We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough”
Review of Hotel Zero 1

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Zero 1
Ranked #54 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Quebec City
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good enough”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed here for one night for work, and it was fine. I had a standard room, and it's nice that it had microwave, sink, fridge, though not necessary to my stay. Room was nice, great modern decor, comfortable bed. I didn't get to try the Wifi, but I heard from colleagues that it worked well. Front desk staff very pleasant and helpful. Hotel was easy to get to, and it was close to where I needed to be. No breakfast included with the room, but they have coffee and muffins in the lobby in the morning (at least on weekdays). I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbanellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    561
    200
    56
    34
See reviews for
83
579
99
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Okay so to start the hotels location is a little dodgy to start with... Literally on the edge of an adult entertainment district/ street... our taxi driver warned us of this.

However the hotel reception were welcoming, and the room nice... the kitchenette was a bonus. Very close to a Metro station for easy access to the Olympic park and BioDome.

Also in Des Jardains lower lobby was a great selection of shops and restaurants/ food outlets.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamG_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed 2 days with my husband in this very modern,stylish hotel. The hotel looks great, room was cute and comfortable, free good working WiFi , located not too far from the center about 10-15min walk, hotel looks pretty new that's why I suppose they don't serve breakfast which would be a big plus to any hotel and parking is not free it's $25 a night, other then that had a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ka T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We spent a few days at Hotel Zero 1 over New Year's, and were really impressed! The location is awesome - right between old Montreal and downtown, so walking distance to both. The room is really beautiful - the design is modern and minimalist, but the space is still warm and cozy. The beds were comfy. There's free wifi, a tv, little fridge, some basics: wine glasses, bottle opener, etc. I like that there are hardwood floors rather than carpet (hotel carpet = yuck!). Some people complained that it was small so I was a bit worried, but our room was pretty big, actually! (I think it was the "Hip"). Others said it was dark which is true, but I personally prefer the softer lighting. The bathroom is clean and modern. The shower is pretty small: I’m small and when I lifted my arm, bumped my elbow a couple times, so it might be tight for some. There was one morning when I could hear people talking in the next room, but other than that, no complaints about the soundproofing. The patio is beautiful. The view was great - overlooking a park with the city in the background. The staff were friendly and helpful. The one improvement they could make is that there’s no security, so anyone can just walk right in. Personally, I would prefer if there had been something to keep non-guests out, even as simple as needing your key to use the elevators. Otherwise, I highly recommend this Hotel – staying there made our visit to Montreal feel really special. Hope that helps, and have fun!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jsk28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bergen, New Jersey, United States
Level 5 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Got this through a deal of the day from booking.com
paid $120 for 2nights which was a steal.

room was perfect - router was right in the room therefore the internet was superfast! bed was comfortable, nice tv with good channels, staff was super nice, the workout room was pretty good - no one was in there!

hotel is easily accessible by bus - mass transit.

Room Tip: check out the web for any specials
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights over New Year's. Despite some reviews saying the hotel was in a "sketchy neighborhood", it is actually centrally located and a very good starting point for touring around the city. There are a few XXX shops a few blocks away, but I also noticed these stores in the downtown area next to Guess and Gucci...its all relative. The rooms are comfortable, modern and clean. I really liked the mini-kitchen and bright bathroom. The bed was incredibly comfortable - make sure you get a room facing the back since the street noise could be bothersome.

I would have given the hotel 5 stars if it had better parking. You had to park the car in the back and there was some wait (20-30 mins) for the valet to retrieve the car. The hotel would be GREAT if it had a bar or lounge area, especially since we visited in the dead of winter and leaving the warm hotel at night was painful. The bodega attached to the hotel is helpful but a bit pricey.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyu05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Great property. Very nicely appointed with great staff. I love the decor and the personal wifi in each room. My iPad was super fast on their network since the router is right in the room. Good location for getting around the city. Seems like everything is walking-distance from here. The downside to this hotel is that you can't pull up and unload/load at the front. You have to pull in the side street behind the building, drag your luggage either through the adjoining convenience store, or through the side door to the hotel. If you valet your car, it could take up to 30 minutes to get it back. Just be prepared for that. I would stay here again!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Deborah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
#22 of 165 in Montreal
880 reviews
Quartier International
Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel 10
Hotel 10
#39 of 165 in Montreal
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
#69 of 165 in Montreal
873 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Best Western Plus Hotel Montreal
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zero 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zero 1

Property: Hotel Zero 1
Address: 1 Rene-Levesque Est, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Z5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#52 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Zero 1 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Montréal’s QuartierAt the heart of Montréal’s Quartier des spectacles district, in an inspiring, modern, urban environment, ZERO 1 reinvents with casual chic the concept of the downtown hotel reflected in the design and comfort of its 164 rooms and suites. Cutting edge, relaxing, and close to everything: Zero 1 makes life easier for savvy business travellers and nomadic tourists alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelClick, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Zero 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 1 Rene Levesque Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing