, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of our entire team, thank you very much for sharing your experience and your kind words with us. We really do pride ourselves on the notion of hospitality, and hearing that our staff was able to help your wife replace her camera quickly and efficiently was a real treat. Our lobby and public spaces have all recently been renovated, and we were quite happy to read that you enjoyed the look and feel of the property. Again, our sincere thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts with us.

Kindest Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel the night before we departed for vacation. The check in went well, and it was nice and quick. When we got to our room, it was very disappointing. The room is very small, as is the bathroom. The furnishings and linens all very clean, so this was a plus. We left our car there while we were on vacation, and upon returning, found broken bottles and empty liquor bottles by our car. We dined at the Italian restaurant that is in the hotel, which was just OK. Price was good for a night and a week of parking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newbie_trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMTL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Montreal Airport, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We were most pleased to hear that you enjoyed the efficiency of our front desk staff, and that you were able to take advantage of Park, Stay and Go option, which allows for an overnight stay, parking up to two weeks and return shuttle service to and from Trudeau International Airport. We were however quite troubled to read about the unacceptable conditions around your vehicle. Rest assured all appropriate departments were made aware of your comments and instructed to be more vigilant with keeping the parking area safe and clean. We truly hope that you will return and look forward to your next visit.

Kindest Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Holiday Inn Montreal Airport
#74 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Dorval / Airport / Train Station
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Montreal Aeroport
#69 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Dorval / Airport / Train Station
Aloft Montreal Airport
Aloft Montreal Airport
#44 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Montreal Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Montreal Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Montreal Airport
Address: 6600 Cote de Liesse, Montreal, Quebec H4T 1E3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Montreal Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to an Exemplary New Montreal Airport Hotel The recently renovated Crowne Plaza Montreal Airport Hotel welcomes you to our distinguished business hotel near Pierre Elliott Trudeau Intl Airport (YUL). From the free airport shuttle to the Quiet Zone floors, corporate guests appreciate our Montreal accommodations. Business guests lodging in our Montreal airport hotel appreciate our experience and location. The Montreal airport is just five km from our hotel. We have the largest convention centre in the Montreal Airport area and can accommodate up to 1,350 people with free parking. In addition, you'll have free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a business center along with our professional staff to assist you. Our Montreal Airport hotel's location is ideal for leisure guests. You can easily enjoy the shopping on Sherbrook Street or downtown Montreal's attractions which are only 10 miles from the hotel. While lodging in our Montreal Airport hotel our guest enjoy the many relaxing amenities we offer like our indoor pool with a 120-foot water-slide, an invigorating sauna and the 24-hour fitness center. Our newly renovated rooms and suites offer you unparalleled accommodations in our Montreal hotel. You'll enjoy plasma TVs and CD clock radios as well as our Sleep Advantage Program amenities. You can dine on fine Italian cuisine or relax in our Connexion lounge. See why our hotel in Montreal is the Place to Meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Montreal Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing