We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“***Expected More......”
Review of Hotel Zero 1

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Zero 1
Ranked #54 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“***Expected More......”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel is a boutique hotel and is very cute. The rooms are on the small side and is not recommended for the business traveler. The suite I had, had very poor lighting to work in the "living room" (one lamp that was trendy but not functional). There is NO room service - or a restaurant in the hotel to have breakfast or a late snack if you work late. It does have a work out room on the 5th floor with one tread mill and elliptical machine - tight but functional.
I expect and need more services when on the road; it would be fine for a romantic get away - not a business traveler who is use to many services. PS they missed my wake-up call.

Room Tip: Corner suites are larger; however, still on the small side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elviajero1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie230401, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Zero 1, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear elviajero1019,

We are always happy to read comments, and I would like to thank you for sharing your concerns during your last stay at ZERO1.

First of all, I really want to apologize regarding the wake-up call that we missed. We totally agree about your comment regarding the poor lighting in the room and we are working to rectify this problem.

For the restaurant, it is under construction and should be open at the beginning of 2014.

I sincerely hope that despite these incidents, you will give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves when you next visit Montreal. I am convinced that we can provide you with the type of service you are entitled to receive.

Sincerely,

Marie-Ève Gosselin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    556
    197
    56
    33
See reviews for
82
574
97
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My fiance and I stayed there because the price was fair, the ratings were good, but mostly it was in a great, walkable location. The front desk staff was very friendly and nicely dressed. Overall, the hotel follows a minimalist modern theme. Although our room was fairly small, the space was well utilized and never felt cramped. The closet/sink/refrigerator were all built together into the cabinetry. In the bedroom was a desk and 2 chairs, HD TV with a good selection of channels, and a clock radio with ipod/iphone dock. The bathroom was nice, tiled with a walk in shower and adjustable/removable wand. My fiance really appreciated the brand name gel soaps. I liked the large, soft, clean towels. The only complaint about the room was that the bed was pretty hard.

But like I said the location was the reason we stayed there and it did not disappoint. You can take the 747 Bus for $9 from the airport. Chinatown is directly across the street from the main entrance and if you walk a few minutes past that you end up in Old Port with plenty of restaurant shops to keep finding new places day after day. Most importantly, the walk to the US Consulate was only about 10 minutes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2013

1) Montreal is one of the coolest cities on the continent, so you should stay in a hotel that matches the vibe of the place. The suites are modern, sleek, thoughtfully laid-out and helpfully designed with all sorts of useful amenities like wine openers and glasses, a utility sink next to the microwave and a bar fridge. If you like the suburban beige feel of your mother's house, don't stay here. But if you want something funky and edgy, this is your hotel.

2) The hotel is ideally located on the edge of China town and the theatre district. Access to great groceries and cheap take out food at all hours makes this an economical neighborhood to stay in. It is a 10 minute walk to old Montreal, and about 6 minutes to the metro which provides easy access to the rest of the city.

3) Beautiful views of the downtown from every suite!

4) The staff are incredibly helpful. I arrived at the hotel at 11 in the morning, feeling very ill. I asked if I could check in early to lie down and rest before my meeting started in the evening and they accommodated me right away. Not every hotel would let you check in 4 hours early!

5) Affordability: You can save a bundle by eating just one meal a day in your suite (or getting Chinese take out and enjoying it with a bottle of wine in your room). As well, the public bus shuttle (bus 747) from Trudeau airport--which only costs $9 each way--drops off and picks up right across the street from this hotel. This saves you about $70 in taxi fare. Given the fabulous location of this hotel, it is the best deal around.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper stories
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frolic-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie230401, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Zero 1, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Frolic-girl,

Thank you so much for this review !!

On behalf of the ZERO1 team, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your comments with the Tripadvisor community.

Sincerely,

Marie-Ève Gosselin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I am a 27 year old female from Washington, DC, and went to Montreal by myself for a city break. The hotel is totally fine if you're not spending too much time in it. The room had a comfortable bed, nice bathroom, and was clean. The rooms are painted mostly black with dim lighting--not comforting or cozy! The location is just alright--it's a close enough walk to everything, but it's kind of on a desolate block/corner near Chinatown (I didn't feel unsafe whatsoever though). You're about 10-15 mins walk away from most things, and there's a convenient huge supermarket a 3 min walk away in the Complexe Desjardins. The 747 bus from the airport also stops about a minute away--very nice! Staff were perfectly friendly, and the cost was good. If they painted the rooms a lighter color and better lighting, my stay would've been much better--that was really my only complaint about the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask if they have any rooms with better lighting and that aren't painted completely black!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Babybeluga223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie230401, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Zero 1, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Babybeluga223,

Thank you so much for your comments, we are so glad that you enjoyed your visit and that you were able to also enjoy the very good location of the hotel. We are also taking in consideration your comments regarding the color of the wall as well as the lighting.

We hope to welcome you again very soon !

Regards,

Marie-Ève Gosselin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Hotel Zero is located at #1 Rue Rene Levesque Est. in Montreal. The 747 bus from the airport stops right at this intersection. The bilingual staff at the front desk are knowledgeable about the great restaurants in the area and will make reservations for you at times when Open Table says they are booked. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable, and the price is reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodandWineTonight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

What a wonderful week I spent at this hotel. The service was impeccable, it was clean and very well decorated. Housekeeping were great and the loft room having the dinnerware and cutlery was wonderful, combined with the fridge and microwave. Real wineglasses and a corkscrew were also a treat. The location is excellent with access to all the sights within walking distance. The bed was very comfortable and the room itself was decorated very well and comfortable. My only complaint was when I finally did put the flat screen tv on, the reception was kind of bad, but I really only had the television on once for the entire week. I will definitely return to this hotel the next time I am in Montreal.

Room Tip: The loft room is worth the little extra that it costs, and if you can have a room that looks out to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aurora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Recommend Zero 1 Hotel: well located - close to a number of restaurants in China Town, super modern, super clean, quick check in- check out paper work. The room is comfy, with all facilities you need: from a mini kitchen to iron + iron board, even a ipod station. All superb! One down side is that breakfast is not served. Well, apart from muffins and coffee/tea gree of charge at the reception room. But if you want a real coffee and a real muffin, don´t go for it. On the other side, the shopping mall 100 m down the road offers plenty of good options.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel 10
Hotel 10
#46 of 164 in Montreal
621 reviews
Quartier International
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
#23 of 164 in Montreal
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
#70 of 164 in Montreal
855 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre
Quartier des Spectacles
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zero 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zero 1

Property: Hotel Zero 1
Address: 1 Rene-Levesque Est, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Z5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#51 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Zero 1 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Montréal’s QuartierAt the heart of Montréal’s Quartier des spectacles district, in an inspiring, modern, urban environment, ZERO 1 reinvents with casual chic the concept of the downtown hotel reflected in the design and comfort of its 164 rooms and suites. Cutting edge, relaxing, and close to everything: Zero 1 makes life easier for savvy business travellers and nomadic tourists alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Zero 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 1 Rene Levesque Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing