We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and Comfortable”
Review of Hotel Zero 1

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Zero 1
Ranked #55 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Modern and Comfortable”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

What a wonderful week I spent at this hotel. The service was impeccable, it was clean and very well decorated. Housekeeping were great and the loft room having the dinnerware and cutlery was wonderful, combined with the fridge and microwave. Real wineglasses and a corkscrew were also a treat. The location is excellent with access to all the sights within walking distance. The bed was very comfortable and the room itself was decorated very well and comfortable. My only complaint was when I finally did put the flat screen tv on, the reception was kind of bad, but I really only had the television on once for the entire week. I will definitely return to this hotel the next time I am in Montreal.

Room Tip: The loft room is worth the little extra that it costs, and if you can have a room that looks out to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aurora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    561
    200
    57
    34
See reviews for
85
579
99
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Recommend Zero 1 Hotel: well located - close to a number of restaurants in China Town, super modern, super clean, quick check in- check out paper work. The room is comfy, with all facilities you need: from a mini kitchen to iron + iron board, even a ipod station. All superb! One down side is that breakfast is not served. Well, apart from muffins and coffee/tea gree of charge at the reception room. But if you want a real coffee and a real muffin, don´t go for it. On the other side, the shopping mall 100 m down the road offers plenty of good options.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Make no mistake, this hotel is contemporary, stylish and clean, and well located for easy access to the old city and the railway station. There are some negatives though which left us feeling somewhat disappointed. The climate control seems to be at war with itself, the air conditioning unit fighting the radiant heater for supremacy. There does not seem to be an on/off switch for the heater. The technician who looked into it was adamant it is all controlled from the same air conditioning panel, but the battle continued nevertheless.
For some strange reason the front desk person could not explain, there was only one coffee mug in our room. A second one was brought to us on request, but the next day one of the mugs disappeared again. The number of coffee creamer sachets varied at random from one day to the next, but there were never enough for two people having two cups per day, although there were the correct number of coffee sachets.
Although the style is contemporary, the sparse seating arrangement and the stark lighting do not engender a feeling of home comforts. It is spartan.
This goes for the tiny bathroom too.
The sound proofing leaves much to be desired. Our room faced the busy Blvd Rene-Levesque, and the noise from emergency vehicles made for a restless night's sleep, as did the rowdy arrival of revellers on our floor at 2:30 AM.
On the plus side, the little kitchenette is a welcome feature.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jay-JayQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ontario
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is a really difficult hotel to review. The price $125/ night and location are both excellent. The staff are very friendly, helpful and just nice. The rooms are clean. There is a fridge, microwave and they provide dishes , so if you are on a budget it would be great.These are the positives.

Would I stay here again...no. The hotel is ultra modern with rooms that have both black walls and black ceilings with white accents. Everyone I spoke to is having to turn every light on just to be able to see in the room. The bed is very low to the ground and has a mattress on top of a bed frame but not a box spring mattress, which makes it not that comfortable. Maybe the really young would be ok with it but in my group of 6 women, none of us were happy.
The rooms are noisey and you can hear the elevators, people coughing in the next room.
The bathroom is very small and there is virtually no counter top.
So, in the end it depends on you budget and if you love the ultra modern. It's not my taste but others might be ok with it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lemorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed here for a work trip. Have to say right away I knew I was in a special place. The decor and ambience was both super cool and comfortable. Staff were awesome to deal with and helped us immensely, especially Marie-Éve! I can't wait to be back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were given this hotel through Hotwire since all the hotels in Old Montreal were booked. We were slightly disappointed at first but as the weekend went on, the hotel started to grow on us.

This is a boutique hotel geared for the young hip crowd (not really us, but we swear we felt hipper by the end of our stay). It is located on the edge of Old Montreal - about a 10-15 min walk. The location was great as we could walk to all the main streets (St Catherines, St Denis, etc..). We were lucky to find free parking on the street nearby.

The room Hotwire had available was extremely small - standard queen room - so we asked for an upgrade and were put into a corner room. The front desk was extremely friendly and accommodating (two young women from France). The corner room was slightly bigger with a sitting area and large windows overlooking downtown. The decor was modern (Nespresso Machine made surprisingly good coffee) but the room was already showing many signs of wear - stains on furniture, shelf units falling apart, paint chipping... All minor details but we prefer hotels that show pride in their rooms!

As someone else mentioned in another review, the hotel has ZERO amenities which we knew about and didn't mind since we didn't come to Montreal to use a pool or have spa treatments. There was a small fitness centre, free coffee and muffins in the morning, and a nice rooftop terrace to hang out in.

I gave this hotel a very good rating because of it's location and extremely friendly staff. I would likely return for these reasons.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first. A helpful staff member told us the 6th floor was recently renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ironmom69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie230401, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Zero 1, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear ironmom69,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your comments have been taken into consideration. It is nice to hear that you had a great time and that our team made the difference. We will address some of your concerns when we undergo renovations in a few weeks.

Hope to welcome you back soon!

Marie-Ève Gosselin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Very difficult review to write.
I am an old Montreal boy. Born and raised. On my recent trip back to Montreal i stayed at this hotel for 3 days.
The hotel is very cool. Very modern. Black walls, sleek furniture. Great hotel staff.
I stayed here by myself. Rooms are nice. Clean but a little tight. I would find it alittle tight if i was with another person in the room. It felt perfect for one person. Showers are clean but a little tight. I was not a big fan of hand held shower head. As the hose hit certain body parts i kinda wondered how many others it had been in contact with. Not a big deal but just one of those things.
Bed was comfy. Floors are done in laminate. Gave it a clean feel.
The window opens in the room. Very nice. Mine unfortunately backed onto the infamous crack park. It was loud all night long. Closing the window solved the noise issue but the stuff was still going on. Cops are trying to make a statement so hopefully they will clean it up as the area continues to develop. My advice is to cross over to the west side of st laurent blvd when walking north to st. catherine street. The smell of urine is pretty strong in the mornings. Once again not a big thing but just to make people aware.
Hotel is in a great location to china town and old montreal. Awesome if you are touring around those areas.
There is 15 minute parking adjacent to hotel. i used the valet parking offered by the hotel for 25 bucks a day with in out privileges. Not bad for that option. When i called down for car they said 30 minutes. Was always there before hand. I would use that option again.
Rooms have microwave, fridge, coffee machine and wine/scotch glasses. room has a nice ipod docking station.
There is a convenience store attached to hotel.
There is a very small workout room.
It has a nice patio on the 5th floor. Where smokers can light up.
I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grinandbearit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
#22 of 165 in Montreal
886 reviews
Quartier International
Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
#69 of 165 in Montreal
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel 10
Hotel 10
#36 of 165 in Montreal
639 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Best Western Plus Hotel Montreal
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zero 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zero 1

Property: Hotel Zero 1
Address: 1 Rene-Levesque Est, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Z5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#52 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Zero 1 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Montréal’s QuartierAt the heart of Montréal’s Quartier des spectacles district, in an inspiring, modern, urban environment, ZERO 1 reinvents with casual chic the concept of the downtown hotel reflected in the design and comfort of its 164 rooms and suites. Cutting edge, relaxing, and close to everything: Zero 1 makes life easier for savvy business travellers and nomadic tourists alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelClick, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Zero 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 1 Rene Levesque Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing