We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“I really like this hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zero 1

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Zero 1
Ranked #47 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
186 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“I really like this hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Great property. Very nicely appointed with great staff. I love the decor and the personal wifi in each room. My iPad was super fast on their network since the router is right in the room. Good location for getting around the city. Seems like everything is walking-distance from here. The downside to this hotel is that you can't pull up and unload/load at the front. You have to pull in the side street behind the building, drag your luggage either through the adjoining convenience store, or through the side door to the hotel. If you valet your car, it could take up to 30 minutes to get it back. Just be prepared for that. I would stay here again!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Deborah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    487
    163
    40
    27
See reviews for
75
499
80
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachussetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed for the first time at the Hotel Zero 1 in Montreal. The front entrance is a bit hard to find and you can not pull up and unload right up front. You have to drive around back of the hotel where there is parking spaces (15 minute limit).

Here is the good:

1. Nice modern lobby the front desk personnel were nice and efficient. They explained the amenities of the hotel.
2. Parking is valet only. You can park across the street in a lot or after 9:30 pm on the street which is free (the area around the hotel is a bit sketchy, so beware if you leave your car on the street at night.
3. Rooms are not large but modern and comfortable. You can hear some outside traffic noise, but you are in a city, so it is expected. Bathroom is big enough for 1 person, but I booked the cheapest room, so I wasn't expecting a big room. Room is clean and the furniture is in good condition and modern.
4. Location near Chinatown and Ste Catherines is convenient. There is a strip club and adult arcade a couple of blocks from the hotel, so this is not my favorite location in Montreal.
5. Free internet which is fast
6. Price point was good. I paid $130 CAD with all taxes.

The not so good
1. Just the location. There are other hotels that are in the same price range in a nicer area.
2. I parked on the street behind the hotel, hopefully my car will be there in the morning and with no broken glass. I will let you know how my car faires on the street.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank tman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

A modern mixed use hotel/condo establishment with a convenient downtown location. The hotel is nicely and minimally designed (non expensive decor) with excellent room views of the city. Quiet, clean, good service and very well priced. If you are a typical visitor to chain hotels you may find the small room a tad on the small size, consider a medium room and higher floor facing the old city for less noise. If you enjoy a more contemporary boutique like experience and can do without all the frills of a traditional hotel (no restaurant/room service) this is an excellent alternative.

Room Tip: Higher floor facing old city Medium room for couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tdottony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banyuls-sur-mer, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Your hotel is great,well located, nicely designed and people are kind and trully helpful. A special mention for a trainee, Paul Antoine Raphene who dedicated his time and helped me in looking for my mobile left behind at a restaurant. An honnest and helpful guy, special thanks to him.
I'll come back. Merry Christmas, Nicolas

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie230401, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Zero 1, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Nicolas494,
Thank you so much for reviewing the ZERO 1.
While each guest is special for us we strive to provide a unique and personalized service. It is nice to hear that Paul-Antoine greatly helped you for your cell phone. Employees like that makes the difference. We can’t thank you enough for such positive comments and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Have a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year 2013 !
Warmly,
Marie-Ève Gosselin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

I was in town taking care of a US visa and the hotel was convenient to the US Embassy. I have stayd in Montreal several times in different grades of hotel but Zero 1 is where I will return. Small yes, but imaginative, quiet and very adult.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank LisaFryklund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I loved my stay at this hotel. I reserved for the smallest room, but it was pretty big. Fridge, microwave, etc. Super good price, near the nightclubs on St-Laurent. The bathroom is beautiful. There are mirrors everywhere ! All the hotel is super modern. I really liked it ! Would stay again for sure!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I loved the modern urban-chic style at this hotel. All rooms are studio-style, small to medium-size and very good value for your money.

This hotel is perfect for business, couples, friends and solo travelers. It's fine for families because they have a fridge and microwave, but there is no pool. Teens will love it, especially the free Wi-Fi, and it’s minutes to shopping on Ste. Catherine Street and The Musique Plus Studio (Quebec's version of Much Music/MTV).

I agree with other reviewers that the hotel is a fantastic base for exploring the city. If you are looking for a pre- or post-cruise hotel, this is perfect, only 10 blocks from the port, and the airport shuttle stops right next door. The hotel is located right where Chinatown, Old Montreal and The Shopping/Entretainment districts meet. Parking is off-site valet; 30 minutes’ notice is required.

While there is no restaurant, the hotel has muffins with tea and coffee in the lobby each morning and there is a depaneur (convenience store) on-site. There is a full-sized grocery store only one block away, and since the hotel room has a fridge, with microwave and dishes, it's a great way to save money or simply stick to foods you like; and since Montreal is civilized, you can buy alcohol from the grocery store.

There are almost a dozen meeting rooms/boardrooms, a small banquet hall, a covered five-story open-air atrium and a very stylish fifth-floor outdoor terrace to rent for group events. As a guest, though, you can use the terrace anytime, bring a bottle of wine and enjoy the day or evening.

The hotel has free Wi-Fi and even loans out laptops if you need one. I found the rooms larger than other Montreal hotels as they are studio-style. The design of the rooms are generally well thought out, with built-in units much like a cruise-ship cabin. The only things that could have improved our stay was a king bed (ours was a queen) and a longer cot for our daughter who is 5'9". Others have commented on the elevator noise, our room was right beside it on the 10th floor. I could hear the whooshing from my room, but never heard any noise from other guests.

If you love music, this is one of the best hotels in the city. The hotel is located within the entertainment district and only two blocks from the arts center. Behind the hotel is a public square where there are performances Wednesday through Sunday all summer long. You'll have a great private seat and view from the hotel’s fifth-floor terrace or your room if you ask for a north-side room.

The staff during our stay in November 2012 was friendly and helpful. All in all, this is an excellent property and a very good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetLavernTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Hotel Dauphin Montreal Downtown
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel 10
Hotel 10
#38 of 165 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 stars 491 reviews
Chinatown
Holiday Inn Montreal Centre-Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier International
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
#22 of 165 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 713 reviews
Le Sud-Ouest (Southwest District)
ALT Hotel Montreal Griffintown
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
#80 of 165 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 stars 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zero 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zero 1

Property: Hotel Zero 1
Address: 1 Rene-Levesque Est, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Z5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#52 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Zero 1 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Montréal’s QuartierAt the heart of Montréal’s Quartier des spectacles district, in an inspiring, modern, urban environment, ZERO 1 reinvents with casual chic the concept of the downtown hotel reflected in the design and comfort of its 164 rooms and suites. Cutting edge, relaxing, and close to everything: Zero 1 makes life easier for savvy business travellers and nomadic tourists alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Zero 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 1 Rene Levesque Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing