We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern, Lovely Rooms - Well Equipped - Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Zero 1

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Zero 1
Ranked #52 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Modern, Lovely Rooms - Well Equipped - Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Had a lovely experience here twice over the course of August and September. Rooms are quite spacious compared to hotels of a similar cost in other Canadian cities. Very modern decor, well equipped Kitchenette and very comfortable bed.

Well situated, very close to Metro and walking distance to many other areas of the city. Very easy access to 747 Bus which stops almost directly across the road so incredibly easy to get to the airport without needing to use a cab. Friendly, bilingual staff. Convenience store is part of the building on the ground level so easy access to basic needs. Best hotel I stayed at during my trip through Canada.

Room Tip: "Hip" room is much more roomier then a "Pop" room, considerably larger bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Squeeowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    535
    187
    49
    31
See reviews for
80
553
91
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
FAIRFIELD
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

A totally chic hotel. Very trendy & cute. Beds are comfortable enough, bathroom is clean & staff is very accommodating. I was a little intimidated by the neighborhood. There is no restaurant in the hotel but lots of food places near by.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlm1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Hotel is 3-5 mins.away fr. Chinatown ..freshly baked bread/ pastries and coffee for breakfast for about $2.50 and up...less than $10.00 for lunch/dinner per person...lots of choices of rest. To pick.not to mention fresh fruits..feels like home away fr. Home.Food prices are very reasonable...
Hotel itself is very nice, NEW bldg.?, clean and well maintained.. BRAVO to the HOUSEKEEPING dept?! although the room itself is small! but a nice size for me and my daughter??the king size bed is very comfy and sheets are clean and fairly new??shower room size can be more bigger.luckily me and my daughter are both petite..the room is w semi-efficient kitchen w mini fridge and microwave.(no need for us since Chinatown is closeby).......we never took any public transport in touring the city since the location of the hotel is convenient to all tourist areas..stayed for 2 nights and will def.come back to hotel zero for future stay if visiting Montreal...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angiebee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

oct 24-29: This review is really for the ladies and the foodies out there. My husband and I stayed in Hotel Zero 1 and it was a decent experience. We stayed there because it was a great location and the hotel seemed new and modern. For one person this is a great place to stay, but as a couple there just was not a lot of room. WE stayed in a Panoramic view room which was supposed to be bigger, but it still felt cramped. We had huge pieces of luggage and nowhere really to put it except by the door to our bedroom. The bathroom is nice but too small and no place to put my makeup, flat-irons, and other essentials. If you like a lot of light in the room even at night, then this is not the place for you. There are only 3 lamps in the entire room and 2 of them are very low lit lamps. It is definitely romantic, but I still like to have lots of light at night especially when you are trying to get ready to go somewhere. They have lots of mirrors everywhere to make the room bigger but really does not help too much. The room had 2 TVs so that was nice, one in the living room and one in the bedroom with HDMI connection so you can hook up your laptop and watch movies if you wanted to. The location of the hotel was great. Right across from China Town, close to shopping, and 10-15’ walking distance to Old Montreal and UQM area. The ladies at the front desk, where great and helpful in answering your questions. The hotel is actually attached to a convenient store so if you needed anything it was right there and you didn’t have to go outside. An Italian restaurant was attached to the hotel also, but it was not ready for business yet. So would I stay at this hotel again? Probably not, unless I stayed in room like #414 which is much bigger and slightly more expensive. I almost want to say “been there and tried this place,” and next time we come back to Montreal, I would stay somewhere different just to get a different experience.
Montreal on the other hand has a beautiful downtown that is a mix of San Francisco and Europe. St. Catherine has all the malls and shops. I only explored a little but found out on my last day there that there is so much more to see. They have really great restaurants. Must try: Eggspectations, Coffee Depot-chain, Tim Hortons-chain, Thianese and Vietanmese, Pho fine dining, Juliette et Chocolat – the location of this place is in UQM campus so there is so much to do there as well and will explore next time we come. Other restaurants: Baton Rouge, several restaurants inside Montreal convention center, Suzanne’s Crepe place and The Keg (great steaks) in Old Montreal, and La Popesse. Sadly to say we didn’t really try a French place, but there is always next time. Btw, there was a Flash sale at the Market by the Pier. All these famous brands/stores get together and sell stuff for 50% off on some things and sometimes tax is included. They have it 2Xs a year and we happend to catch the 2nd one for this year. It's usually between Sept and Oct, whenever all the stores can get togther. Also, just to let you know, tax is 15% in MOntreal. We were a little shocked but had to get over it fast. I know its a long review but i hope it was helpful!

Room Tip: If you want a nice big room, then choose a room like #414. It's like a suite. The view is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BV V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel is a boutique hotel and is very cute. The rooms are on the small side and is not recommended for the business traveler. The suite I had, had very poor lighting to work in the "living room" (one lamp that was trendy but not functional). There is NO room service - or a restaurant in the hotel to have breakfast or a late snack if you work late. It does have a work out room on the 5th floor with one tread mill and elliptical machine - tight but functional.
I expect and need more services when on the road; it would be fine for a romantic get away - not a business traveler who is use to many services. PS they missed my wake-up call.

Room Tip: Corner suites are larger; however, still on the small side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elviajero1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie230401, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Zero 1, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear elviajero1019,

We are always happy to read comments, and I would like to thank you for sharing your concerns during your last stay at ZERO1.

First of all, I really want to apologize regarding the wake-up call that we missed. We totally agree about your comment regarding the poor lighting in the room and we are working to rectify this problem.

For the restaurant, it is under construction and should be open at the beginning of 2014.

I sincerely hope that despite these incidents, you will give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves when you next visit Montreal. I am convinced that we can provide you with the type of service you are entitled to receive.

Sincerely,

Marie-Ève Gosselin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

My fiance and I stayed there because the price was fair, the ratings were good, but mostly it was in a great, walkable location. The front desk staff was very friendly and nicely dressed. Overall, the hotel follows a minimalist modern theme. Although our room was fairly small, the space was well utilized and never felt cramped. The closet/sink/refrigerator were all built together into the cabinetry. In the bedroom was a desk and 2 chairs, HD TV with a good selection of channels, and a clock radio with ipod/iphone dock. The bathroom was nice, tiled with a walk in shower and adjustable/removable wand. My fiance really appreciated the brand name gel soaps. I liked the large, soft, clean towels. The only complaint about the room was that the bed was pretty hard.

But like I said the location was the reason we stayed there and it did not disappoint. You can take the 747 Bus for $9 from the airport. Chinatown is directly across the street from the main entrance and if you walk a few minutes past that you end up in Old Port with plenty of restaurant shops to keep finding new places day after day. Most importantly, the walk to the US Consulate was only about 10 minutes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

1) Montreal is one of the coolest cities on the continent, so you should stay in a hotel that matches the vibe of the place. The suites are modern, sleek, thoughtfully laid-out and helpfully designed with all sorts of useful amenities like wine openers and glasses, a utility sink next to the microwave and a bar fridge. If you like the suburban beige feel of your mother's house, don't stay here. But if you want something funky and edgy, this is your hotel.

2) The hotel is ideally located on the edge of China town and the theatre district. Access to great groceries and cheap take out food at all hours makes this an economical neighborhood to stay in. It is a 10 minute walk to old Montreal, and about 6 minutes to the metro which provides easy access to the rest of the city.

3) Beautiful views of the downtown from every suite!

4) The staff are incredibly helpful. I arrived at the hotel at 11 in the morning, feeling very ill. I asked if I could check in early to lie down and rest before my meeting started in the evening and they accommodated me right away. Not every hotel would let you check in 4 hours early!

5) Affordability: You can save a bundle by eating just one meal a day in your suite (or getting Chinese take out and enjoying it with a bottle of wine in your room). As well, the public bus shuttle (bus 747) from Trudeau airport--which only costs $9 each way--drops off and picks up right across the street from this hotel. This saves you about $70 in taxi fare. Given the fabulous location of this hotel, it is the best deal around.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper stories
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frolic-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie230401, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Zero 1, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Frolic-girl,

Thank you so much for this review !!

On behalf of the ZERO1 team, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your comments with the Tripadvisor community.

Sincerely,

Marie-Ève Gosselin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel 10
Hotel 10
#38 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#11 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
BEST WESTERN Ville-Marie Hotel
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
#71 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zero 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zero 1

Property: Hotel Zero 1
Address: 1 Rene-Levesque Est, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Z5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#52 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Zero 1 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Montréal’s QuartierAt the heart of Montréal’s Quartier des spectacles district, in an inspiring, modern, urban environment, ZERO 1 reinvents with casual chic the concept of the downtown hotel reflected in the design and comfort of its 164 rooms and suites. Cutting edge, relaxing, and close to everything: Zero 1 makes life easier for savvy business travellers and nomadic tourists alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Zero 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 1 Rene Levesque Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing