We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two things to get at Patisserie Kouign Amann”

Patisserie Kouign Amann
Ranked #3 of 111 Dessert in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
colorado
Level Contributor
111 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Two things to get at Patisserie Kouign Amann”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

the plain croissant and Kouign Amann, claimed to be the house specialty. This is a quaint little bakery with only 3 tables. We went there to get a light lunch during a recent visit to Montreal. We tried several items on the menu, the plain and cheese croissant; quiche, soup, Kouign Amann and a blue berry tart. I would say the plain croissant was worth the special trip.

Living in Colorado definitely does not qualify me as any kind of pastry connoisseur but their croissant was the best I have ever had. It is flaky but not greasy. We liked it so much, we bought 10 more to eat later. Even though two days old, the croissants reheated in a toaster oven were still very good.

The Kouign Amann is a sweet flaky layered pastry although very good, I would choose the croissant over it any time. The quiche, soup and tart were okay but not special.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    39
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
323 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,232 helpful votes
“Feels like you're in France!”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

This is one of the total French experience's in Montreal. The menu is all in French and the staff speak very little English, so it's fun to figure out what you'll have and then attempt to tell them. There is a small array of pastries, which go fast, so get there early. Coffee is rich, aromatic and delightful, a perfect match to the delicate and sweet croissants. Be patient to get a seat and then sit back and enjoy this gratifying food experience!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank CanadianMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“CLOSED UNTIL SOMETIME IN AUGUST”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

On Sunday, July 27, we took a 20 minute train ride to try the kouign amann here only to find that this patisserie was closed! They are on holiday and will not reopen until sometime in August (I believe, mid-August). If you are planning on going soon, make sure you call ahead to see if they are reopened.

Since I can't comment on the food, I will say that this place is easy to get to. It is located about 2-3 blocks from the Mont-Royal stop on the orange line of the Metro.

I'm sure this place is delicious but giving it 3 stays for lack of having its own website to communicate closings to the general public

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, ON
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Who needs to go to Paris?”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Best croissants I've ever had! My husband (who has had Parisian croissants) agreed. These were so good, we went back the next day for breakfast again (20 minutes on the Metro). The bakery is busy enough that they were still warm. Also had the Kouign Amann which was great, but a bit sweet. The quiche was good warm or cold, and the chocolate and almond croissants were great, but I can't say enough about the plain unadulterated croissants.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fabooliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Hands down the best bakery ever!”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Friendly staff who were very forgiving towards my lack of French. Everything was so fresh and tasty that we could not help but try almost everything on the menu and taking away their tarts and baguette. Prices were very reasonable and cheap compared to many other bakeries. This place is authentic and it's nice to be able to see the chefs preparing the pastries in the background. Seating is very limited and it's cash only. But that should not stop you from going there!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pammalah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patisserie Kouign Amann also viewed

 

Been to Patisserie Kouign Amann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing